distributor - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1979-1995 Mustang GT



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 07-10-2012, 06:43 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
thomas91gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Alabama
Posts: 67
distributor

i was wondering if anyone could tell me which gear is on my 91 gt or how to tell the diff between the cast iron and the steel gears.
thomas91gt is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-10-2012, 08:00 PM   #2
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Indiana
Posts: 8,044
Your gear should be steel as long as it still has the roller cam(which it should)
The cast is a rougher more porus finish.
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 08:31 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
thomas91gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Alabama
Posts: 67
i pulled it earlier couldnt really tell a difference but its all orig stock roller motor so i was guessing steel to. my car acts like it has a rev limiter between 25-3000 good fuel pressure good tps reading so thinking maybe pip so i was gonna replace the dist any opinions??

---------- Post added at 07:31 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:30 PM ----------

o and it backfires while engine is cold after it warms it idles good just no power
thomas91gt is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-10-2012, 08:34 PM   #4
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Indiana
Posts: 8,044
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas91gt
i pulled it earlier couldnt really tell a difference but its all orig stock roller motor so i was guessing steel to. my car acts like it has a rev limiter between 25-3000 good fuel pressure good tps reading so thinking maybe pip so i was gonna replace the dist any opinions??

---------- Post added at 07:31 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:30 PM ----------

o and it backfires while engine is cold after it warms it idles good just no power
Could be pip. But have you checked your timing? If your gonna replace you may as well upgrade to msd.
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 09:05 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
thomas91gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Alabama
Posts: 67
i would but it is a 150$ difference lol kinda on a budget right now how common is it for these to jump time?
thomas91gt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 09:09 PM   #6
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Indiana
Posts: 8,044
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas91gt
i would but it is a 150$ difference lol kinda on a budget right now how common is it for these to jump time?
then stick with the stock. i wouldnt go china or autozone special.

not common.
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 09:20 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
thomas91gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Alabama
Posts: 67
yea i work at advance i can get one for about 50 i didnt think it was to common. this is driving me crazy i figure i would just put a distributor in it, hope for the best lol
thomas91gt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 09:25 PM   #8
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Indiana
Posts: 8,044
There is a procedure to check the pip. I don't recall if its in the Haynes or not. But I did see it online one time.
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 09:29 PM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
thomas91gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Alabama
Posts: 67
yea the only one i have seen only tells if its sending a signal not how strong or how well it is working. mine runs so i know it is working somewhat. If this makes since lol
thomas91gt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 11:33 AM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
thomas91gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Alabama
Posts: 67
Anyone know where i can get the connector u pull out to set the timing my buddy forgot to put it back in and its lost
thomas91gt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 03:17 PM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
Supporter
 
93slowstang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Walker
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 3,436
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas91gt
Anyone know where i can get the connector u pull out to set the timing my buddy forgot to put it back in and its lost
Either a junk yard or you can order it from lrs.
http://www.latemodelrestoration.com/...ut%20connector
__________________


93 GT with more junkyard mods than you can imagine.
90 GT bone stock down to the air filter, awaiting restoration.
Join Mustang Evolution today. Click here
93slowstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 03:24 PM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
thomas91gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Alabama
Posts: 67
Would it hurt to use a jumper wire till i can get one?
thomas91gt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 04:14 PM   #13
Road Trip!
Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Region: Missouri
Posts: 8,779
Re: distributor

I don't know that I would use a jumper wire. I'm not sure that it is just a straight jumper. If you can verify that is all that it is then I suppose you could, but I've never seen one opened up.

That's probably why your engine does not run right.
The ECU cannot advance the timing with the spout connector out.
Trojan Horse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 05:16 PM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
Supporter
 
93slowstang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Walker
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 3,436
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trojan Horse
I don't know that I would use a jumper wire. I'm not sure that it is just a straight jumper. If you can verify that is all that it is then I suppose you could, but I've never seen one opened up.

That's probably why your engine does not run right.
The ECU cannot advance the timing with the spout connector out.
You can use a jumper wire, or a fork terminal. All it does is complete the circuit.
__________________


93 GT with more junkyard mods than you can imagine.
90 GT bone stock down to the air filter, awaiting restoration.
Join Mustang Evolution today. Click here
93slowstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 05:28 PM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
thomas91gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Alabama
Posts: 67
Yea it was the distributor replaced now does great but my friend lost the spout connector it had one before the install
thomas91gt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 09:58 PM   #16
Registered Member
Regular
 
thomas91gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Alabama
Posts: 67
Anyone have an idea why my factory tach would be malfunctioning after I put a distributor in it. Its at 0 then if I start it, it's at 4000 its clearly not idling that high i would guess its actually around 900 then rev it up it barely moves it it might go up to 5000 Then it bounces when u turn it off

---------- Post added at 08:58 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:56 PM ----------

O and I did get another spout connector from a fellow stanger
thomas91gt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1979-1995 Mustang GT

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



11:44 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.