gt40 upper amd lower and maf upgrade! - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1979-1995 Mustang GT



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 04-19-2012, 10:02 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
87blackonblack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Ohio
Posts: 308
gt40 upper amd lower and maf upgrade!

started my upgrade ad conversion today and i allready have a tone of questions and accidents
1. i broke a bolt that holds the throttle body on which is no big deal but can i get this at a local parts store?
2. when i took my valve covers off one was super clean on the inside and the other looked to be corroded with gunk is this normal/what could cause it?
3. When i do this conversion to the gt40 what all can i get rid of and what all needs to stay?
87blackonblack is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-19-2012, 10:36 PM   #2
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Indiana
Posts: 8,044
you should be able to get any bolt you need from fany auto parts store. you may need to know the size, as they probably will not be able to tell you. i usually just get bolts from the hardware store because they have a better selection.

as far as the valve cover.im not really sure.but is the cleaner one the cover that had the pvc on it? maybe that would explain it. but i wouldnt worry to much about it.
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 06:36 AM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
Dion11197's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Region: Texas
Posts: 829
Quote:
Originally Posted by dreamstang
you should be able to get any bolt you need from fany auto parts store. you may need to know the size, as they probably will not be able to tell you. i usually just get bolts from the hardware store because they have a better selection.

as far as the valve cover.im not really sure.but is the cleaner one the cover that had the pvc on it? maybe that would explain it. but i wouldnt worry to much about it.
+1
That's been my experience too. Usually the side with the pcv has a more brownish color to the inside "gunk" lol!
Dion11197 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-20-2012, 12:25 PM   #4
Road Trip!
Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Region: Missouri
Posts: 8,779
Re: gt40 upper amd lower and maf upgrade!

That "brownish gunk" is caused by condensed moisture from short drives where the engine does not get fully warmed up.
Trojan Horse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 02:50 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
All4sho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 26
I just did this conversion on my 88 gt. one thing you are going to have to do before you put the lower intake on is drill and tap a 3/8 npt hole in number 5 runner if there isn't one there for the act sensor. I made that mistake.
All4sho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 07:51 PM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
87blackonblack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Ohio
Posts: 308
okay awesome and i have 3 of the bolts left so i can take that to the store and just have them match it. as far as the drilling in runner 5 i have no idea what your talking about lol ill take some pictures of my intake and you can tell me if i need to drill anything or maybe u can take a picture of yours so i no what your talking about
87blackonblack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 07:57 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
All4sho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 26
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3151358640.jpg
Views:	505
Size:	608.1 KB
ID:	47725

That's what I had to drill and tap. If you just check your stock one and look at the gt just make sure there is a hole for the sensor. You don't want to put it on go to hook all the wires up and and you are missing a sensor.
All4sho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 08:15 PM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
87blackonblack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Ohio
Posts: 308
awesome thanks man I'll look at mine and make sure its there or not

---------- Post added at 08:15 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:09 PM ----------

awesome thanks man I'll look at mine and make sure its there or not thanks for three picture
87blackonblack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 08:42 PM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
All4sho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 26
No problem, just passing on some learned the hard way knowledge.
All4sho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 09:51 PM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
87blackonblack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Ohio
Posts: 308
this is what mine looks like and if i have to droll holes its there a specific soot that it goes our just close to what you have in your picture. also did you notice a difference with the gt40

Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20120420_224956.png
Views:	587
Size:	530.0 KB
ID:	47729
87blackonblack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 09:55 PM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
87blackonblack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Ohio
Posts: 308
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trojan Horse
That "brownish gunk" is caused by condensed moisture from short drives where the engine does not get fully warmed up.
what's the best way to clean theses as well as all three other components that are nasty looking
87blackonblack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 11:23 PM   #12
Road Trip!
Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Region: Missouri
Posts: 8,779
Re: gt40 upper amd lower and maf upgrade!

Quote:
Originally Posted by 87blackonblack View Post
what's the best way to clean theses as well as all three other components that are nasty looking
Elbow Grease.
No matter what other cleaning solution you use if you add enough "Elbow Grease" they will come clean.


Carb cleaner or soap and hot water will serve to clean out the gunk if the head is off the car.
Otherwise if it is still on the engine, just wipe it out as best as you can with some clean lint free rags.
Trojan Horse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2012, 06:32 AM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
87blackonblack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Ohio
Posts: 308
thanks guys i appreciate it and sorry for the typos my auto spell got me
87blackonblack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2012, 07:19 AM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
All4sho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 26
Ok I don't see a hole there. After all the Internet searching I picked a spot on number 5 runner and started drilling. Has to be #5 so the wiring harness reaches. Remember you have an injector, fuel rail and intake bolt you have to put back in. As for seeing a difference with it, I don't know yet. Today is the day it I am putting it all back together and now they are calling for rain all weekend. Go figure!
All4sho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2012, 04:46 PM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
bigcolt45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 61
You don't have to drill the intake ! You can either plug in the sensor and let it hang or run longer wires and plumb it in to your intake snorkel... Also great time to replace that sensor and the coolant temp sensor

---------- Post added at 09:46 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:44 PM ----------

I did this swap and never drilled my intake . You can search on line for moving it to the snorkel. I mean it is the intake air temp sensor. Also I believe what the sensor does is ****** your timing if it reads high temps.
bigcolt45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 12:41 AM   #16
Registered Member
Regular
 
87blackonblack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Ohio
Posts: 308
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigcolt45
You don't have to drill the intake ! You can either plug in the sensor and let it hang or run longer wires and plumb it in to your intake snorkel... Also great time to replace that sensor and the coolant temp sensor

---------- Post added at 09:46 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:44 PM ----------

I did this swap and never drilled my intake . You can search on line for moving it to the snorkel. I mean it is the intake air temp sensor. Also I believe what the sensor does is ****** your timing if it reads high temps.
i hope this is not a dumb questiong but what is a snorkel?
87blackonblack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 06:38 AM   #17
Registered Member
Regular
 
bigcolt45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 61
Your cold air intake or rubber snorkel after the maf and before the throttle body

---------- Post added at 11:38 AM ---------- Previous post was at 11:34 AM ----------

Haha no such thing as a dumb question. I'm a mechanic so sometimes my words are things I call items . That no one else does . . Its the rubber elbow That connects the maf to the throttle body .
bigcolt45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 07:54 AM   #18
Registered Member
Regular
 
87blackonblack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Ohio
Posts: 308
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigcolt45
Your cold air intake or rubber snorkel after the maf and before the throttle body

---------- Post added at 11:38 AM ---------- Previous post was at 11:34 AM ----------

Haha no such thing as a dumb question. I'm a mechanic so sometimes my words are things I call items . That no one else does . . Its the rubber elbow That connects the maf to the throttle body .
lol awesome. so i can just plum that sensor into my air intake tube and by okay or just let it hang?
87blackonblack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 09:03 AM   #19
Registered Member
Regular
 
Dion11197's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Region: Texas
Posts: 829
Quote:
Originally Posted by 87blackonblack

lol awesome. so i can just plum that sensor into my air intake tube and by okay or just let it hang?
Just my peso's worth, but I would rather plumb it into the air inlet tube if it were me..... Rather than just letting it hang, to me it would just look cleaner then a sensor hanging, lol
Dion11197 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 09:31 AM   #20
Registered Member
Regular
 
bigcolt45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dion11197

Just my peso's worth, but I would rather plumb it into the air inlet tube if it were me..... Rather than just letting it hang, to me it would just look cleaner then a sensor hanging, lol
I agree completely! But it is the last part of the swap I would worry about . I zip tied mine on the forward facing metal vacuum tube on front of the intake for weeks with zero issues.
bigcolt45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 01:24 PM   #21
Registered Member
Regular
 
Dion11197's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Region: Texas
Posts: 829
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigcolt45

I agree completely! But it is the last part of the swap I would worry about . I zip tied mine on the forward facing metal vacuum tube on front of the intake for weeks with zero issues.
True story! Cleaning things up is always the last step, lol!
Dion11197 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 01:29 PM   #22
Registered Member
Regular
 
bigcolt45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dion11197

True story! Cleaning things up is always the last step, lol!
Exactly I learned that from years of perfectly placing every item and then cranking it up and something being wrong or misplaced. Lmao
bigcolt45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 01:30 PM   #23
Registered Member
Regular
 
87blackonblack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Ohio
Posts: 308
ye i want to gobthrough and clean everything up that i can as im putting it back together. the dude i bought it from had the motor bay a disaster. cut wires and ac tubes it was nasty. thanks for all of the help so far im sure ill need some more.
87blackonblack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 10:42 PM   #24
Registered Member
Regular
 
87blackonblack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Ohio
Posts: 308
can u clean injectors and whats the best way to do so if u can.
87blackonblack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 11:42 PM   #25
Road Trip!
Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Region: Missouri
Posts: 8,779
Re: gt40 upper amd lower and maf upgrade!

Quote:
Originally Posted by 87blackonblack View Post
can u clean injectors and whats the best way to do so if u can.
I made up a contraption like this to clean mine.
It actually works quite well.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Injector Cleaner - Home Made.jpg
Views:	4748
Size:	183.0 KB
ID:	47916  
Trojan Horse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 07:15 AM   #26
Registered Member
Regular
 
Dion11197's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Region: Texas
Posts: 829
Quote:
Originally Posted by 87blackonblack
can u clean injectors and whats the best way to do so if u can.
You can also get an injector cleaning kit, if you know someone with access to one.... You disconnect your file lines and the kit hooks up to you fuel rails and to a can of injector cleaner, then turn the car on and it runs off the can.... Smokes like a champ while you do it, but works really well..... If not, the other method above works good too!
Dion11197 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 06:09 PM   #27
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 278
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trojan Horse

I made up a contraption like this to clean mine.
It actually works quite well.
Man u have too much time on ur hands. Why don't u open a shop , find investors
tbonestang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 07:17 PM   #28
Registered Member
Regular
 
87blackonblack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Ohio
Posts: 308
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbonestang

Man u have too much time on ur hands. Why don't u open a shop , find investors
lol
87blackonblack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 08:35 PM   #29
Registered Member
Regular
 
87blackonblack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Ohio
Posts: 308
ok a few questions 1. when i took my injectors out of my intake the little plastic ends some of them were suck and they broke when i took them out of the intake can i buy just these see pics below also with my gt40 intake some of the tubes look a little different what can i plug of and what do i need i also have pictures below of those as well? thanks in advance
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20120423_213413.png
Views:	776
Size:	395.2 KB
ID:	47976   Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20120423_213431.png
Views:	215
Size:	480.6 KB
ID:	47977  

87blackonblack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 08:46 PM   #30
Registered Member
Regular
 
87blackonblack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Ohio
Posts: 308
can i use 24# injectors with out upgrading my throttle body or a tune?
87blackonblack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 08:50 PM   #31
Registered Member
Regular
 
Stang.racr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Mississippi
Posts: 915
Quote:
Originally Posted by 87blackonblack
can i use 24# injectors with out upgrading my throttle body or a tune?
The mass air flow meter needs to be calibrated for 24 lb injectors to work properly
__________________
having a fine car that is slow is like having a hot girlfriend that won't put out!
Stang.racr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 09:34 PM   #32
Road Trip!
Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Region: Missouri
Posts: 8,779
Re: gt40 upper amd lower and maf upgrade!

Quote:
Originally Posted by tbonestang View Post
Man u have too much time on ur hands. Why don't u open a shop , find investors
That particular invention came from necessity. I was to broke to have them cleaned or to buy a manufactured cleaner. I may have to try and open a shop when the docs get my broken body parts repaired. My former employers (26 years) fired me last July because I could no longer do my job after an at work accident and injuries. Nice people huh?


Quote:
Originally Posted by 87blackonblack View Post
ok a few questions 1. when i took my injectors out of my intake the little plastic ends some of them were suck and they broke when i took them out of the intake can i buy just these see pics below also with my gt40 intake some of the tubes look a little different what can i plug of and what do i need i also have pictures below of those as well? thanks in advance
You can buy an injector O-ring and pintle cap replacement kit.


Here is a set at - LRS

Make sure all of the old o-rings have been removed, if 2 of them get stacked in the same hole it will leak.
Trojan Horse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 10:19 PM   #33
Registered Member
Regular
 
87blackonblack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Ohio
Posts: 308
i have new orings already and they old ones stuck in the old stock intake

can u tell me about the tubes under the intake and also i have read about egr deletes is this something i need to do if so what is it and how do i do it
87blackonblack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 10:34 PM   #34
Road Trip!
Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Region: Missouri
Posts: 8,779
Re: gt40 upper amd lower and maf upgrade!

Quote:
Originally Posted by 87blackonblack View Post
i have new orings already and they old ones stuck in the old stock intake

can u tell me about the tubes under the intake and also i have read about egr deletes is this something i need to do if so what is it and how do i do it
I don't know if you can get the pintle caps separate or not.
You may have to buy the kit to get them.
I have seen them a lot cheaper than $40 at local parts stores.
You will have to dig the old o-rings out if you ever want to use that intake.


You need to set up your vacuum lines to match what your stock intake had on it.
No, you do not really need to do the EGR delete, just make sure it is in good working order.
Trojan Horse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 10:37 PM   #35
Registered Member
Regular
 
87blackonblack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Ohio
Posts: 308
awesome i.already got the.old orings out i had to to.try amd get the caps out thays when i broke the caps and on my old intake when i took it off it jad one of the tubes blocked off is this normal ad should i do the same on the gt40 intake then?
87blackonblack is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1979-1995 Mustang GT

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



10:28 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.