bangin out - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1979-1995 Mustang GT

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 01-15-2012, 10:34 PM   #1

Region: Texas
Question bangin out

Yeah, being a newbie, I totally placed my post in the wrong section so now let me try again. My little 89 notch is bangin out, and what I mean by that is it's losing cylinders, popping and banging at wot under load. Doesn't do it in neutral. If I give it progressive throttle it starts laying down at about 2400 rpm under load. Checked timing and I've got it set at about 27 degrees total. Anything more or less and the motor is just sluggish or pops off idle. So I'm starting to suspect it's fuel delivery b/c of how it's acting. The car sat for nine years and I had to rebuild the short block due to a cracked deck from a cold winter with the incorrect coolant mixture. Anyhow I've purchased a 255 pump but I'm still running the stock regulator. Is it a good idea to run that pump with a stock regulator? The car is a work in progress and there is still alot of upgrades to bring my paticular combo to it's maximum potential. It ran pretty good b/f i run into this hiccup b/c it's the same combo I ran 9 years ago. Dreamstang suggested that I run a fuel pressure test to know for sure but I dont have a test gauge at this time. Any knowledge or feedback u guys can help me out with would be sweet.
JROCSTA89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-15-2012, 10:52 PM   #2
Road Trip!
Supporter

Region: Missouri
Re: bangin out

Quote:
Originally Posted by JROCSTA89 View Post