battery relocation - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1979-1995 Mustang GT



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 09-24-2012, 04:09 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
watson 1025's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Region: Indiana
Posts: 221
battery relocation

I'm planning a 5.0 swap this winter and need to relocate my battery to the hatch sice it is where the intake will be for the 5.0. I know I need 1 negative ground to the block and 1 negative ground to the frame then 1 positive to the starter and 1 positive to the altinator. But do I have to run 2 positives all the way from the back or can I run 1 large gauge and split it in the engine bay?
watson 1025 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-24-2012, 04:59 PM   #2
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Indiana
Posts: 8,044
Quote:
Originally Posted by watson 1025
I'm planning a 5.0 swap this winter and need to relocate my battery to the hatch sice it is where the intake will be for the 5.0. I know I need 1 negative ground to the block and 1 negative ground to the frame then 1 positive to the starter and 1 positive to the altinator. But do I have to run 2 positives all the way from the back or can I run 1 large gauge and split it in the engine bay?
you maybe able to find a schematic online just for that job. also when you google search dont forget to try the image tab.

another option is buying a kit that comes with everything you need and probably instructions.
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 05:09 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
watson 1025's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Region: Indiana
Posts: 221
I looked at kits and I already have most of what iis in the kit in my garage. I googled it but I didn't think of trying the image tab. Thanks for the tip!
watson 1025 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-24-2012, 05:10 PM   #4
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Indiana
Posts: 8,044
Quote:
Originally Posted by watson 1025
I looked at kits and I already have most of what iis in the kit in my garage. I googled it but I didn't think of trying the image tab. Thanks for the tip!
no problem. the image tab is where i find most of my eletrical and vacuum diagrams.
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 05:17 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
watson 1025's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Region: Indiana
Posts: 221
Found a a diagramunder image on google. Thanks! The 5.0 setup is a little different from the 3.8 but I know how to do it now.
watson 1025 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 05:18 PM   #6
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Indiana
Posts: 8,044
your welcome and good luck.
if you need anything else feel free to ask.
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 06:21 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
watson 1025's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Region: Indiana
Posts: 221
I have another question. I was looking at cut off switches and there a ton of different ones! How do I choose the right switch?
watson 1025 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 06:24 PM   #8
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Indiana
Posts: 8,044
as long as the style is what you want at the switch is rated for your system you should ok. but i dont know the rating you need off hand.
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 06:24 PM   #9
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Indiana
Posts: 8,044
also if you are doing this for track/ nhra rules then you will have to check those.
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 06:29 PM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
watson 1025's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Region: Indiana
Posts: 221
As far as my car goes it almost completely stock as far as electrical goes. Just one sub and small amp.
watson 1025 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 06:31 PM   #11
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Indiana
Posts: 8,044
i would probably go by what the wire you are using is rated for. but maybe someone else will chime in with better info.
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 07:41 PM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
watson 1025's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Region: Indiana
Posts: 221
I finally narrowed it down on summit with a little research. I found a few diagrams and the biggest difference is the ground. One has a 1 gauge from tge negative to the frame the ftom the frame to the block. The other is a 4 gauge from the negative straight to the block. Cant decide witch would be better. I want to do the 1 gauge way cuz its easier but idk about better...
watson 1025 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 07:43 PM   #13
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Indiana
Posts: 8,044
why is the 1 gauge easier? i would go with the one gauge to be sure its good.
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 07:51 PM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
watson 1025's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Region: Indiana
Posts: 221
Cuz the 4 gauge diagram has me running a 15 ish foot long wire from the battery all the way from the hatch to the engine block. The other one just has me running a 2 foot long wire from the battery to the frame in the back then 2 foot long wire from the frame in the front to engine block.
watson 1025 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 07:54 PM   #15
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Indiana
Posts: 8,044
Quote:
Originally Posted by watson 1025
Cuz the 4 gauge diagram has me running a 15 ish foot long wire from the battery all the way from the hatch to the engine block. The other one just has me running a 2 foot long wire from the battery to the frame in the back then 2 foot long wire from the frame in the front to engine block.
im sure either technique can be used no matter which route you go. it is essentially using the frame for the ground to travel to the back instead of running a solid wire all the way.
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 07:58 PM   #16
Registered Member
Regular
 
watson 1025's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Region: Indiana
Posts: 221
Yeah, my only concern was will it conduct as well as running a wire the whole way? If it will then I no witch rout I wanna go.
watson 1025 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 11:04 PM   #17
Registered Member
Regular
 
foxbox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Illinois
Posts: 269
I bought a relocate kit and I was planning on just bolting the ground right to the floor of the hatch. Ill probably grind the floor clean and then weld a stud to the floor so I can just bolt the ground to that. Ill also probably have another ground from the motor block to the frame in addition to the one that is on the firewall. If that helps
foxbox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 07:43 AM   #18
Registered Member
Regular
 
Quball19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Indiana
Posts: 339
This is what trojan horse came up with on wiring

Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20120925_084223.png
Views:	365
Size:	46.9 KB
ID:	69981
Quball19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 08:25 AM   #19
Registered Member
Regular
 
watson 1025's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Region: Indiana
Posts: 221
Y does there need to be a breaker wen there isnt one now? Is it because of the distance?
watson 1025 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 09:56 AM   #20
Registered Member
Regular
 
Quball19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Indiana
Posts: 339
Sorry bro can't answer that, this is info I got from TH
Quball19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 10:20 AM   #21
Forum Car Trader
Regular
 
90GTNovi2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 1,150
Good question I'm not sure either but it may keep you from over amping electronics or something but idk.. Or maybe if there is a short it will keep the msd and stuff from burning up..
__________________
90GTNovi2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 10:29 AM   #22
Registered Member
Regular
 
watson 1025's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Region: Indiana
Posts: 221
Its all cool. I think I've counted 9 different diagrams that I've seen and I'm assuming they all work but I just want to know if one is better than the rest or if they all work the same.
watson 1025 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 10:36 AM   #23
Registered Member
Regular
 
Quball19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Indiana
Posts: 339
Quote:
Originally Posted by 90GTNovi2000
Good question I'm not sure either but it may keep you from over amping electronics or something but idk.. Or maybe if there is a short it will keep the msd and stuff from burning up..
Yes believe it was from over amping, or any power surge that could cause problems
Quball19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 10:37 AM   #24
Forum Car Trader
Regular
 
90GTNovi2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 1,150
TH is better with wiring and will give reason to the diagram soon.. Although he hasn't been on in awhile that I'm aware of.
__________________
90GTNovi2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 10:41 AM   #25
Registered Member
Regular
 
Quball19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Indiana
Posts: 339
Hope he is doing ok? But yes he will explain it better
Quball19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 10:44 AM   #26
Forum Car Trader
Regular
 
90GTNovi2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 1,150
He is fine!! Well to an extent.. It's administrator issues I believe.
__________________
90GTNovi2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 10:44 AM   #27
Moderator Emeritus
Regular
 
deadsp0t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: MidWorld
Region: Other
Posts: 4,786
Quote:
Originally Posted by 90GTNovi2000
He is fine!! Well to an extent.. It's administrator issues I believe.
His issue has been resolved.
__________________
That's unimpressive
deadsp0t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 10:44 AM   #28
Road Trip!
Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Region: Missouri
Posts: 8,779
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quball19 View Post
This is what trojan horse came up with on wiring

Attachment 69981
Quote:
Originally Posted by watson 1025 View Post
Y does there need to be a breaker wen there isnt one now? Is it because of the distance?
That diagram is my own version as to how I intend to do my battery relocate. The breaker switch is as you surmised to help protect the long run length of the wires. If they shorted out with no breaker protection they could possibly cause a fire that would burn up the entire car.


I am doing the ground wiring as shown, because I have read of to many problems caused by just grounding to the frame. My way ensures proper grounding to the entire car, engine & ECU.
Trojan Horse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 11:37 AM   #29
Registered Member
Regular
 
Quball19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Indiana
Posts: 339
Where can you get braided line at? You told me once but I believe I have slept since..... Lol
Quball19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 12:36 PM   #30
Road Trip!
Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Region: Missouri
Posts: 8,779
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quball19 View Post
Where can you get braided line at? You told me once but I believe I have slept since..... Lol
A bit like me are you? McMaster.com
Grounding Braid, I think they call it.
Choose a size eqivalent or close to your positive battery cable size.
Trojan Horse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 07:54 AM   #31
Registered Member
Regular
 
watson 1025's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Region: Indiana
Posts: 221
Will it hurt anything if I use regular wire instead of the braided for ground and can I just use 200 amp fuses instead of breakers. I've never seen breakers for vehicle use but I know where I can get 200 amp fuses.
watson 1025 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 08:04 PM   #32
Road Trip!
Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Region: Missouri
Posts: 8,779
Quote:
Originally Posted by watson 1025 View Post
Will it hurt anything if I use regular wire instead of the braided for ground and can I just use 200 amp fuses instead of breakers. I've never seen breakers for vehicle use but I know where I can get 200 amp fuses.
No, you can use whatever you want.
Are you sure the 200A fuses are for 12 Volt DC use?


Link > 200 Amp 12 Volt Breaker


Trojan Horse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 09:12 PM   #33
Registered Member
Regular
 
watson 1025's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Region: Indiana
Posts: 221
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trojan Horse View Post
No, you can use whatever you want.
Are you sure the 200A fuses are for 12 Volt DC use?


Link > 200 Amp 12 Volt Breaker


yeah i was going to get them from a sound system shop. but i think the breakers u posted are just as much so i might get them instead.
watson 1025 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2012, 08:40 PM   #34
Registered Member
Regular
 
watson 1025's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Region: Indiana
Posts: 221
Well I got the relocation done! I think the engine bay looks a lot better and I'm also one step closer to getting a 5.0 n there. I was watching videos on youtube a few min ago and found a vid called cumstang. N e one else seen it? It was crazy!
watson 1025 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 11:56 AM   #35
Road Trip!
Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Region: Missouri
Posts: 8,779
Quote:
Originally Posted by watson 1025 View Post
Well I got the relocation done! I think the engine bay looks a lot better and I'm also one step closer to getting a 5.0 n there. I was watching videos on youtube a few min ago and found a vid called cumstang. N e one else seen it? It was crazy!
Yeah, It has a Cummins Diesel engine in it.
Trojan Horse is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1979-1995 Mustang GT

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



01:37 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.