Lost oil pressure - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1979-1995 Mustang GT

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 02-22-2012, 12:45 PM   #1

Region: Arizona
Lost oil pressure

Hey guys, I just bought a built 91 gt 3 weeks ago and have probably put about 300 miles on it since I got it, I took a a 30 mile trip to my brothers in it yesterday and as I was on my way home I noticed the engine started knocking and my oil pressure gauge dropped to no pressure at all! I immediately pulled over and shut it off and had it towed to my house ..... I am far from a knowledgable mechanic and would like to hear your thoughts and advise before I take it to a shop, could this be electrical? Or does it sound like the oil pump went out? The guy I bought it from said he just fixed a lower intake leak that it had right before I bought it as well could that have caused this?
Thanks in advance for your help!!
First post on ME, been a fox fan since I was 8 yrs old and I finally had the chance to purchase one
Bigb is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-22-2012, 01:02 PM   #2
Road Trip!

Region: Indiana
U may need to check the pump shaft.I think u can tell if it broke by pulling the distributor,but I don't know the exact procedure.
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 01:41 PM   #3

Ok,will do! If it is the crank,what kind of work will have to be done to it to be fixed?
I'm praying that the engine is not damaged! :/
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-22-2012, 03:35 PM   #4
Road Trip!

Not crank,but oil pump drive shaft.if that is broke you will have to drop the oil pan.I don't remember what that involves but the procedure should be in your Haynes or Chilton book.I do know that it is a task.also when you get to dropping the pan I would try to inspect your main bearings while you have it off. Also I wouldnt go cheap on the new driveshaft. Good luck.