Instrument cluster - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1979-1995 Mustang GT



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 01-01-2012, 07:10 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
captain78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 851
Instrument cluster

My cluster lights on dash just stopped working. It's not a fuse issue. Could the bulbs just burn out. 90 gt. Can I just change bulbs or do I have to change hole panel.
captain78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-01-2012, 07:17 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
89 Foxloco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by captain78
My cluster lights on dash just stopped working. It's not a fuse issue. Could the bulbs just burn out. 90 gt. Can I just change bulbs or do I have to change hole panel.
wel first check that the bulbs are good if not than change them no need to change the whole cluster..they come out really easy..
89 Foxloco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 07:52 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
captain78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 851
Thanks will do tomorrow
captain78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-01-2012, 08:38 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
89 Foxloco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by captain78
Thanks will do tomorrow
No problem..just after putting my car all apart I know pretty much everything in it..lol
89 Foxloco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 10:25 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
captain78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 851
I looked at instrument cluster. How do you get it out lol. Does everything just snap off are do I have to pull hole dash a part. You know drop steering column and all that.
captain78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 10:51 PM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
88fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Region: California
Posts: 106
I believe it has 4 bolts 2 on top by windshield and 2 on bottom by steering column
88fox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 10:59 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
captain78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 851
Yea but I'm talking about the plastic that surrounds instrument cluster. No screws just flat surface. Does it just pop off
captain78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 01:36 AM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
89 Foxloco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by captain78
Yea but I'm talking about the plastic that surrounds instrument cluster. No screws just flat surface. Does it just pop off
If your taking about where the light switch and hazard lights switch is on..two screws on to and two on the bottom..no steering wheel coming off or none of that..
89 Foxloco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 06:41 AM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
captain78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 851
Nah speedo tach and all the gauges.
captain78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 07:03 AM   #10
Road Trip!
Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Region: Missouri
Posts: 8,779
re: Instrument cluster

Quote:
Originally Posted by captain78 View Post
Nah speedo tach and all the gauges.

Oh no! More instrument panel problems?
Not 100% sure, but a lot of times on Fords the clear instrument panel lenses are held on by plastic studs that are melted down to secure the lense. If that's the case I wouldn't remove it unless I absolutely had to.
Trojan Horse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 07:16 AM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
captain78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 851
Yea Trojan I woulda put it in one thread but heard about a discount when you get 50 of them to am. But yea lights don't work at night with headlights on. Heard it could be dimmer switch also heard it's a very common prob with these cars. But also heard it could be light bulbs. And temp gauge and fuel gauge doesn't work. All other gauges work. Tech speedo check eng. All that works except fore low coolent light lol that one works lol but won't go off. And don't light light just blew. I checked chiltons and then checked fuse box and changed all fuses. Except the CB fuses cause I had to order them but they coming soon. Figured fuel gauge is most likely the sending unit in tank. Dome light is blown light bulb it worked till yesterday lol. Just getting bugs worked out of it after sitting for so long
captain78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 08:14 AM   #12
Road Trip!
Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Region: Missouri
Posts: 8,779
re: Instrument cluster

Quote:
Originally Posted by captain78 View Post
Yea Trojan I woulda put it in one thread but heard about a discount when you get 50 of them to am. But yea lights don't work at night with headlights on. Heard it could be dimmer switch also heard it's a very common prob with these cars. But also heard it could be light bulbs. And temp gauge and fuel gauge doesn't work. All other gauges work. Tech speedo check eng. All that works except fore low coolent light lol that one works lol but won't go off. And don't light light just blew. I checked chiltons and then checked fuse box and changed all fuses. Except the CB fuses cause I had to order them but they coming soon. Figured fuel gauge is most likely the sending unit in tank. Dome light is blown light bulb it worked till yesterday lol. Just getting bugs worked out of it after sitting for so long
Be careful of making any frivolous or nonsense posts to get your count up.
The site administrator/owner frowns on that.
What you posted so far should be fine even though it is somewhat related because it may be from different causes.
I thought the count was 100 posts, but I may be wrong. Check each vendor/site supporter's forum for instructions on how to get the discounts.

It could very well be the dimmer switch. The rheostats they use do fail over time, especially if they are used a lot. Just check the input side of the dimmer when the dash lights go out and see if it has power to there. If it does then that is likely the problem.
Trojan Horse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 10:50 AM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
captain78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 851
Ok will check
captain78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 08:59 PM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
captain78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 851
Well got my fuel gauge working. Put some sea foam in tank and bout a hour later it started working.
captain78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2012, 09:08 PM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
captain78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 851
Well dimmer switch is working well it turns the dome light on and off but still no instrument lights. Could it be headlight switch not working right
captain78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 09:02 AM   #16
Road Trip!
Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Region: Missouri
Posts: 8,779
Re: Instrument cluster

Quote:
Originally Posted by captain78 View Post
Well dimmer switch is working well it turns the dome light on and off but still no instrument lights. Could it be headlight switch not working right
Possibly.
Locate the power circuit to the lights on the back of the instrument panel and trace it back to the wire connections and see if you have power there. From there trace the wire back to wherever it gets its power from if necessary.
Trojan Horse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 10:52 PM   #17
Registered Member
Regular
 
captain78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 851
Ok well changed dimmer switch and headlight switch. And good news is instrument lights came on but only on when dimmer switch has dome light on. Guess I need to break down and buy a new one
captain78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 11:00 PM   #18
Road Trip!
Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Region: Missouri
Posts: 8,779
Re: Instrument cluster

Quote:
Originally Posted by captain78 View Post
Ok well changed dimmer switch and headlight switch. And good news is instrument lights came on but only on when dimmer switch has dome light on. Guess I need to break down and buy a new one
Yes, the rheostat portion of the dimmer is not working, so no power gets through to the instrument panel bulbs.
Trojan Horse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 11:13 PM   #19
Registered Member
Regular
 
captain78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 851
I'm just glad I narrowed it down. Mine was completely shot the one I got from junkyard was free but at least it lit the lights up lol. Might try another one from junkyard. Before I order new one might get lucky 2nd time around.
captain78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2012, 05:26 PM   #20
Registered Member
Regular
 
captain78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 851
Just ordered new switch it's on it's way should be here Tuesday can't wait to get dash back together. Guess for now I can work on my brakes.
captain78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2012, 09:19 AM   #21
Registered Member
Regular
 
captain78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 851
Got my dimmer switch in and boom lights now everything working now changing front brakes. Rotors calipers hubs bearings rear brakes drums cylinders hardware shoes and whole rack and pinion new hood A/C compressor. And some vacuum leaks. With that all done insurance and plate come next with new headliner and sunroof seal.
captain78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2012, 11:59 AM   #22
Road Trip!
Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Region: Missouri
Posts: 8,779
Re: Instrument cluster

Quote:
Originally Posted by captain78 View Post
Got my dimmer switch in and boom lights now everything working now changing front brakes. Rotors calipers hubs bearings rear brakes drums cylinders hardware shoes and whole rack and pinion new hood A/C compressor. And some vacuum leaks. With that all done insurance and plate come next with new headliner and sunroof seal.
Glad you got that sorted out.
Trojan Horse is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1979-1995 Mustang GT

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2005 gt cluster gauge repair... jmpark527 2005-2010 Mustang GT 29 11-25-2015 10:05 AM
cluster change 88fox 1979-1995 Mustang GT 26 12-02-2011 06:37 PM
does cluster gauge affect sensor?? jmpark527 2005-2010 Mustang GT 0 11-23-2011 09:32 AM
Instrument cluster question Jareds65 Classic Mustangs 1 08-13-2011 01:12 AM
Instrument cluster question matthoffman22 1979-1995 Mustang GT 3 06-25-2011 09:11 PM

» Like Us On Facebook



11:32 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.