Got it running! 331 Stroker Turbo - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1979-1995 Mustang GT



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 07-22-2012, 09:15 PM   #1
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Illinois
Posts: 776
Got it running! 331 Stroker Turbo

It ran! I have oil pressure. I set the timing. I put the spout connected back in and now I can't get it to start again

JayKranz is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-22-2012, 09:33 PM   #2
Forum Car Trader
Regular
 
90GTNovi2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 1,150
HELL YEAH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! now tomorrow time for engine break in then oil change again!!! That's sweet just some lil bugs to work out. When are you getting it tuned?
__________________
90GTNovi2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 09:35 PM   #3
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Illinois
Posts: 776
Hopefully next weekend.

---------- Post added at 09:35 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:34 PM ----------

What should I do for break in?
JayKranz is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-22-2012, 09:37 PM   #4
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Indiana
Posts: 8,044
Still sounds like timing to me. Did you shut the car to put the spout back in?

Also could he a vacuum leak.

And congratulations! No for the debugging phase.
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 09:39 PM   #5
Forum Car Trader
Regular
 
90GTNovi2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 1,150
A new debate... Warm it up to operating temp and lightly drive or leave it running for about a hr. change oil with a strainer check for signs of engine shavings etc.... Fill it back up and run it for a while keep an eye on your oil I'd say give it 400 or so miles and it should be ready for WOT.. But I wanna see what TH says
__________________
90GTNovi2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 09:42 PM   #6
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Illinois
Posts: 776
Could be vacuum. I think you are right with timing though. I set it to 10btdc and it ran but not great. I'm gonna set it back to 0 and then ten and leave it til my tuner calls me back. Could he have put something in my SCT chip that would make it not start if I set to ten and then put the spout connector back in?
JayKranz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 09:47 PM   #7
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Indiana
Posts: 8,044
Quote:
Originally Posted by 90GTNovi2000
A new debate... Warm it up to operating temp and lightly drive or leave it running for about a hr. change oil with a strainer check for signs of engine shavings etc.... Fill it back up and run it for a while keep an eye on your oil I'd say give it 400 or so miles and it should be ready for WOT.. But I wanna see what TH says
I agree with that. But I may even wait until the tuner gets her to.
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 09:48 PM   #8
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Illinois
Posts: 776
Yeah, I probably shouldn't mess with it now that I know that it can run.
JayKranz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 09:49 PM   #9
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Indiana
Posts: 8,044
Quote:
Originally Posted by JayKranz
Could be vacuum. I think you are right with timing though. I set it to 10btdc and it ran but not great. I'm gonna set it back to 0 and then ten and leave it til my tuner calls me back. Could he have put something in my SCT chip that would make it not start if I set to ten and then put the spout connector back in?
The chip may very well control certain timing events. I'm not exactly sure how they work or what's been programmed. At this point you may as well let the tuner handle it.
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 10:01 PM   #10
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Illinois
Posts: 776
okay
JayKranz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 11:04 PM   #11
Road Trip!
Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Region: Missouri
Posts: 8,779
re: Got it running! 331 Stroker Turbo

First have it tuned before you drive it much at all and make sure it does not detonate. I don't think the chip has anything to do with it not starting after you put the spout back in, but I guess it could be possible.


Take it easy for about the first 300-500 miles, running it up and down through the RPM range and go through several heating and cooling cycles without going to WOT for the first 100-200 miles. Then after 500 miles change the oil/filter and drive it like you intend to. The oils and metals used today are much better than what used to be available, so the break in shouldn't take long. You could even take some hot compression readings before and after to check on how well the rings are seating in if you wanted to.

P.S. Make sure you have good crankcase ventilation. You don't want it to over pressurize and blow out the seals and gaskets.
Trojan Horse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 11:06 PM   #12
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Illinois
Posts: 776
Cool thanks! First I gotta get it to start again
JayKranz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 11:08 PM   #13
Road Trip!
Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Region: Missouri
Posts: 8,779
re: Got it running! 331 Stroker Turbo

It still sounded like the lifters/rockers were rattling quite a bit.Since that plug was left out of the back of the block are you sure the ones in the front oil galleys were installed?
Trojan Horse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 11:10 PM   #14
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Illinois
Posts: 776
I "think" so. My oil pressure was good too.

---------- Post added at 11:10 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:09 PM ----------

I kept checking oil levels also and I didn't have any disappear.
JayKranz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 11:17 PM   #15
Road Trip!
Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Region: Missouri
Posts: 8,779
re: Got it running! 331 Stroker Turbo

Ok, just keep an eye on the pressure and maybe they just need a bit longer to warm up and wear in.
Trojan Horse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 11:18 PM   #16
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Illinois
Posts: 776
It only ran for about ten seconds longer than the video.

---------- Post added at 11:18 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:17 PM ----------

I hope so. I'm gonna light in on fire if it doesn't work this time
JayKranz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 06:36 PM   #17
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Illinois
Posts: 776
Got it running again today, a little longer this time. I have oil pressure, engine temp, no leaks, almost no smoke left. She sounds mean! I have the timing at ten btdc, but it doesn't idle very high. 500-600 rpm and them after a couple minutes dies.

No valve train noise btw!!!!!
JayKranz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 06:57 PM   #18
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Indiana
Posts: 8,044
Quote:
Originally Posted by JayKranz
Got it running again today, a little longer this time. I have oil pressure, engine temp, no leaks, almost no smoke left. She sounds mean! I have the timing at ten btdc, but it doesn't idle very high. 500-600 rpm and them after a couple minutes dies.

No valve train noise btw!!!!!
Sweet man. I think its definitely tuner guy time. Just don't get impatient on us. You have to be very very careful with compression ratio.
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 07:01 PM   #19
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Illinois
Posts: 776
I took the waste gate spring out = 0 boost Not taking any chances. I spoke with Mike(Tuner) today. I need to add meth injection with my compression then I can safely run 5lbs of boost until I get aluminum heads with a bigger cc.

I do need to get it to run more than a few minutes though.
JayKranz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 07:31 PM   #20
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Indiana
Posts: 8,044
Quote:
Originally Posted by JayKranz
I took the waste gate spring out = 0 boost Not taking any chances. I spoke with Mike(Tuner) today. I need to add meth injection with my compression then I can safely run 5lbs of boost until I get aluminum heads with a bigger cc.

I do need to get it to run more than a few minutes though.
Very true. Get it running a little better first. It will be a little safer with 0. Lost. But you still need to be a little cautious with that high compression.
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 08:18 PM   #21
Forum Car Trader
Regular
 
90GTNovi2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 1,150
Dam I would buy some decent heads off the net.. How much is a meth injection setup?
__________________
90GTNovi2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 08:20 PM   #22
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Illinois
Posts: 776
Heads are a winter project. The meth kit is $325 from snow performance.
JayKranz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 08:33 PM   #23
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Indiana
Posts: 8,044
I say wait on slowstang for his head Jo. He is gonna do. He is gonna use flotek heads. They are very well priced. If they do good for him, it maybe easir on the wallet.
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 08:39 PM   #24
Road Trip!
Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Region: Missouri
Posts: 8,779
re: Got it running! 331 Stroker Turbo

Quote:
Originally Posted by JayKranz View Post
Got it running again today, a little longer this time. I have oil pressure, engine temp, no leaks, almost no smoke left. She sounds mean! I have the timing at ten btdc, but it doesn't idle very high. 500-600 rpm and them after a couple minutes dies.

No valve train noise btw!!!!!
Fantastic! You may have to do a base idle reset since you have a few more cubes now.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dreamstang View Post
Sweet man. I think its definitely tuner guy time. Just don't get impatient on us. You have to be very very careful with compression ratio.

That's a definite. One little bit of detonation can be very bad.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JayKranz View Post
Heads are a winter project. The meth kit is $325 from snow performance.

The Snow kit is a great kit, but it's expensive.
I'm going to use the AFM Mr. Freeze kit which is around $189.
I have heard that some don't like it and claim that it uses too much methanol mix, but I believe that is because they don't have it jetted properly.
The "jets" are nothing more than MIG welder tips, so you could fab your own in custom sizes if you need to fine tune your mix.
Trojan Horse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 09:13 PM   #25
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Illinois
Posts: 776
Base Idle Reset?

---------- Post added at 09:13 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:10 PM ----------

Does this look like good instructions?

http://www.moddedmustangs.com/forums...dle-reset.html
JayKranz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 09:35 PM   #26
Road Trip!
Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Region: Missouri
Posts: 8,779
re: Got it running! 331 Stroker Turbo

Quote:
Originally Posted by JayKranz View Post
Base Idle Reset?

---------- Post added at 09:13 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:10 PM ----------

Does this look like good instructions?

5.0 Base Idle Reset
Yes, Joel 5.0 is very knowledgeable and I would trust his instructions even if they vary from the manufacturers.
Trojan Horse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 09:40 PM   #27
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Illinois
Posts: 776
cool
JayKranz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 09:56 PM   #28
Road Trip!
Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Region: Missouri
Posts: 8,779
Re: Got it running! 331 Stroker Turbo

Quote:
Originally Posted by JayKranz View Post
cool
Joel is one of the best 5.0 Fox Body techs you will find on the net.
I have learned quite a bit from him over the years.
Anytime you have something you want to look up or check and I can't help you for whatever reason, look for posts about your issue in his name. You can be assured his recommendations and answers will be correct.
Trojan Horse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 09:57 PM   #29
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Illinois
Posts: 776
Definitely! Thanks
JayKranz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 05:47 PM   #30
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Illinois
Posts: 776
Got here car started right up. Let it idle for a few. It was rough. Shut it off, now it won't restart. It the weirdest thing.
JayKranz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 06:20 PM   #31
Road Trip!
Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Region: Missouri
Posts: 8,779
Re: Got it running! 331 Stroker Turbo

Quote:
Originally Posted by JayKranz View Post
Got here car started right up. Let it idle for a few. It was rough. Shut it off, now it won't restart. It the weirdest thing.
Are you sure your fuel pressure, timing and distributor wiring are correct? Is the MAF ok? Wondering if it spit any oil out to it maybe?
Did you change cams or not? If so maybe the cam you used has the older firing order?

Just thinking, grasping at straws so to speak.
Trojan Horse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 07:00 PM   #32
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Illinois
Posts: 776
Yeah, distributor is good. My mag looks clean and it's in a spot difficult for oil to get too since it welded in to the cold side of the piping. Timing is good I had checked it again while it was running.

---------- Post added at 06:25 PM ---------- Previous post was at 06:24 PM ----------

Cam is aftermarket Lunati that comes with the modern Holley top end kit. I would think it'd be okay plus it's been running.

---------- Post added at 06:25 PM ---------- Previous post was at 06:25 PM ----------

I can smell gas so?

---------- Post added at 07:00 PM ---------- Previous post was at 06:25 PM ----------

I am definitely getting too much fuel. Can't figure out why though.
JayKranz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 07:18 PM   #33
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Indiana
Posts: 8,044
Is it idling high?

If any sensors aren't right they may take the ecu into an open loop. Which is usually rich at idle. Also could be a vacuum leak.
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 07:28 PM   #34
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Illinois
Posts: 776
low idle

---------- Post added at 07:26 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:25 PM ----------

There's only four or five vacuum lines and I can't find a leak. So frustrating.

---------- Post added at 07:28 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:26 PM ----------

If my oxygen sensors were covered in oil could that cause this?
JayKranz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 09:00 PM   #35
Road Trip!
Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Region: Missouri
Posts: 8,779
Re: Got it running! 331 Stroker Turbo

Quote:
Originally Posted by JayKranz View Post
low idle

---------- Post added at 07:26 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:25 PM ----------

There's only four or five vacuum lines and I can't find a leak. So frustrating.

---------- Post added at 07:28 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:26 PM ----------

If my oxygen sensors were covered in oil could that cause this?
Yeah, that would do it.
Trojan Horse is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1979-1995 Mustang GT

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



03:56 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.