My new harmonic balancer does not have timing marks like my old one did! - Page 4 - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1979-1995 Mustang GT



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 07-15-2012, 08:55 AM   #106
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Illinois
Posts: 776
Definitely!
JayKranz is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-15-2012, 09:14 AM   #107
Lorraine's driver

Regular
 
ab_mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indianapolis
Region: Indiana
Posts: 7,863
Good luck bro!
__________________
Instagram: @ab_mach1
ab_mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 09:59 AM   #108
It's not me, it's you.
Regular
Supporter
 
primer2tone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Corpus Christi
Region: Texas
Posts: 6,752
Holy****! This thread is barely 2 days old and already 8 pages! Lol
primer2tone is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-15-2012, 10:03 AM   #109
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Indiana
Posts: 8,044
Quote:
Originally Posted by primer2tone
Holy****! This thread is barely 2 days old and already 8 pages! Lol
us fox guys rally together when someone is in need of help!
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 10:29 AM   #110
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Illinois
Posts: 776
Thankfully

---------- Post added at 10:29 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:26 AM ----------

And I'm always in trouble!
JayKranz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 10:31 AM   #111
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Indiana
Posts: 8,044
Quote:
Originally Posted by JayKranz
Thankfully

---------- Post added at 10:29 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:26 AM ----------

And I'm always in trouble!
yeah man. you seem to have some terrible luck. i have similar luck sometimes, but not as bad. lol . so i feel for ya.
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 10:33 AM   #112
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Illinois
Posts: 776
It'll all work out in the end. It always does.
JayKranz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 10:38 AM   #113
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Indiana
Posts: 8,044
yes it will. and it will be a beast. especially once you can throw some heads on there.
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 12:25 PM   #114
Road Trip!
Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Region: Missouri
Posts: 8,779
Re: My new harmonic balancer does not have timing marks like my old one did!

Quote:
Originally Posted by dreamstang View Post
You will also need more gaskets to. I wouldn't take the chance of reusing them at this point.
Unless your head gaskets are the "reusable" MLS.
Trojan Horse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 12:30 PM   #115
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Indiana
Posts: 8,044
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trojan Horse

Unless your head gaskets are the "reusable" MLS.
He's running the felpro 9333's.
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 12:37 PM   #116
Road Trip!
Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Region: Missouri
Posts: 8,779
Re: My new harmonic balancer does not have timing marks like my old one did!

Quote:
Originally Posted by dreamstang View Post
He's running the felpro 9333's.
My bad.

Toss them out.
Trojan Horse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 05:46 PM   #117
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Illinois
Posts: 776
Put it back together. Started fine, after about 15 seconds it didn't build oil pressure. I shut it off. Then I checked oil levels everything looked good. I then restarted the car and no leaks or anything but the valve train has some noise almost like it may not be getting oil.
JayKranz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 05:49 PM   #118
Forum Car Trader
Regular
 
90GTNovi2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 1,150
Make a video next start up
__________________
90GTNovi2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 05:52 PM   #119
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Indiana
Posts: 8,044
Quote:
Originally Posted by JayKranz
Put it back together. Started fine, after about 15 seconds it didn't build oil pressure. I shut it off. Then I checked oil levels everything looked good. I then restarted the car and no leaks or anything but the valve train has some noise almost like it may not be getting oil.
did you have oil pressure when you refired? you maynot have oil pressure instantly since its essentially a new motor.

there is a trick. you actually probably should have done this before fire up. but you can do this to verify you are geting oil. take a valve cover off, and pull the distributor cap. use a reversible drill, in reverse. and spin the distributor to drive the oil pump. now off course it wont spray oil everywhere because a drill spins so slow. but it will take a few seconds and you should start to see oil come out on your rockers.

also its common that you may have to retighten your rockers.
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 05:54 PM   #120
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Illinois
Posts: 776
Okay

---------- Post added at 05:54 PM ---------- Previous post was at 05:53 PM ----------

I ha oil pressure yesterday and then the first time I fired it up today.
JayKranz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 05:55 PM   #121
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Indiana
Posts: 8,044
oops hold on

---------- Post added at 05:55 PM ---------- Previous post was at 05:54 PM ----------

i forgot you need an old distributor to do that with no cam gear on it. sorry. but you can pull the valve cover and see if its spraying oil. have someone near by to see. so you can shut it back off before it makes a mess.
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 05:58 PM   #122
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Illinois
Posts: 776
U can't get a valve cover off on these without removing the intake can you?
JayKranz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 05:59 PM   #123
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Indiana
Posts: 8,044
honestly i dont remember. i have a carbed setup.
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 06:03 PM   #124
Forum Car Trader
Regular
 
90GTNovi2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 1,150
Doubtful with all the turbo and intake tubing
__________________
90GTNovi2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 06:07 PM   #125
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Indiana
Posts: 8,044
it will be worth it though to play it safe after everything you have went through. make suremyou are getting oil!
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 07:00 PM   #126
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Illinois
Posts: 776
I'm done, just gonna pull it
JayKranz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 07:05 PM   #127
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Indiana
Posts: 8,044
that may be your best bet.

and hope everything works out better next round,
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 07:14 PM   #128
Road Trip!
Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Region: Missouri
Posts: 8,779
Re: My new harmonic balancer does not have timing marks like my old one did!

If it does not have an aftermarket oil pump drive shaft, you should get one. The factory ones are notoriously weak.

You should also always prime the oil system of an engine after it has been rebuilt or if it sets for very long before starting it. Otherwise you are starting up on dry bearings and damage will occur.
Trojan Horse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 07:47 PM   #129
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Illinois
Posts: 776
Yeah, that's probably what happened.
JayKranz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 09:16 AM   #130
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Illinois
Posts: 776
Should I put my stock cam in this engine? It has a Lunati one now.
JayKranz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 09:24 AM   #131
Road Trip!
Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Region: Missouri
Posts: 8,779
Re: My new harmonic balancer does not have timing marks like my old one did!

Quote:
Originally Posted by JayKranz View Post
Should I put my stock cam in this engine? It has a Lunati one now.
Go to CamQuest and input your engine info.
Then see how closely the cams they choose for you match the specs on the Lunati.
When I put in all of my info for my engine and the Novi SC, their cam choice specs are almost identical to the X303 I have, so I'm going to give it a try and see how it works.
Trojan Horse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 08:24 PM   #132
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Illinois
Posts: 776
It's a modest Lunati cam similar to a b303 I believe. Would I be able to use my stock size push rods?

I got my engine out and apart today.

Everything looks good still. Ordering a mew oil pump now.

Is the oil pick supposed to be very close to the bottom of the pan?
JayKranz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 08:45 PM   #133
Lorraine's driver

Regular
 
ab_mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indianapolis
Region: Indiana
Posts: 7,863
Glad to hear the engine looks good now that you have it apart.
__________________
Instagram: @ab_mach1
ab_mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 08:47 PM   #134
Forum Car Trader
Regular
 
90GTNovi2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 1,150
Yes it's pretty close! Have you pulled a piston?
__________________
90GTNovi2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 08:50 PM   #135
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Indiana
Posts: 8,044
if its similar to a b303, i would leave it in there.

i wonder if there is a way to check the rings with it apart? maybe fill the cylinders with kerosen? or oil and see if it stays there? idk, just wondering if there is a way to check.
but then again why not pull it all the way apart
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 08:51 PM   #136
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Illinois
Posts: 776
I don't have the heads off and my compression was good. What do you think?
JayKranz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 08:53 PM   #137
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Indiana
Posts: 8,044
did you still have oil in the intake the last time you fired it? and did you check compression on every cylinder?
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 09:27 PM   #138
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Illinois
Posts: 776
I checked every cylinder and I didn't have oil until after the lifters started making noise.

What's the gap that should be between the oil pan and the bottom of the pick up tube?
JayKranz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 09:35 PM   #139
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Indiana
Posts: 8,044
3/8-1/2" usually
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 09:44 PM   #140
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Illinois
Posts: 776
I have no where near that! Probably part of the problem. It looks like my pick up tube is on the bottom on the pan. The pan depth is 7.25, and the pick up is very slightly less than that.
JayKranz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1979-1995 Mustang GT

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



05:05 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.