MAF - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1979-1995 Mustang GT



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 08-13-2012, 01:18 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
Quball19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Indiana
Posts: 339
MAF

Ok, is a 76mm maf only good for so much horsepower? Took my stang back to tuner to open it up, and my air is pegged out at 4.9. They said needed a 90mm to retune it. so just curious
Quball19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-14-2012, 08:19 AM   #2
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Indiana
Posts: 8,044
Sorry I can't fully answer your question and Noone had yet. But I'm not sure if what he told you is 100% legit, but it does make very good sense. Yes a bigger maf will allow more air. But that's all I got.
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 08:31 AM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
5.slow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Region: Delaware
Posts: 270
If your car has forced induction it would probably need the 90mm
5.slow is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-14-2012, 08:33 AM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
Quball19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Indiana
Posts: 339
Ok, thanks for a stab at it Lol.

---------- Post added at 07:33 AM ---------- Previous post was at 07:32 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by 5.slow
If your car has forced induction it would probably need the 90mm
Not forced induction......
Quball19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 08:37 AM   #5
Forum Car Trader
Regular
 
90GTNovi2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 1,150
I don't see why a 90mm would be beneficial.. What cam is in your car? It may be because of the power curve.. Is the shop popular?? Some shops have some out dated equip.. When you pay for a tune sometimes you get what you pay for.. I use HPPracing here in north Texas and they have $100,000 in there tuning equipment and training.
__________________
90GTNovi2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 08:40 AM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
Quball19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Indiana
Posts: 339
Quote:
Originally Posted by 90GTNovi2000
I don't see why a 90mm would be beneficial.. What cam is in your car? It may be because of the power curve.. Is the shop popular?? Some shops have some out dated equip.. When you pay for a tune sometimes you get what you pay for.. I use HPPracing here in north Texas and they have $100,000 in there tuning equipment and training.
Pro dyno tech in Indiana, very good. They are up to date on equipment, and they go train others to run dynos.
Quball19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 08:45 AM   #7
Lorraine's driver

Regular
 
ab_mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indianapolis
Region: Indiana
Posts: 7,863
Don't you need injectors to be basically sized with the air coming in? If you get a bigger MAF, could be possible that he may be lacking in proper amount of fuel?

Maybe your current MAF needs to be calibrated..? Or maybe just cleaned?
__________________
Instagram: @ab_mach1
ab_mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 08:55 AM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
Quball19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Indiana
Posts: 339
Quote:
Originally Posted by Azure
Don't you need injectors to be basically sized with the air coming in? If you get a bigger MAF, could be possible that he may be lacking in proper amount of fuel?

Maybe your current MAF needs to be calibrated..? Or maybe just cleaned?
Car was tuned before with a mild tunr because wasn't broke in yet. It is calibrated to injectors. But air was at its max limit on dyno sheet. Now you all know more then me, but was told that my 76mm maf (bbk) was 4.9,and limit on it is 4.8. The ecu would not let go pass that (does have chip). Now it can't be retuned to get max out of car because needs more air..confused...
Quball19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 09:12 AM   #9
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Indiana
Posts: 8,044
A maf does need to be mated to injector size. But that's kinda irrelevant when a tuner is tuning it. He can reprogram your maf to work with whatever injectors you have. But I don't think it will hurt anything going big on the maf. You say your tuner is reputable, I say give it a shot. Also if your gonna replace the maf then I would look into the one in the stickies. I forget the name of it. But its reprogramable via a laptop. So if you do change you injector size it can be recalibrated at home.

---------- Post added at 09:12 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:07 AM ----------

Abaco maf its called
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 09:12 AM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
Quball19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Indiana
Posts: 339
Quote:
Originally Posted by dreamstang
A maf does need to be mated to injector size. But that's kinda irrelevant when a tuner is tuning it. He can reprogram your maf to work with whatever injectors you have. But I don't think it will hurt anything going big on the maf. You say your tuner is reputable, I say give it a shot. Also if your gonna replace the maf then I would look into the one in the stickies. I forget the name of it. But its reprogramable via a laptop. So if you do change you injector size it can be recalibrated at home.
I will search for it... Thanks
Quball19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 09:13 AM   #11
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Indiana
Posts: 8,044
You can find a link in the useful information thread in the stickies section.
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 09:25 AM   #12
Lorraine's driver

Regular
 
ab_mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indianapolis
Region: Indiana
Posts: 7,863
Re: MAF

Quote:
Originally Posted by dreamstang View Post
A maf does need to be mated to injector size. But that's kinda irrelevant when a tuner is tuning it. He can reprogram your maf to work with whatever injectors you have. But I don't think it will hurt anything going big on the maf. You say your tuner is reputable, I say give it a shot. Also if your gonna replace the maf then I would look into the one in the stickies. I forget the name of it. But its reprogramable via a laptop. So if you do change you injector size it can be recalibrated at home.

---------- Post added at 09:12 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:07 AM ----------

Abaco maf its called
Cool, so they can just tune it with the bigger size MAF.
__________________
Instagram: @ab_mach1
ab_mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 11:21 AM   #13
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Indiana
Posts: 8,044
Quote:
Originally Posted by Azure

Cool, so they can just tune it with the bigger size MAF.
Yuppers. The reason that isn't what most people do is because to pay for a tune just to upgrade injectors isn't really cost efficient. It's cheaper to just buy a matching maf. But in his case he is getting a tune anyways so no reason to upgrade the injectors unless they are maxed out.
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 12:29 PM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
Quball19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Indiana
Posts: 339
Going with a ford lighting 90mm
Quball19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 12:32 PM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
Mmustang01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by 90GTNovi2000
I don't see why a 90mm would be beneficial.. What cam is in your car? It may be because of the power curve.. Is the shop popular?? Some shops have some out dated equip.. When you pay for a tune sometimes you get what you pay for.. I use HPPracing here in north Texas and they have $100,000 in there tuning equipment and training.
Best place for tune a car 👍
__________________
01 gt
Procharger d1
Mmr long block
480 rwhp 450 # of torque
Mmustang01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 12:33 PM   #16
Registered Member
Regular
 
Quball19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Indiana
Posts: 339
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mmustang01

Best place for tune a car ?dc4d
Long way from indiana
Quball19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 06:07 PM   #17
Registered Member
Regular
 
Mmustang01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quball19

Long way from indiana
Sure it is a long drive
I have to drive 6 hrs to get there to tune my car
__________________
01 gt
Procharger d1
Mmr long block
480 rwhp 450 # of torque
Mmustang01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 06:14 PM   #18
Registered Member
Regular
 
Quball19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Indiana
Posts: 339
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mmustang01

Sure it is a long drive
I have to drive 6 hrs to get there to tune my car
Little more then six hours, I just drive 40 mins
Quball19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 07:52 PM   #19
Lorraine's driver

Regular
 
ab_mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indianapolis
Region: Indiana
Posts: 7,863
Quball, are going to the test & tune tomorrow night?
__________________
Instagram: @ab_mach1
ab_mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 08:05 PM   #20
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Indiana
Posts: 8,044
You guys friends azure and q?
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 09:16 PM   #21
Lorraine's driver

Regular
 
ab_mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indianapolis
Region: Indiana
Posts: 7,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by dreamstang
You guys friends azure and q?
He was at the Lucas raceway mustang car show in June. I missed him but seen his car. I'm pretty sure he lives close to Lucas oil raceway like I do. They have a test & tune on Wednesday nights. Starts at 5pm, I think. I'm going this week since I'm feeling better about my tune.
__________________
Instagram: @ab_mach1
ab_mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 06:35 AM   #22
Registered Member
Regular
 
Quball19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Indiana
Posts: 339
Quote:
Originally Posted by Azure
Quball, are going to the test & tune tomorrow night?
No shooting for next week. You going?

---------- Post added at 05:35 AM ---------- Previous post was at 05:33 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Azure

He was at the Lucas raceway mustang car show in June. I missed him but seen his car. I'm pretty sure he lives close to Lucas oil raceway like I do. They have a test & tune on Wednesday nights. Starts at 5pm, I think. I'm going this week since I'm feeling better about my tune.
Yeap sorry missed ya, might try to get out there to watch.
Quball19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 11:37 AM   #23
Road Trip!
Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Region: Missouri
Posts: 8,779
Re: MAF

PMS, Wideband, & an ABACO MAF = Tune it yourself, whenever, wherever and however you need to. You may gasp at the initial cost, but consider how much you pay to have it tuned each time you might want to make a change. It will become cost effective pretty quickly if you make many changes.
Trojan Horse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 12:07 PM   #24
Registered Member
Regular
 
Quball19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Indiana
Posts: 339
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trojan Horse
PMS, Wideband, & an ABACO MAF = Tune it yourself, whenever, wherever and however you need to. You may gasp at the initial cost, but consider how much you pay to have it tuned each time you might want to make a change. It will become cost effective pretty quickly if you make many changes.
Do I look under "abaco maf"? If I have a chip will it still work?
Quball19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 12:18 PM   #25
Road Trip!
Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Region: Missouri
Posts: 8,779
Re: MAF

Quote:
Originally Posted by Quball19 View Post
Do I look under "abaco maf"? If I have a chip will it still work?
When you want to find something that someone has posted try - left click hold and select the words, the right click and choose "Search Google", or at least that's how it works for me.


Here's a link - ABACO MAF

Yes it will work.
Trojan Horse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 12:26 PM   #26
Registered Member
Regular
 
Quball19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Indiana
Posts: 339
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trojan Horse

When you want to find something that someone has posted try - left click hold and select the words, the right click and choose "Search Google", or at least that's how it works for me.

Here's a link - ABACO MAF

Yes it will work.
Thanks again. In phone no right clicking... Lol
Quball19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 12:31 PM   #27
Road Trip!
Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Region: Missouri
Posts: 8,779
Re: MAF

Quote:
Originally Posted by Quball19 View Post
Thanks again. In phone no right clicking... Lol
Ok, I have no advice for that. Hate the phones and minuscule screens, currently using a laptop and not liking it to well either. I need my 24" desktop screen!
Trojan Horse is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1979-1995 Mustang GT

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



04:22 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.