Motor Dilema - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1979-1995 Mustang GT

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 08-06-2012, 02:54 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular

Region: North Carolina
Motor Dilema

I've been debating this for a few months, wanna see what you guys think. As of now im pushing 548 to the wheels on 14 lbs, however this is on a completely untouched 302 factory block. I've done everything possible that can be done with this motor minus a girdle/tray, it's fully forged etc.. I've already decided to do a rebuild with a dart 351 as my base. Now the question I have, is would you guys keep it as is for now, and wait until the block is destroyed as its only a matter of time, or would you just go ahead and start the rebuild. My only concern with waiting until I blow this motor is I plan on swapping quite a few things over when I do the rebuild, but god knows what the catastrophic blowing off a motor can do to the vehicle/aftermarket parts. So what would some of you guys do?
rwsmith3623 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-06-2012, 03:05 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Oklahoma
Rebuild it
Saucywalnuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 03:23 PM   #3
Road Trip!

Region: Indiana
I say if you can do the rebuild now go for it. Not worth risking catastrophic fauilure one usable parts as you mention.
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-06-2012, 05:07 PM   #4
Forum Car Trader
Regular

Region: Texas
548rwhp on a stock block and bottom end not girdled???? Very confused. Do you have a Dyno sheet? Run down the list of mods? I'm at 420rwhp 483tq on 15psi fully built..
Old 08-06-2012, 09:41 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular

Quote:
Originally Posted by 90GTNovi2000