maf sensor - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1979-1995 Mustang GT



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 04-13-2012, 12:36 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
thomas91gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Alabama
Posts: 67
maf sensor

Anyone know what this is for F1ZF-12B579-AA? Or injector size?
thomas91gt is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-13-2012, 12:49 PM   #2
Road Trip!
Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Region: Missouri
Posts: 8,779
Re: maf sensor

Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas91gt View Post
Anyone know what this is for F1ZF-12B579-AA? Or injector size?
Those were used on the 1990- 1995 Mustangs, Thunderbirds and Taurus.
It probably is calibrated for stock 19 lb injectors.


Here is the page I found them on.
Walbro MAF
Trojan Horse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2012, 01:05 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
thomas91gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Alabama
Posts: 67
Ok thinks im having problems with my car i think it might be this. I have ran across this one. If u unplug it while its running should the engine respond
thomas91gt is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-13-2012, 01:21 PM   #4
Road Trip!
Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Region: Missouri
Posts: 8,779
Re: maf sensor

Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas91gt View Post
Ok thinks im having problems with my car i think it might be this. I have ran across this one. If u unplug it while its running should the engine respond
I have seen cases where the responses from unplugging them ranged from no change at idle to running rich or lean, or killing the engine.
It just depends on what other issues you might have I suppose.
Trojan Horse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2012, 03:43 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
thomas91gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Alabama
Posts: 67
I replaced it with the anorher one still same thing i was getting an egr code i bypassed it using resistors in the diagrahm i got off here now theres no light but still runs the same. I have checked for vacuum leaks and found none guess im lookin at an iac or something.
thomas91gt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2012, 03:53 PM   #6
Road Trip!
Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Region: Missouri
Posts: 8,779
Re: maf sensor

Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas91gt View Post
I replaced it with the anorher one still same thing i was getting an egr code i bypassed it using resistors in the diagrahm i got off here now theres no light but still runs the same. I have checked for vacuum leaks and found none guess im lookin at an iac or something.
The only thing the resistors do is to get rid of the CEL light for the EGR.
If the EGR is still attached and not functioning properly it can still cause you problems.


Try to better describe the issues you are having and we'll see what we can figure out.
Trojan Horse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2012, 04:25 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
thomas91gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Alabama
Posts: 67
Right i took it off and put a plate on the intake... In the mornings i start it and unless i imediately give it gas it will go dead. When i take off it seems hesitate or it takes it a second for it to go when i press the gas. It idles steady only a lot lower than normal. It will idle around 700 for a couple mins then all the sudden it will drop to 500.

---------- Post added at 03:08 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:08 PM ----------

O and running really rich i went 70 miles on a half of a tank lol

---------- Post added at 03:25 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:08 PM ----------

Completely stock i just replaced the coolant temp sensor are there only one of them? i seen another one that looks like one right behind the temp sending unit
thomas91gt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2012, 05:06 PM   #8
Road Trip!
Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Region: Missouri
Posts: 8,779
Re: maf sensor

Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas91gt View Post
Right i took it off and put a plate on the intake... In the mornings i start it and unless i imediately give it gas it will go dead. When i take off it seems hesitate or it takes it a second for it to go when i press the gas. It idles steady only a lot lower than normal. It will idle around 700 for a couple mins then all the sudden it will drop to 500.

---------- Post added at 03:08 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:08 PM ----------

O and running really rich i went 70 miles on a half of a tank lol

---------- Post added at 03:25 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:08 PM ----------

Completely stock i just replaced the coolant temp sensor are there only one of them? i seen another one that looks like one right behind the temp sending unit
What about the IAT (Intake Air Temp) sensor?
I'm assuming you replaced the ECT (Engine Coolant Temp) sensor.


Make sure your fuel pressure isn't set to high.
Should be 38-40 psi at idle with the vacuum line removed from the regulator and the line plugged.

Also what condition are the injectors in?
Ever replaced the injector O-rings and pintle caps?
Trojan Horse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2012, 08:19 PM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
thomas91gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Alabama
Posts: 67
Yea i replaced the ect is there only one i seen another that looks like like one. Where is the ict i havnt seen it. Yea i have to get a pressure tester for the fuel
thomas91gt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2012, 10:00 PM   #10
Road Trip!
Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Region: Missouri
Posts: 8,779
Re: maf sensor

Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas91gt View Post
Yea i replaced the ect is there only one i seen another that looks like like one. Where is the ict i havnt seen it. Yea i have to get a pressure tester for the fuel
What is an ICT?
Trojan Horse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2012, 10:02 PM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
thomas91gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Alabama
Posts: 67
Sorry iat
thomas91gt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2012, 10:43 PM   #12
Road Trip!
Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Region: Missouri
Posts: 8,779
Re: maf sensor

Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas91gt View Post
Sorry iat
It is located in the intake tube near the MAF.
Google search IAT sensor for your year car and look at the images.
That will provide you with a visual reference.
Trojan Horse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 10:46 AM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
Supporter
 
93slowstang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Walker
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 3,436
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trojan Horse

It is located in the intake tube near the MAF.
Google search IAT sensor for your year car and look at the images.
That will provide you with a visual reference.
On the foxes it's in the #5 runner on the lower intake.
__________________


93 GT with more junkyard mods than you can imagine.
90 GT bone stock down to the air filter, awaiting restoration.
Join Mustang Evolution today. Click here
93slowstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 05:27 PM   #14
Road Trip!
Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Region: Missouri
Posts: 8,779
Re: maf sensor

Quote:
Originally Posted by 93slowstang View Post
On the foxes it's in the #5 runner on the lower intake.
Well "smack my head and call me smiley".
You are correct, sir.


Mine has been moved to the MAF intake tubing like on the 95's and I never realized it was not in its factory location.

Trojan Horse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 05:59 PM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
thomas91gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Alabama
Posts: 67
Lol i thought so i new it wasnt in the tubing ha. I think i about have it figured out still doesnt seem to run like it should i believe it was a timing issue my bolt had worked loose on me. I think it still needs something tho doesnt have the power that it should. A friend has a set of lightning heads of a 93 would those be worth putting on he doesnt have the intake tho
thomas91gt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 06:03 PM   #16
Registered Member
Regular
Supporter
 
93slowstang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Walker
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 3,436
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trojan Horse

Well "smack my head and call me smiley".
You are correct, sir.

Mine has been moved to the MAF intake tubing like on the 95's and I never realized it was not in its factory location.
Lol, figured you had a brain fart . Also its called the act- air charge temp sensor in most apps incase the auto store can't pull up iat.
__________________


93 GT with more junkyard mods than you can imagine.
90 GT bone stock down to the air filter, awaiting restoration.
Join Mustang Evolution today. Click here
93slowstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 06:04 PM   #17
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Indiana
Posts: 8,044
those are 351 heads? if so then no you wouldnt benefit.
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 06:07 PM   #18
Registered Member
Regular
Supporter
 
93slowstang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Walker
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 3,436
Quote:
Originally Posted by dreamstang
those are 351 heads? if so then no you wouldnt benefit.
They are gt40 heads.

---------- Post added at 06:07 PM ---------- Previous post was at 06:06 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas91gt
Lol i thought so i new it wasnt in the tubing ha. I think i about have it figured out still doesnt seem to run like it should i believe it was a timing issue my bolt had worked loose on me. I think it still needs something tho doesnt have the power that it should. A friend has a set of lightning heads of a 93 would those be worth putting on he doesnt have the intake tho
Yes they'll improve performance some but not like a set of aftermarket heads. If they're cheap enough go for it.
__________________


93 GT with more junkyard mods than you can imagine.
90 GT bone stock down to the air filter, awaiting restoration.
Join Mustang Evolution today. Click here
93slowstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 06:07 PM   #19
Registered Member
Regular
 
thomas91gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Alabama
Posts: 67
Yea i was thinking the same more trouble than its worth
thomas91gt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 06:09 PM   #20
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Indiana
Posts: 8,044
Quote:
Originally Posted by 93slowstang

They are gt40 heads.

---------- Post added at 06:07 PM ---------- Previous post was at 06:06 PM ----------



Yes they'll improve performance some but not like a set of aftermarket heads. If they're cheap enough go for it.
Ahh. Then yes I agree with this. ^
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 06:16 PM   #21
Registered Member
Regular
Supporter
 
93slowstang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Walker
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 3,436
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas91gt
Yea i was thinking the same more trouble than its worth
If you get them dirt cheap have them ported and get a valve job and you'll have a nice set of heads that perform very well cheaper than a few aftermarket heads.
__________________


93 GT with more junkyard mods than you can imagine.
90 GT bone stock down to the air filter, awaiting restoration.
Join Mustang Evolution today. Click here
93slowstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 06:47 PM   #22
Registered Member
Regular
 
thomas91gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Alabama
Posts: 67
Yea they want to much for them 400 lol
thomas91gt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 10:26 AM   #23
Registered Member
Regular
 
thomas91gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Alabama
Posts: 67
Well it runs better since i set the timing on it but it is still extremely cold natured it doesnt want to run at all in the morning. I wonder if its not an intake leak or a head gasket blown between cylinders
thomas91gt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 11:51 AM   #24
Registered Member
Regular
Supporter
 
93slowstang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Walker
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 3,436
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas91gt
Well it runs better since i set the timing on it but it is still extremely cold natured it doesnt want to run at all in the morning. I wonder if its not an intake leak or a head gasket blown between cylinders
You may need to try resetting your idle. Mine was cold natured and resetting the idle help a lot
__________________


93 GT with more junkyard mods than you can imagine.
90 GT bone stock down to the air filter, awaiting restoration.
Join Mustang Evolution today. Click here
93slowstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 10:00 PM   #25
Registered Member
Regular
 
thomas91gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Alabama
Posts: 67
Ill try it tomorrow... Gonna try to do a compression check and fuel pressure check
thomas91gt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2012, 11:27 AM   #26
Registered Member
Regular
 
thomas91gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Alabama
Posts: 67
I tried to reset it. Didnt really help i has gotten worse... Now it wont hardly spin the tires in the rain lol I really think its a head gasket. I think its blown between the cylinders i had an 86 do the same thing and thats what had happened. this just gives me a reason to upgrade lol
thomas91gt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1979-1995 Mustang GT

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



12:04 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.