Help!!!!! Install long tube headers. 1/58" - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1979-1995 Mustang GT

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 02-10-2008, 05:33 PM   #1

Help!!!!! Install long tube headers. 1/58"

Im having trouble installing my long tube headers. I dont know what brand are they, they have a three bolt flange on the collector.

I removed all spark plugs, they wont fit through the bottom or top, either side.
I know they fit cause my buddy had them on his mustang a 1989, and mines is a 1988 coupe. Its my first time doing this and im having tons of trouble.

Can you guys help me.
joseandmarilyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-11-2008, 01:40 AM   #2

Region: California
Re: Help!!!!! Install long tube headers. 1/58"

you are going to have to lift the motor off the motor mounts to fit the long tube headers in.
rick23reed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2008, 09:32 PM   #3
Legacy Member
Legacy

Quote:
you are going to have to lift the motor off the motor mounts to fit the long tube headers in.
i believe this is correct....you may even need to losen to tranny cross member so you can lift that as well.....i did short tubes and got lucky that i didn't have to do this.
Scut95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-12-2008, 10:46 AM   #4

thanks you guys i got them in......now the car wont start.
It started once and it had a mis-fire,so i took off all the spark plug wires, and put them by firing order, the cars wants to fire up but it doesnt, it has spark and fuel but why wont it start,? (I think i dont havethe firing order right on the ditributor which one is number 1 on it.?)
Old 02-12-2008, 10:53 AM   #5