Horsepower from upgrades - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1979-1995 Mustang GT



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 04-14-2012, 08:39 AM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
captain78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 851
Horsepower from upgrades

Just curious but does anyone know what kinda horsepower you can hope to gain by the upgrades you have. TB CAI long tubes intake heads cam injectors. Smog delete. And so on. I sure it won't be dead on without a dyno just curious as to what imma be looking at

---------- Post added at 08:39 AM ---------- Previous post was at 08:18 AM ----------

Just a list of my soon to be installed up grades
Trickflow track heat upper and lower. 75mm TB. BBK in finder CAI. 24lb injectors. 75mm MAF custom ground cam. AFR 165 heads 1.6 RR. Long tube headers. Egr delete. Smog delete. BBK fuel rails. Bbk fuel regulator and pressure gauge. 255lph fuel pump. 200amp alt. Working AC. And I know they say 225hspr stock and guessing thats flywheel not rear wheel Just trying to get a good rough estimate.
captain78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-14-2012, 10:06 AM   #2
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Indiana
Posts: 8,044
Yes the stock 225 is flywheel. Yes its really hard to guess as all combos work different with each other.but I'm gonna guesstimate 300-325 to the wheels.
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 11:04 AM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
captain78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 851
Guess imma have to take it to the dyno to get real numbers
captain78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-14-2012, 11:19 AM   #4
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Indiana
Posts: 8,044
That would be awsome. I am curious be cause I almost got those heads.I also want to dyno.
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 11:35 AM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
captain78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 851
Well I got them because there good for 100 hspr according to the magazines. With just heads 1.7 rockers and long tubes a stock block 302 makes 400 hspr

---------- Post added at 11:35 AM ---------- Previous post was at 11:32 AM ----------

405 @6200 RPMs to be exact. With a carb.
captain78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 11:47 AM   #6
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Indiana
Posts: 8,044
Well your stock up is 225. Figure in 17% drivetrain loss. That puts you stock rwhp around 187. So if you get 325 at the wheels I would consider that excellent.that is well over 100 up gain. What mm&ff did with that motor was astounding! Imo not everyone will get the same results.but if they did that would be great.I like to expect low. Then when you do better than that, it makes you feel way better. But hopefully since you used similar parts they did you will reach great power.
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 11:57 AM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
captain78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 851
I hope so if not lol that's why they make 331 stroker blocks and superchargers lol
captain78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 12:01 PM   #8
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Indiana
Posts: 8,044
Quote:
Originally Posted by captain78
I hope so if not lol that's why they make 331 stroker blocks and superchargers lol
Haha. That is exactly why they do.

I don't know what my car makes but I am hoping for similar numbers that I told you.I have tfs heads, b303 cam,1.72 rr, 670 carb, weiand stealth intake.I actually chose this intake because of that article you mentioned. But anyways I do know 1 thing for sure.whatever my numbers are, my car is a whole different animal since the upgrades and I am very happy.I'm sure you will be to. At least for know.
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 12:08 PM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
captain78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 851
Yea I just looked up what ford claimed for my car when first made 14.4@96mph. Since I have no base line for my car cause everytime I plan to go to track it rains lol. So I'm curious as to what it will do with the 3:73s that are goin in today and I advanced my timing a bit and took out the air box thingy in finder.
captain78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 12:31 PM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
cgarray17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by captain78
I hope so if not lol that's why they make 331 stroker blocks and superchargers lol
Haha ya i was going to go your rout till i found a blower for cheaper then the heads so we will see just need to install it but ya dyno is the only true way to tell power numbers and also all dynos will give slight different numbers. But i bet just like mine you will see a biggg difference haha
__________________
94 GT Convertible

Current- Stock long block 118k, MAC CAI, 75mm Pro M MAF, PP 70mm TB,BBK shorties,BBK O/R H, Magnaflow catback, KING cobra clutch, 3.73 Gears

Soon to be Vortech blown with a built 306 Numbers and times to follow!!!
cgarray17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 06:07 PM   #11
Road Trip!
Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Region: Missouri
Posts: 8,779
Re: Horsepower from upgrades

I think you are definitely looking at a 100+ HP increase.Exact would be hard to pin down, because every engine is different even if built identically to another.
Sometimes the little stuff can trip you up, so pay attention to the smallest details when assembling.
Trojan Horse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 06:17 PM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
captain78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 851
what kinda little stuff TH. I have a chip but I was told because it was set for stock eng. And it was done back in early 90s. I was told to remove it for sure. And run without until I get a new one.
captain78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 06:20 PM   #13
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Indiana
Posts: 8,044
Quote:
Originally Posted by captain78
what kinda little stuff TH. I have a chip but I was told because it was set for stock eng. And it was done back in early 90s. I was told to remove it for sure. And run without until I get a new one.
I'm not sure what chip you have or if its cost efficient.but you maybe able to have it reprogrammed.if you get it dynoed you may need a particular chip for the technician. I would contact the speed shop that you plan on using if you do get it dynoed and ask them.
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 06:22 PM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
captain78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 851
Dunked? Lol you mean dynoed lol. I'll do that. For sure then
captain78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 06:24 PM   #15
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Indiana
Posts: 8,044
Yeah I edited it. Lol. Stupid auto correct.
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 06:25 PM   #16
Registered Member
Regular
 
captain78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 851
Hell lol I'm not sure what chip I have. Lol I don't even know where to look guy I bought it from just told me it had one
captain78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 06:28 PM   #17
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Indiana
Posts: 8,044
Quote:
Originally Posted by captain78
Hell lol I'm not sure what chip I have. Lol I don't even know where to look guy I bought it from just told me it had one
I'm not sure.I have a carb so my tuning is done with a flathead screwdriver.lol.but I would guess on the computer which is located under the passenger side kick panel under the dash.
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 06:32 PM   #18
Registered Member
Regular
 
captain78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 851
Good to know I thought it was behind the radio
captain78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 07:06 PM   #19
Road Trip!
Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Region: Missouri
Posts: 8,779
Re: Horsepower from upgrades

Quote:
Originally Posted by captain78 View Post
what kinda little stuff TH. I have a chip but I was told because it was set for stock eng. And it was done back in early 90s. I was told to remove it for sure. And run without until I get a new one.
Little stuff like:
Port matching and making sure gaskets do not protrude into the openings.
Bolt torquing values and sequences.
Clean out any "casting flash" in the intake and heads.
Make sure all sensors/controls are properly cleaned, set or adjusted.
Make sure timing and fuel pressure are set correctly.
Injectors clean, working and spraying properly. (I did this by fabbing an adapter for a can of carb cleaner to fit over the injector inlet and using a momentary switch to power the injector from the battery.)
Make sure the injector O-rings and pintle caps are in good shape and sealing properly.
Mainly any small detail that you might be inclined to over look or forget about because it appears to look ok or be working ok.


dreamstang is correct. Any chip will be plugged into the computer located behind the PS kick panel.
When/if you remove it be sure to cover the hole with tape or something to keep moisture and dirt out.
Trojan Horse is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1979-1995 Mustang GT

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



01:55 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.