fuel issue - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1979-1995 Mustang GT

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 11-20-2011, 03:24 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Kentucky
fuel issue

Hey guys I'm new to this amd my 94 gt is having fuel issues I believe. It runs smooth amd good but I believe it lacks power. It has 410 gears in it. But I hooked up a fp tester amd it was like 28 at idle amd 34 with the vacuum unhooked. Do y'all think I should start with the regualtor or the pump. And also my spark plugs are really clean and real white in color. So I'm guess it's running lean. If it's running lean is that a power robber?

---------- Post added at 06:24 PM ---------- Previous post was at 05:56 PM ----------

I don't know if I'm doing this right but I would appreciate if somebody posted some thing back so I know I'm doing all this right. Like I said I'm new to this forum thanks
Robbie94gt is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-20-2011, 03:27 PM   #2
Road Trip!
Supporter

Region: Missouri
Re: fuel issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robbie94gt View Post
Hey guys I'm new to this amd my 94 gt is having fuel issues I believe. It runs smooth amd good but I believe it lacks power. It has 410 gears in it. But I hooked up a fp tester amd it was like 28 at idle amd 34 with the vacuum unhooked. Do y'all think I should start with the regualtor or the pump. And also my spark plugs are really clean and real white in color. So I'm guess it's running lean. If it's running lean is that a power robber?
Your FP should be at 38-39 PSI with the vacuum unhooked.
Running lean will make power up to a point, running a bit rich is more desirable to protect your engine.
Run it to lean and you will burn a piston.
If your regulator is not adjustable, I'd replace that first.
Trojan Horse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2011, 03:36 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular