Tissues for my issues... - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1979-1995 Mustang GT



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 08-04-2012, 06:41 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
91notchback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 493
Tissues for my issues...

My car isn't wanting to idle. And when you do give it gas, it backfires through the (throttle body?) All stock motor. From what I can gather from reading around on here, it's probably either fuel, air fuel mixture, or timing issues. Can someone give me some steps to pin this issue down please?
91notchback is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-04-2012, 07:19 PM   #2
Road Trip!
Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Region: Missouri
Posts: 8,779
Re: Tissues for my issues...

Quote:
Originally Posted by 91notchback View Post
My car isn't wanting to idle. And when you do give it gas, it backfires through the (throttle body?) All stock motor. From what I can gather from reading around on here, it's probably either fuel, air fuel mixture, or timing issues. Can someone give me some steps to pin this issue down please?
Start by checking your timing, then check the fuel pressure.
If you do not know how and don't already have one, buy you a Chiltons manual for your car.
Be sure to get one with the wiring diagrams as they can be very useful in case of wiring issues.


Timing should be 10° BTDC, stock setting.
Fuel pressure should be 38-40 psi at idle with the vacuum line removed and plugged.
Trojan Horse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2012, 07:24 PM   #3
Road Trip!
Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Region: Missouri
Posts: 8,779
Re: Tissues for my issues...

Sorry, forgot the tissues.

Trojan Horse is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-04-2012, 07:36 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
91notchback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 493
Haha. Nice! I guess that will be on my list for tomorrow, if I can convince my wife that it's far too hot for yard work. Thanks for your help Trojan!
91notchback is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2012, 07:56 PM   #5
Forum Car Trader
Regular
 
90GTNovi2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 1,150
That's a badass tissue box JS..
__________________
90GTNovi2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2012, 09:20 PM   #6
Road Trip!
Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Region: Missouri
Posts: 8,779
Re: Tissues for my issues...

Quote:
Originally Posted by 91notchback View Post
Haha. Nice! I guess that will be on my list for tomorrow, if I can convince my wife that it's far too hot for yard work. Thanks for your help Trojan!
You are welcome and good luck with your project.
Quote:
Originally Posted by 90GTNovi2000 View Post
That's a badass tissue box JS..

Yes, it is for the manly men eh?
Trojan Horse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 11:27 AM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
91notchback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 493
Just went and bought a timing light. I can't find any thing in my Chilton's manual about setting timing. Am I supposed to be looking at the circle bracket by the harmonic balancer or the flat piece? Does anything need to be unplugged when I am checking? All of my other toys, I had relied on expensive auto shops. Really trying to troubleshoot and fix on this one on my own. More satisfying and WAY cheaper!!lol
91notchback is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 01:11 PM   #8
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Indiana
Posts: 8,044
The timing marker is located around 10-11 o'clock above the harmonic balancer.
It's very easy to do. The procedure is definitely in your Hilton's. Search for ignition timing. Also there is a procedure in the useful mustang information thread located in the stickies section.
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 04:51 PM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
91notchback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 493
I crawled under there and put a white mark at 12 degrees BTDC because I knew I'd never be able to

---------- Post added at 04:51 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:46 PM ----------

Oops! So anyways. I put a mark at 12 degrees BTDC. With the spout connector pulled. It sounded bad. Put the spout connector in and it sounded better, but was way to the right of my white line. Guessing I'm gonna figure out what I need to test fuel pressure and get that tomorrow.
91notchback is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 05:00 PM   #10
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Indiana
Posts: 8,044
Quote:
Originally Posted by 91notchback
I crawled under there and put a white mark at 12 degrees BTDC because I knew I'd never be able to

---------- Post added at 04:51 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:46 PM ----------

Oops! So anyways. I put a mark at 12 degrees BTDC. With the spout connector pulled. It sounded bad. Put the spout connector in and it sounded better, but was way to the right of my white line. Guessing I'm gonna figure out what I need to test fuel pressure and get that tomorrow.
ok first. you check timing with the spout connector out. but you remove and installmthe spout only with the vehicle off. so basically.

with engine off remove spout and loosen distributor hold down bolt.

start engine. and turn the distributor until the timing marker lines up with you white line (12 btdc). just so there is no confusion the 12 btdc is to the right of 0*

after marks lined up shut off engine. tighten up hold down bolt. and reinstall spout.
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 09:02 AM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
91notchback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 493
I have new plugs in gapped at .054 (Ford spec and spec I got for Motorcraft plugs from parts store.) I was reading around and seen some people saying they don't gap over .040 with factory ignition. Going to re-run through timing procedure and check fuel pressure today. Does anybody think that I should re-gap to .040 first?
91notchback is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 09:08 AM   #12
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Indiana
Posts: 8,044
The theory is the wider the gap the better spark. With an aftermarket ignition system you can get away with a little larger gap. Usually the only people I know running a .040 gap are forced induction guys. Anywhere from 48-54 should be fine. If you are having problems sparking at that gap them you may have a weak coil.
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 11:05 AM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
91notchback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 493
Just did the loan-a-tool from AutoZone for the fuel pressure tester. It came with a lot of stuff!!lol Fixin to go home and look at my Chilton's manual and try to figure it all out.
91notchback is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 11:52 AM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
91notchback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 493
Is this the correct place/way to check fuel pressure? Cause if so, I'm screwed!lol
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1707765866.jpg
Views:	111
Size:	495.2 KB
ID:	62786  
91notchback is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 11:53 AM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
91notchback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 493
I also read that the duel pump relay was supposed to be under the seat. All I found was two empty terminals that don't go together...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-134529568.jpg
Views:	110
Size:	583.6 KB
ID:	62787  
91notchback is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 12:27 PM   #16
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Indiana
Posts: 8,044
What's the pressure? You can also check it at the rails.

---------- Post added at 12:27 PM ---------- Previous post was at 12:25 PM ----------

If there is no relay, then someone either wired in there own some where else. Or wired the pump with no relay. Or you just don't have one.lol

Does the pump kick on?
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 01:01 PM   #17
Registered Member
Regular
 
91notchback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 493
The pump comes on but dosent ever shut off. I'm sure they rigged it up like they did on a lot of this car!lol I've spent a lot of time and money redoing their work instead of fun parts. I can't get it to read a pressure so I figure I'm doin something wrong as hell..
91notchback is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 01:05 PM   #18
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Indiana
Posts: 8,044
You should get pressure there. If you push in the center of the valve does it spray fuel? Kinda like a letting air out of a tire.

Also if you don't get fuel there try pulling the hose on the "in" side of the filter and see if it sprays fuel. I would be careful and use a bucket to catch what u loose. Also may help to get it ready and have someone pull turn the key. This way you can pin point where you are loosing pressure.
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 02:22 PM   #19
Registered Member
Regular
 
91notchback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 493
Getting fuel to and through fuel filter for sure....lots of it!!lol
91notchback is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 02:24 PM   #20
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Indiana
Posts: 8,044
Ok. Then if your not getting fuel at the Schrader valve then you have a kink somewhere in your lines. Did you push in the center of the valve?
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 02:29 PM   #21
Registered Member
Regular
 
91notchback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 493
Yes I did. Fuel just barely dribbled out. Not sure what's supposed to come out, but this was not Old Faithful by any means.
91notchback is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 02:36 PM   #22
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Indiana
Posts: 8,044
Then your problem lies somewhere in between the valve and filter.
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 02:50 PM   #23
Registered Member
Regular
 
91notchback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 493
I'm thinking this could be an issue...lol. It looked like soft line to me at first, but at closer look, it almost looks like its crimped on to the hard line coming from tank?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1653417806.jpg
Views:	105
Size:	428.9 KB
ID:	62803   Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3508071706.jpg
Views:	108
Size:	480.5 KB
ID:	62804  

91notchback is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 03:27 PM   #24
Registered Member
Regular
 
91notchback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 493
Thanks for walking me through that man! Really learned a lot!!

---------- Post added at 03:27 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:26 PM ----------

I'll get new hoses and update what the end result was.
91notchback is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 04:06 PM   #25
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Indiana
Posts: 8,044
No problem man. Hopefully that's it. But I would guess it is
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1979-1995 Mustang GT

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



12:19 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.