My new harmonic balancer does not have timing marks like my old one did! - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1979-1995 Mustang GT



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 07-12-2012, 09:03 PM   #1
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Illinois
Posts: 776
My new harmonic balancer does not have timing marks like my old one did!

ow do I identify base timing with this balancer? It says 90,180,270,360

---------- Post added at 09:03 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:01 PM ----------

I think it's at tdc now, but????
JayKranz is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-13-2012, 06:51 AM   #2
Road Trip!
Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Region: Missouri
Posts: 8,779
re: My new harmonic balancer does not have timing marks like my old one did!

Quote:
Originally Posted by JayKranz View Post
ow do I identify base timing with this balancer? It says 90,180,270,360

---------- Post added at 09:03 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:01 PM ----------

I think it's at tdc now, but????
It doesn't have the degrees mapped out on the side? Usually 0-30 or so.


90 is 90° from TDC. It's marked that way to simplify valve adjustments and whatnot.
Trojan Horse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2012, 06:55 AM   #3
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Illinois
Posts: 776
Oh, in the case I'm still confused on how to find my 10 degree stock base timing. It is at tdc now.

---------- Post added at 06:54 AM ---------- Previous post was at 06:53 AM ----------

I'm trying to get it started this morning. I'm sure this is not hard I've just never done it and am having a serious brain fart.

---------- Post added at 06:55 AM ---------- Previous post was at 06:54 AM ----------

slight surface rust maybe I'll steel wool it.
JayKranz is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-13-2012, 07:01 AM   #4
Road Trip!
Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Region: Missouri
Posts: 8,779
re: My new harmonic balancer does not have timing marks like my old one did!

Quote:
Originally Posted by JayKranz View Post
Oh, in the case I'm still confused on how to find my 10 degree stock base timing. It is at tdc now.

---------- Post added at 06:54 AM ---------- Previous post was at 06:53 AM ----------

I'm trying to get it started this morning. I'm sure this is not hard I've just never done it and am having a serious brain fart.

---------- Post added at 06:55 AM ---------- Previous post was at 06:54 AM ----------

slight surface rust maybe I'll steel wool it.
Just advance the distributor a tiny bit, snug it down and start the engine. You will need to do the final adjustment with it running, using a timing light.


P.S. It is confusing and a bit hard to learn when you are doing it for the first time.
Trojan Horse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2012, 07:02 AM   #5
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Illinois
Posts: 776
Advance = Clock wise?
JayKranz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2012, 07:05 AM   #6
Road Trip!
Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Region: Missouri
Posts: 8,779
re: My new harmonic balancer does not have timing marks like my old one did!

Quote:
Originally Posted by JayKranz View Post
Advance = Clock wise?
Counter Clockwise
Always in the same direction the distributor turns. When you advance you are making it fire sooner than it normally would.
Trojan Horse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2012, 07:07 AM   #7
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Illinois
Posts: 776
Okay
JayKranz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2012, 07:08 AM   #8
Road Trip!
Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Region: Missouri
Posts: 8,779
re: My new harmonic balancer does not have timing marks like my old one did!

Good luck!
Trojan Horse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2012, 08:44 AM   #9
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Indiana
Posts: 8,044
I know your firing it today. But I have some timing tape. It's made to put on the crank so you can see the marks very well. I can send it to you for free if you want. But it may take a few days to get. Or a local speed shop may have it.
If you can't read the marks you won't be able to time it. If you cann see them a little, you maybe just able to use a paint stick or something and mark the 10* btdc on the crank. Then when your light is flashing you can just line it up to the paint stick mark.
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2012, 09:56 AM   #10
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Illinois
Posts: 776
I used steel wool and can barely see it. Thankyou


Do I turn it to 10btdc(left of zero) then drop the distributor in?
JayKranz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2012, 10:15 AM   #11
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Indiana
Posts: 8,044
The mark will be before top dead center. So when you turning crank clockwise you will stop before 0, which will be to the right of 0.

Mark you 10 mark like I mentioned with something before you time with a light like I mentioned. It will help tremendously.
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2012, 02:21 PM   #12
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Illinois
Posts: 776
Can't get it started! I'm sure I'm doin the timing wrong. How do I get back to tdc when the engine is in the car? I can't turn the crank anymore?
JayKranz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2012, 02:37 PM   #13
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Indiana
Posts: 8,044
The crank is just harder to turn since the spark plugs are in. You can still.turn it over but it take a lot of force. You can either have someone bump the starter while you watch, or take the plugs out.

You need to be on tdc on compression stroke. If you hold your finger over the #1 spark plug hole and turn the motor over, you can feel the compression. It will blow a lot of air out of the hole. When that happens you are on the right stroke. Then continue to your mark after you feel the compression.
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2012, 02:46 PM   #14
Road Trip!
Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Region: Missouri
Posts: 8,779
re: My new harmonic balancer does not have timing marks like my old one did!

Quote:
Originally Posted by JayKranz View Post
Can't get it started! I'm sure I'm doin the timing wrong. How do I get back to tdc when the engine is in the car? I can't turn the crank anymore?
What do you mean you can't turn the crank?


You have to rotate the crank to where the #1 cylinder is coming up on the compression stroke and set it to TDC at the timing pointer. Try to not go past TDC. If you do you have to make a couple of more turns to get it back up to TDC. Do not go backwards with the crank when setting the initial timing.

Hahaha! I started typing that then got distracted. looks like you beat me to it.
Trojan Horse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2012, 02:50 PM   #15
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Illinois
Posts: 776
I'm just gonna go fishing for awhile and come back to it. Just frustrated.
JayKranz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2012, 03:11 PM   #16
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Indiana
Posts: 8,044
Quote:
Originally Posted by JayKranz
I'm just gonna go fishing for awhile and come back to it. Just frustrated.
Sometimes that's the best thing to do. Re gather your thoughts. Good luck man. You'll get it.

---------- Post added at 03:06 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:05 PM ----------

Also I forgot to mention. A common mistake is people use the wrong firing order. I forget the year of your car but I'm sure its a newer fox and you need the HO firing order.

---------- Post added at 03:11 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:06 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trojan Horse

What do you mean you can't turn the crank?

You have to rotate the crank to where the #1 cylinder is coming up on the compression stroke and set it to TDC at the timing pointer. Try to not go past TDC. If you do you have to make a couple of more turns to get it back up to TDC. Do not go backwards with the crank when setting the initial timing.

Hahaha! I started typing that then got distracted. looks like you beat me to it.
Haha. I quick drawed ya.
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 06:29 AM   #17
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Illinois
Posts: 776
Okay starting over from scratch. I got a timing gun that has a dial on it. So I seethe car at 0(TDC), then I set the dial on the gun to 0, or to 10?
JayKranz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 06:38 AM   #18
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Indiana
Posts: 8,044
Quote:
Originally Posted by JayKranz
Okay starting over from scratch. I got a timing gun that has a dial on it. So I seethe car at 0(TDC), then I set the dial on the gun to 0, or to 10?
I'm not big on those dial guns and not very experienced with them. But I am pretty sure the way you use them:
Set the dial at 10 then it will flash on the 0. Which means you want to see 0* on the crank when its strobing if the dial is on 10.
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 08:37 AM   #19
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Indiana
Posts: 8,044
Hey jay. If you still are confused about the timing. Get on YouTube.msd has some really nice videos on there that explain the whole process very nicely. I forget what they are called, but may install distributor, or set timing. But you wanna watch the msd videos. They will go step by step, the whole process.
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 01:15 PM   #20
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Illinois
Posts: 776
Got it fired! Timing was 180 off. Next problem it's blowing a lot of white smoke and some oil is coming from the exhaust.
JayKranz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 01:22 PM   #21
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Indiana
Posts: 8,044
White smoke could mean water.

It could be left over junk from assembly. I would let it idle a bit and see if it clears up.

Also don't romp on it till u retune it!!!!!
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 01:28 PM   #22
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Illinois
Posts: 776
There is some oil in my exhaust?
JayKranz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 01:34 PM   #23
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Indiana
Posts: 8,044
Is there? If there is give it a few and it may clear up. Usually on my first fire up I get some smoke. If it doesn't clear up then you'll have to investigate.

Hopefully you head gasket sealed.
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 01:38 PM   #24
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Illinois
Posts: 776
I used FelPro 9333pt1
JayKranz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 01:38 PM   #25
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Indiana
Posts: 8,044
I think that's what I used but I don't remember. Did you use thread sealant on the head bolts?
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 01:40 PM   #26
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Illinois
Posts: 776
Yes studs
JayKranz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 01:42 PM   #27
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Indiana
Posts: 8,044
How long did you let it run?
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 01:46 PM   #28
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Illinois
Posts: 776
2 minutes and then got nervous. About 1cup in my turbo hot pipe coming from exhaust.
JayKranz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 01:57 PM   #29
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Indiana
Posts: 8,044
It's hard saying bud. The best way to check would be to pull a valve cover or if you can just look in an oil fill and breather. Then see if you can see anything.
Then the other check would be a compression test.
It's still hard for me to tell. Sometimes they do smoke a bit on first fire up for a few minutes though.

That's all I got. Hopefully everything good.

---------- Post added at 01:57 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:52 PM ----------

Also check your oil and coolant to make sure they aren't mixing. But I'm not sure if 2 minutes would be enough to in know or not. But easy check.
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 02:21 PM   #30
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Illinois
Posts: 776
Making valve train noise now
JayKranz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 02:43 PM   #31
Road Trip!
Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Region: Missouri
Posts: 8,779
re: My new harmonic balancer does not have timing marks like my old one did!

Quote:
Originally Posted by JayKranz View Post
Making valve train noise now
That and the other issues do not sound good.
How is the oil pressure and is it contaminated with coolant?
Trojan Horse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 02:59 PM   #32
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Illinois
Posts: 776
No coolant but just took my upper intake off and there is lots of oil in it?
JayKranz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 03:05 PM   #33
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Indiana
Posts: 8,044
do you have you pcv and screen for it in place?
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 03:09 PM   #34
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Illinois
Posts: 776
yup, I just got the passenger valve cover of and all but one of my rocket has play
JayKranz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 03:14 PM   #35
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Indiana
Posts: 8,044
you have stock rockers? i dont remember the procedure for tightening them.
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1979-1995 Mustang GT

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



03:24 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.