gt40 upper amd lower and maf upgrade! - Page 2 - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1979-1995 Mustang GT



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 04-23-2012, 10:47 PM   #36
Road Trip!
Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Region: Missouri
Posts: 8,779
Re: gt40 upper amd lower and maf upgrade!

Quote:
Originally Posted by 87blackonblack View Post
awesome i.already got the.old orings out i had to to.try amd get the caps out thays when i broke the caps and on my old intake when i took it off it jad one of the tubes blocked off is this normal ad should i do the same on the gt40 intake then?
Yes, just set it up the same as your stock intake and you should be good to go.
Trojan Horse is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-23-2012, 10:55 PM   #37
Registered Member
Regular
 
87blackonblack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Ohio
Posts: 308
okay one more quick question then i have to get some sleep ive been thinkin about my car all night lol......
are bosch injectors any good i found a set used with good caps for about 50 bucks and if they will fot i can change all the o rings and be good to go?
87blackonblack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 11:05 PM   #38
Road Trip!
Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Region: Missouri
Posts: 8,779
Re: gt40 upper amd lower and maf upgrade!

Quote:
Originally Posted by 87blackonblack View Post
okay one more quick question then i have to get some sleep ive been thinkin about my car all night lol......
are bosch injectors any good i found a set used with good caps for about 50 bucks and if they will fot i can change all the o rings and be good to go?
Yes, as long as they are of the same configuration and fuel flow rate.
Trojan Horse is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-24-2012, 06:45 PM   #39
Registered Member
Regular
 
87blackonblack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Ohio
Posts: 308
how important is the speed sensor to be wired in and if i dont what will happen i got under my car and the orange wire is broke from the sensor and if i don't have to replace it cause it won't affect the car then I'll just leave it the way it is for now till funds allow me to fix it
Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20120424_194140.png
Views:	192
Size:	312.1 KB
ID:	48094
87blackonblack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2012, 07:41 PM   #40
Registered Member
Regular
 
87blackonblack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Ohio
Posts: 308
also i want to remive my ac but do i have to move the power steering or can i just add a pully in its place or can i just remove it and get a smaller belt?
87blackonblack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2012, 07:51 PM   #41
Pete Jones
Regular
 
90mustangLX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Region: Ohio
Posts: 781
Send a message via ICQ to 90mustangLX Send a message via AIM to 90mustangLX
Quote:
Originally Posted by 87blackonblack
also i want to remive my ac but do i have to move the power steering or can i just add a pully in its place or can i just remove it and get a smaller belt?
You can buy a bracket and move it up or buy the a/c delete pulley and put it in place of the a/c OR you can modify your alt bracket and get rid of the tensioner and go with a turnbuckle like I have and keep the p/s in its current location with a smaller belt and use the turnbuckle(with a jam nut) to move the alt to tighten up the belt. All up to you though in the end. Don't mind the belt going under the waterpump. Just a quick fix after I changed my intake/heads and modified my bracket to make sure everything was good and I could move it around.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2423195880.jpg
Views:	185
Size:	550.6 KB
ID:	48096   Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1456250344.jpg
Views:	159
Size:	539.4 KB
ID:	48097  

__________________
90 LX hatchback
(sold but not forgotten)

89 LX Notchback
No motor/trans (for now)
90mustangLX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2012, 08:55 PM   #42
Registered Member
Regular
 
87blackonblack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Ohio
Posts: 308
Quote:
Originally Posted by 87blackonblack
how important is the speed sensor to be wired in and if i dont what will happen i got under my car and the orange wire is broke from the sensor and if i don't have to replace it cause it won't affect the car then I'll just leave it the way it is for now till funds allow me to fix it


---------- Post added at 08:55 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:53 PM ----------

speed sensor is it necessary i fkund a loose wire hangingfrom it
87blackonblack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2012, 09:00 PM   #43
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Indiana
Posts: 8,044
im not sure what the wire does but mine is unhooked also.
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2012, 09:06 PM   #44
Registered Member
Regular
 
87blackonblack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Ohio
Posts: 308
if you look at the pics above for converting to maf it says that i need it so i went under the car to splice it in the the appropriate wires and i found one hanging down it broke off right at the plug.
87blackonblack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2012, 09:13 PM   #45
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Indiana
Posts: 8,044
is the wire repairable. maybe splice in a new piece? or pull one from the salvage yard?
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2012, 09:31 PM   #46
Registered Member
Regular
 
87blackonblack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Ohio
Posts: 308
no its broke right at the base of the conector
wish i knew if it.was a must on a maf conversion cause if it wasnt i would just leave it be.

i was reading up a little bit on it and i think im going to have to replace it because i guess it has something to do with the way it idles and being a manual that it will stall and habe sporadic idle
87blackonblack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2012, 09:33 PM   #47
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Indiana
Posts: 8,044
check mpsautosalvage or emmetheadperformace. they could hook u up cheap im sure.
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2012, 09:45 PM   #48
Road Trip!
Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Region: Missouri
Posts: 8,779
Re: gt40 upper amd lower and maf upgrade!

Sometimes you can remove the connector pins and re-solder a new wire into it, then reinstall it.Snap On and various other manufacturers make connector pin removal/installation tools.
Trojan Horse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2012, 09:49 PM   #49
Registered Member
Regular
 
87blackonblack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Ohio
Posts: 308
i found a new conection harness for it it was $10 bucks so im going to try that. what exactly does the vss do? was i right above that it controlls your idle and that it will not run right with out it?
87blackonblack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2012, 09:18 PM   #50
Registered Member
Regular
 
87blackonblack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Ohio
Posts: 308
what is the stock size of the throttle body so i can order me some new gaskets
87blackonblack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2012, 10:14 PM   #51
Registered Member
Regular
 
5.slow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Region: Delaware
Posts: 270
I believe the stock size tb for the gt40 intake is 65mm.
5.slow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2012, 11:54 PM   #52
Registered Member
Regular
Supporter
 
93slowstang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Walker
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 3,436
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5.slow
I believe the stock size tb for the gt40 intake is 65mm.
You are correct.
__________________


93 GT with more junkyard mods than you can imagine.
90 GT bone stock down to the air filter, awaiting restoration.
Join Mustang Evolution today. Click here
93slowstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 11:43 AM   #53
Registered Member
Regular
 
87blackonblack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Ohio
Posts: 308
okay so i bought a new map sensor from an 89 mustang so out would all match my 89 computer. but when installing my intake and doing the maf conversion it said to just plug off the map sensor on the intake. So my? is did i waste money on the map sensor our do i need to hook it up and what exactly does a map sensor do?
87blackonblack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 02:54 PM   #54
Registered Member
Regular
 
Dion11197's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Region: Texas
Posts: 829
It measures manifold air pressure if I remember correctly. If you have the matching computer and harness, you should be able to use it if you want. I think (and I could be wrong) if you aren't replacing the speed density motor wiring harness then it won't have the wires for it.
Dion11197 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 04:05 PM   #55
Registered Member
Regular
 
87blackonblack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Ohio
Posts: 308
three only thing i changed was the computer and added the maf harness and changed the intake to a gt40.
87blackonblack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 09:09 PM   #56
Registered Member
Regular
 
87blackonblack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Ohio
Posts: 308
please help

new problem my gt 40 intake vacume lines under the intake are different then what is on the stock intake so obviously i have to get longer vacume but does it matter what vacuum line goes where?

Also my throttle body needs a coolant line to and from and the stock intake has a line coming from the stock lower intake but on the gt40 intake there is no line coming from it??? what and how can i remedy this?

there are pics of the intake above
87blackonblack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 09:13 PM   #57
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Indiana
Posts: 8,044
its ok if you change the arrangment of the vacuum lines. as long as all the required lines that had vacuum before, still have vacuum.

same for the coolant.mif you dont have any extra coolant spots maybe tee off of one?
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 09:24 PM   #58
Road Trip!
Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Region: Missouri
Posts: 8,779
Re: gt40 upper amd lower and maf upgrade!

Quote:
Originally Posted by 87blackonblack View Post
okay so i bought a new map sensor from an 89 mustang so out would all match my 89 computer. but when installing my intake and doing the maf conversion it said to just plug off the map sensor on the intake. So my? is did i waste money on the map sensor our do i need to hook it up and what exactly does a map sensor do?
The MAP sensor for the 1989-93 Mustang 5.0L is also commonly referred to as the BAP sensor (Barometric Air Pressure). It provides manifold vacuum readings to the ECU, hook it up.
Trojan Horse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 09:39 PM   #59
Registered Member
Regular
 
87blackonblack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Ohio
Posts: 308
ok i do have the new map sensor installed and hooked up now and if i t off another coolant line it will be okay and won't affect the flow at all? and thanks for the help so far i am a rookie at all this. and doing it all my self well with you're guys help of course
87blackonblack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 09:41 PM   #60
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Indiana
Posts: 8,044
i think it will be ok. if im not mistaken i have heard of people deleting the line to the throttle body. but i cant remember for sure.
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 09:50 PM   #61
Registered Member
Regular
 
87blackonblack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Ohio
Posts: 308
hmmm deleting it would be nice
87blackonblack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 09:57 PM   #62
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Indiana
Posts: 8,044
i dont know much about it. but see if you can google it.
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 10:13 PM   #63
Road Trip!
Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Region: Missouri
Posts: 8,779
Re: gt40 upper amd lower and maf upgrade!

Yes, delete the line. Plug the hole in the lower intake with a pipe plug and I used a compression fitting and a cap to plug the line off the coolant tubes. Do not use vacuum caps on the fittings that are there, that will not work.

Someone doing just that helped me get a bargain price on my car, because the dealer thought the head gaskets were blown.
Trojan Horse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 10:16 PM   #64
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Indiana
Posts: 8,044
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trojan Horse
Yes, delete the line. Plug the hole in the lower intake with a pipe plug and I used a compression fitting and a cap to plug the line off the coolant tubes. Do not use vacuum caps on the fittings that are there, that will not work.

Someone doing just that helped me get a bargain price on my car, because the dealer thought the head gaskets were blown.
that should be easy cause i believe he said there isnt even a spot for the coolant. he was gonna have to tee off to use it. (not golf)
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 10:28 PM   #65
Road Trip!
Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Region: Missouri
Posts: 8,779
Re: gt40 upper amd lower and maf upgrade!

Quote:
Originally Posted by dreamstang View Post
that should be easy cause i believe he said there isnt even a spot for the coolant. he was gonna have to tee off to use it. (not golf)
Good, that will make it even easier.
My Cobra intake does away with the adapter completely and the TB bolts directly to the intake.
Trojan Horse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 10:29 PM   #66
Registered Member
Regular
Supporter
 
93slowstang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Walker
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 3,436
Theirs on spot on the coolant line you will have to cap off. I used a piece of hose and a clamped bolt to block mine. It doesn't look good but it worked in a pinch.
__________________


93 GT with more junkyard mods than you can imagine.
90 GT bone stock down to the air filter, awaiting restoration.
Join Mustang Evolution today. Click here
93slowstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 10:35 PM   #67
Registered Member
Regular
 
87blackonblack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Ohio
Posts: 308
correct there is no soot on the lower intake for me to connect into my throttle body so i would be good to just not even bother blocking the throttle booty of and just leave the tubes there open?
87blackonblack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 10:40 PM   #68
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Indiana
Posts: 8,044
i would still plug anything open. they are probably npt threads. and you can get the mip brass fittings at your local hardware store pretty cheap (1-3$)

---------- Post added at 10:40 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:39 PM ----------

or if they are just tubes, tubes/lines slowstangs way will work at least temporaly.
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 10:42 PM   #69
Road Trip!
Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Region: Missouri
Posts: 8,779
Re: gt40 upper amd lower and maf upgrade!

Quote:
Originally Posted by 93slowstang View Post
Theirs on spot on the coolant line you will have to cap off. I used a piece of hose and a clamped bolt to block mine. It doesn't look good but it worked in a pinch.
You can use a brass compression fitting and a cap to plug that off. I just cut the bulge off of the little tube and slid the compression fitting over it and tightened it up. Looks better and it's more secure.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 87blackonblack View Post
correct there is no soot on the lower intake for me to connect into my throttle body so i would be good to just not even bother blocking the throttle booty of and just leave the tubes there open?

Are the inlet and outlet tubes on the TB itself or the adapter?
If on an adapter, just remove it completely. It is no longer needed and just taking up room.
Trojan Horse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 10:44 PM   #70
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Indiana
Posts: 8,044
do you have pics of what needs capped? we may be able to give you an even better solution.
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1979-1995 Mustang GT

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



06:52 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.