cluster change - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1979-1995 Mustang GT



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 11-28-2011, 02:54 AM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
88fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Region: California
Posts: 106
cluster change

Hey guys I'm trying to change my cluster it works but it has the 85 mph top so I wanted to get the 140 mph but haven't had any luck any ideas ?
88fox is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-28-2011, 09:52 AM   #2
Road Trip!
Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Region: Missouri
Posts: 8,779
Re: cluster change

Quote:
Originally Posted by 88fox View Post
Hey guys I'm trying to change my cluster it works but it has the 85 mph top so I wanted to get the 140 mph but haven't had any luck any ideas ?
I went through the same thing several years ago with my 86 GT.
I ended up finding mine on eBay.
Check there, Craigslist and other online Mustang Forum's Classifieds sections.
Buyer beware though, when buying parts from people you don't know, and parts you can't examine before buying.
I usually try to get them to talk with me on the phone so I can get a feel for how trustworthy they are.
Most of the crooks out there have a hard time being straight forward and honest, so for me at least, they are relatively easy to weed out if you can just talk with them.
Trojan Horse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2011, 10:28 AM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
88fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Region: California
Posts: 106
Which cluster can I get?
clusters from 87-89 or also 90-93 ?
88fox is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-28-2011, 11:16 AM   #4
Pete Jones
Regular
 
90mustangLX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Region: Ohio
Posts: 781
Send a message via ICQ to 90mustangLX Send a message via AIM to 90mustangLX
I believe the 140 speedo were offered in the 89-93 or 90-93 can't remember exactly but you don't have to change the whole entire cluster, you can just swap out the speedos. 87-93 use the same clusters just some are 85 and some are the 140 speedo. Has to be a factory v8 car to have the 140 as I believe all the 4 bangers were only registered for 85.(don't quote me on that one tho heh )
__________________
90 LX hatchback
(sold but not forgotten)

89 LX Notchback
No motor/trans (for now)
90mustangLX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2011, 04:54 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
88fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Region: California
Posts: 106
So just swap the speedo from a 140 and just buy the gauge stickers ?
88fox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2011, 04:58 PM   #6
Pete Jones
Regular
 
90mustangLX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Region: Ohio
Posts: 781
Send a message via ICQ to 90mustangLX Send a message via AIM to 90mustangLX
Quote:
Originally Posted by 88fox
So just swap the speedo from a 140 and just buy the gauge stickers ?
What do you mean gauge stickers? If you have a factory cluster and you get another factory one they should be identical
__________________
90 LX hatchback
(sold but not forgotten)

89 LX Notchback
No motor/trans (for now)
90mustangLX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2011, 07:02 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
88fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Region: California
Posts: 106
What I ment to say was was the instrument gauge kit and not swap the entire cluster
88fox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2011, 07:16 PM   #8
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Indiana
Posts: 8,044
i think u can go that route but you will need to have your speedo recalibrated.you will have to send it in somewhere.
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 03:03 AM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
89 Foxloco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 204
I did that switch not long ago..just switch them..you don't have to get anything calibrated or anything (am not trying to go against any ones ideas) but they told me the same thing that to change the speed gear and idk what else..just change the cluster or the speedo piece and it should work great!!
89 Foxloco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 10:01 AM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
88fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Region: California
Posts: 106
Thanks for the help guys I'm gonna see which route would be easier for me and ill let you guys know.
88fox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 12:13 PM   #11
Road Trip!
Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Region: Missouri
Posts: 8,779
Re: cluster change

Quote:
Originally Posted by 89 Foxloco View Post
I did that switch not long ago..just switch them..you don't have to get anything calibrated or anything (am not trying to go against any ones ideas) but they told me the same thing that to change the speed gear and idk what else..just change the cluster or the speedo piece and it should work great!!
I think what they are talking about recalibrating, is when you use the decals over the 85 mph speedometers. That requires the speedo to be recalibrated.
If you install a factory 140 mph speedo, then no recalibration is required.
Trojan Horse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 12:20 PM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
88fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Region: California
Posts: 106
Ok so just recalibrate my speedo and get some decals or buy the 140 speedo and ill be set sounds easy enough
88fox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 02:58 PM   #13
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Indiana
Posts: 8,044
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trojan Horse

I think what they are talking about recalibrating, is when you use the decals over the 85 mph speedometers. That requires the speedo to be recalibrated.
If you install a factory 140 mph speedo, then no recalibration is required.
+1. The problem with recalibrating is you have to either find a local place or ship your whole cluster somewhere.by time you pay shipping and Labor for the recalibration and purchase the cover plates.its probably not much or even cheaper than finding a whole new cluster.and less hassle anyways.
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 05:33 PM   #14
Pete Jones
Regular
 
90mustangLX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Region: Ohio
Posts: 781
Send a message via ICQ to 90mustangLX Send a message via AIM to 90mustangLX
I picked up a 140 cluster from a junkyard for 15 bucks a couple years back for my 87 gt, far easier to just swap the speedos than to resticker and recalibrate
__________________
90 LX hatchback
(sold but not forgotten)

89 LX Notchback
No motor/trans (for now)
90mustangLX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 06:21 PM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
aegischief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 492
Dude, just buy a 140 mph speedo. You can find them in junk yards, on eBay, on craigslist and can even buy them new from ford and aftermarket from places like late model restoration supply.
aegischief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 06:42 PM   #16
Registered Member
Regular
 
88fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Region: California
Posts: 106
I want the white face gauges so ill have to resticker
88fox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 07:05 PM   #17
Registered Member
Regular
 
aegischief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 492
LRA has white face clusters as well. Restickering is a cheap alternative. So much better to just replace the entire cluster.
aegischief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 08:13 PM   #18
Registered Member
Regular
 
88fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Region: California
Posts: 106
Yeah those were the ones I was looking at they look pretty good
88fox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2011, 01:28 AM   #19
Registered User
Newbie
 
Ponyboy66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Region: Missouri
Posts: 14
You must have the GT because I have a 88 LX and it has 140mph cluster and it's stock as far as I know...
Ponyboy66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2011, 01:53 AM   #20
Registered Member
Regular
 
88fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Region: California
Posts: 106
Yea mine is a gt
88fox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2011, 02:12 AM   #21
Registered User
Newbie
 
Ponyboy66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Region: Missouri
Posts: 14
I don't understand why they put an 85mph cluster in a GT?
Ponyboy66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2011, 02:19 AM   #22
Registered Member
Regular
 
89 Foxloco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 204
Are you trying to put this on?? Thats on my 89 gt..
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	lCAR2IYE7.jpg
Views:	155
Size:	9.5 KB
ID:	35017  
89 Foxloco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2011, 10:16 AM   #23
Registered Member
Regular
 
88fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Region: California
Posts: 106
GuYs what I'm talking about it looks very good

---------- Post added at 08:16 AM ---------- Previous post was at 08:15 AM ----------

*That's
88fox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2011, 10:41 AM   #24
Filibuster
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Region: Illinois
Posts: 1,656
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ponyboy66
You must have the GT because I have a 88 LX and it has 140mph cluster and it's stock as far as I know...
I belive they started using 140 clusters mid year 89-93 on all v8's but some ”sports package” vehicles had 140 in 88 as well..and some 89 fox's ive seen (maybe early year production) still had an 85mph cluster and no 25yr emblem on the dash..

---------- Post added at 10:41 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:38 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by 88fox
GuYs what I'm talking about it looks very good

---------- Post added at 08:16 AM ---------- Previous post was at 08:15 AM ----------

*That's
I would just replace the cluster and put your new white faced stickers on it...its just a plug and play deal you dont need to recalibrate when changing the entire cluster..
XXSTEVEO66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 10:15 AM   #25
Registered Member
Regular
 
89 Foxloco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by 88fox
GuYs what I'm talking about it looks very good

---------- Post added at 08:16 AM ---------- Previous post was at 08:15 AM ----------

*That's
If its those gauges you don't have to do anything.its just like a put on lil conection here and their and thats about it..and the cool thing is that you have four choices blue or green and dark or bright.its cool though.
89 Foxloco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 01:44 PM   #26
Registered Member
Regular
 
88fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Region: California
Posts: 106
Yeah but I am also changing from 85mph to a 140mph
88fox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 06:37 PM   #27
Registered Member
Regular
 
89 Foxloco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by 88fox
Yeah but I am also changing from 85mph to a 140mph
Thats not a problem..it says I was going more than 140 mph.I was actually going to like ninety cuz I had that same problem..after I just got the 140 cluster and reinstall them with no problem and working great!!!
89 Foxloco is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1979-1995 Mustang GT

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
does cluster gauge affect sensor?? jmpark527 2005-2010 Mustang GT 0 11-23-2011 09:32 AM
transmission oil change!!!!! secomejia 1996-2004 Mustang GT 9 10-04-2011 09:07 AM
What Would You Change Thread bradh2414 General Mustang Discussion 32 08-28-2011 10:20 PM
1996 mustang GT rear end gear change soldierdude28 1996-2004 Mustang GT 6 08-24-2011 04:15 PM
Instrument cluster question matthoffman22 1979-1995 Mustang GT 3 06-25-2011 09:11 PM

» Like Us On Facebook



07:59 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.