Where can I find a MAF harness? - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1979-1995 Mustang GT



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 09-13-2012, 04:34 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
Moyhuerta's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Region: California
Posts: 118
Where can I find a MAF harness?

I need help finding a MAF harness??? could anyone point me in the right direction?
Moyhuerta is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-14-2012, 01:02 AM   #2
Road Trip!
Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Region: Missouri
Posts: 8,779
Re: MAF harness

RJM Injection Tech
Trojan Horse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 04:39 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
Moyhuerta's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Region: California
Posts: 118
I have another question wen u instal a cold air intake do u have to disconect the battery after u r done for 5 min??
Moyhuerta is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-14-2012, 05:07 PM   #4
Road Trip!
Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Region: Missouri
Posts: 8,779
Re: MAF harness

Quote:
Originally Posted by Moyhuerta View Post
I have another question wen u instal a cold air intake do u have to disconect the battery after u r done for 5 min??
No, it's not necessary for a CAI.
Trojan Horse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 05:10 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
Moyhuerta's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Region: California
Posts: 118
Because my car idles to high its up to 2000rpm nd I changed my MAF nd it still idles high
Moyhuerta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 05:28 PM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
WhiteCobra94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,435
My car was idling 2000rpms after I changed throttle body's the turned out my IAC was bad!
WhiteCobra94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 05:30 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
Moyhuerta's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Region: California
Posts: 118
I now this a stupid question to ask but wat is an iac
Moyhuerta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 05:33 PM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
WhiteCobra94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,435
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moyhuerta
I now this a stupid question to ask but wat is an iac
Idle air control valve

---------- Post added at 04:33 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:31 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiteCobra94

Idle air control valve
The IAC (idle air control ) and TPS (Throttle position sensor) are on the throttle body
WhiteCobra94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 05:36 PM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
Moyhuerta's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Region: California
Posts: 118
Kk now I knoe wat u r talking about...cant I try abd clean it
Moyhuerta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 05:41 PM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
WhiteCobra94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,435
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moyhuerta
Kk now I knoe wat u r talking about...cant I try abd clean it
I sure you can but idk what you would use.
WhiteCobra94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 05:43 PM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
Moyhuerta's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Region: California
Posts: 118
Well I looked it up right now nd u could use carb cleaner
Moyhuerta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 07:00 PM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
91notchback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 493
Make sure you get a spray that's safe for fuel injectors. (Not sure if it will matter in the IAC, but better safe than sorry!) And check your voltage at the TPS. Instructions in the stickies under useful info.
91notchback is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 07:03 PM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
Moyhuerta's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Region: California
Posts: 118
Haha for reals....wat is tps
Moyhuerta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 07:17 PM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
91notchback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 493
Throttle position sensor. It should have .99-.98 volts at closed throttle. As you crank the throttle open it should steadily climb. I believe it shouldn't go over 4.5 volts at wide open throttle. (taking that number off top of my head but it's close) Repeat a few times and see if you come up with similar numbers.

---------- Post added at 07:17 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:09 PM ----------

I had a 95 that would idle around 1800. Made pulling up next to cops and pushin in the clutch....interesting! It was a bad TPS.
91notchback is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 07:20 PM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
Moyhuerta's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Region: California
Posts: 118
Would I have to take off the intake to do dat
Moyhuerta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 07:24 PM   #16
Registered Member
Regular
 
91notchback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 493
No. It's on top of the throttle body.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2865854254.jpg
Views:	91
Size:	426.3 KB
ID:	68540  
91notchback is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 07:29 PM   #17
Registered Member
Regular
 
Moyhuerta's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Region: California
Posts: 118
Wat do u think I should try first
Moyhuerta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 07:42 PM   #18
Registered Member
Regular
 
91notchback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 493
Try one and if it don't work, try the next...lol The only thing that'll get to the bottom of the problem is one thing at a time. Me and WhiteCobra94 were just speaking from experiences we've had. Ones just as good of a starting place as the other.
91notchback is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 07:50 PM   #19
Registered Member
Regular
 
Moyhuerta's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Region: California
Posts: 118
Oh alright ill try both..thanx for the help
Moyhuerta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 07:54 PM   #20
Registered Member
Regular
 
91notchback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 493
Good luck man. I would pick up a Chiltons manual. That and this forum have gotten me through a lot!lol +5.0
91notchback is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 07:56 PM   #21
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Indiana
Posts: 8,044
Quote:
Originally Posted by 91notchback
Good luck man. I would pick up a Chiltons manual. That and this forum have gotten me through a lot!lol +5.0
haha me to. + 5.8
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 08:00 PM   #22
Registered Member
Regular
 
Moyhuerta's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Region: California
Posts: 118
Thanx...i think I am going to get one
Moyhuerta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 10:31 AM   #23
Registered Member
Regular
 
Dion11197's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Region: Texas
Posts: 829
Yeah, the guys on here are great resources!!

Also when you clean the idle air control valve, check the gasket too. After you clean it, if it still idles high all the time and not surging it could be a vacuum leak also. If the idle surges after still, you may need a new idle air control valve. But do the simple inexpensive checks and clean they mentioned first then go from there.
Dion11197 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 12:32 PM   #24
Registered Member
Regular
 
Moyhuerta's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Region: California
Posts: 118
Oh alright thanks man
Moyhuerta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 06:55 AM   #25
Registered Member
Regular
 
Dion11197's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Region: Texas
Posts: 829
Any update?
Dion11197 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 11:08 AM   #26
Registered Member
Regular
 
Moyhuerta's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Region: California
Posts: 118
No not yet ive been busy..but by today or tomarrow I will give u an update
Moyhuerta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 09:51 AM   #27
Registered Member
Regular
 
Dion11197's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Region: Texas
Posts: 829
I know how that goes, lol!
Dion11197 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 04:33 PM   #28
Registered Member
Regular
 
Moyhuerta's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Region: California
Posts: 118
It didnt work my car idles the same it stays at 2000 nd it dosnt go down
Moyhuerta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 04:38 PM   #29
Registered Member
Regular
 
91notchback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 493
What did you try? If your TPS voltage is off, you can drill out the slots and usually fix it without getting a new one.

---------- Post added at 04:38 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:36 PM ----------

The sensor is usually bad only when it gets past that 4.5-5 volts at WOT.
91notchback is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 04:41 PM   #30
Registered Member
Regular
 
Moyhuerta's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Region: California
Posts: 118
Well I try cleaning my iac wit the throttel body cleaner but it didnt work
Moyhuerta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 05:01 PM   #31
Registered Member
Regular
 
91notchback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 493
Now...move on to the next possible solution. It's the only way to clear these things up. And you will pick up a lot of knowledge while you're at it.
91notchback is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 05:02 PM   #32
Registered Member
Regular
 
Moyhuerta's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Region: California
Posts: 118
The problem is dat I dont understand the next thing u guys told me
Moyhuerta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 05:05 PM   #33
Registered Member
Regular
 
91notchback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 493
To check the throttle position sensor, you will need a digital multimeter. (one with instructions will tell you where your leads and dial will need to be.) Not sure if any lend a tool programs do this. If you get that, I will walk you step by step through the process.
91notchback is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 05:13 PM   #34
Registered Member
Regular
 
Moyhuerta's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Region: California
Posts: 118
Im going to have to buy one cus I dont have one wit me
Moyhuerta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 05:19 PM   #35
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Indiana
Posts: 8,044
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moyhuerta
Im going to have to buy one cus I dont have one wit me
its a great investment.
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1979-1995 Mustang GT

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Injectors not pulsing? Otlaw80 1979-1995 Mustang GT 21 07-27-2014 04:12 PM
What it takes for forced induction and much more... dreamstang 1979-1995 Mustang GT 2687 10-31-2012 12:50 PM
Wiring harness question StevieScoops 1979-1995 Mustang GT 2 03-08-2012 06:49 AM
maf Robbie94gt 1979-1995 Mustang GT 7 12-17-2011 08:58 PM
Big problem-easy find, small problem-hard to find Dnraiders General Mustang Discussion 0 08-30-2011 12:10 PM

» Like Us On Facebook



05:51 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.