What "should" it cost to re-ring and assemble my engine? - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1979-1995 Mustang GT



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 10-21-2012, 04:15 PM   #1
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Illinois
Posts: 776
What "should" it cost to re-ring and assemble my engine?

I have everything but gaskets. Who should it cost to have a shop pull my motor(go through it), re assemble without machine work? Like I said I have everything except a new ignition.

---------- Post added at 04:15 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:14 PM ----------

What not who, dang auto correct!
JayKranz is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-21-2012, 05:03 PM   #2
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Illinois
Posts: 776
I may not need it. My car is running rich andI have some black smoke due to that. Just nervous about pushing 500-600hp if the rings are bad
JayKranz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 06:25 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
Gil_T2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: N VA
Region: Virginia
Posts: 434
It is the same as rebuilding the motor. and depends on the mileage and cyc ware.
__________________
BBK LT's, Catted Xpipe, Sniper tune, UDP's GT500 TB, Ford Racing CAI, CM delete, 4.10, TR6060, 1 piece DS
Gil_T2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-21-2012, 06:26 PM   #4
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Illinois
Posts: 776
Okay, so they don't really base it on level of difficulty then.
JayKranz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 06:54 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
Gil_T2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: N VA
Region: Virginia
Posts: 434
Quote:
Originally Posted by JayKranz View Post
Okay, so they don't really base it on level of difficulty then.

If you are talking Book Price, Every car has different labor hour quotes , depends on car, options, make , model etc. But when it comes to the motor there isn't a re-ring price, it all comes under total rebuild.
__________________
BBK LT's, Catted Xpipe, Sniper tune, UDP's GT500 TB, Ford Racing CAI, CM delete, 4.10, TR6060, 1 piece DS
Gil_T2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 07:17 PM   #6
Road Trip!
Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Region: Missouri
Posts: 8,779
Quote:
Originally Posted by JayKranz View Post
I have everything but gaskets. Who should it cost to have a shop pull my motor(go through it), re assemble without machine work? Like I said I have everything except a new ignition.

---------- Post added at 04:15 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:14 PM ----------

What not who, dang auto correct!
Quote:
Originally Posted by JayKranz View Post
I may not need it. My car is running rich andI have some black smoke due to that. Just nervous about pushing 500-600hp if the rings are bad
The cost is basically going to be the same as a rebuild minus the machining costs of course.
I wouldn't be too concerned about the black smoke from being to rich, unless you drive it like that to much, which will eventually damage the rings and cylinder bore. What you want to look for in a boosted engine is the blow by. When it starts pushing the dipstick up out of the tube or chugging like a choo choo train when you have the oil cap off, then you probably need some new rings.
Trojan Horse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 07:18 PM   #7
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Indiana
Posts: 8,044
If you are worried about your rings do another compression test.
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 07:32 PM   #8
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Illinois
Posts: 776
My compression is fine. I have loud valve train, fuel smells and some black smoke. I'm guessing this would all be attributed to the ripens that's about to go int the garbage anyway, right?

Also, TH, Dream DSS Racing has my short block with the heads I just bought in a dyno video on their website. It came out at 458HP without the turbo. They also claim with the DSS girdle I have that the block can handle up to 650HP. Just fyi

---------- Post added at 07:32 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:31 PM ----------

How does spell check get "ripens" from "top end"? Annoying!
JayKranz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 07:34 PM   #9
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Indiana
Posts: 8,044
Quote:
Originally Posted by JayKranz
My compression is fine. I have loud valve train, fuel smells and some black smoke. I'm guessing this would all be attributed to the ripens that's about to go int the garbage anyway, right?

Also, TH, Dream DSS Racing has my short block with the heads I just bought in a dyno video on their website. It came out at 458HP without the turbo. They also claim with the DSS girdle I have that the block can handle up to 650HP. Just fyi
you sent it in? or they have the same setup on a video?

i have heard that it will take that much with the girdle kit. thats the theory trojan is gonna test, and you.lol
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 07:34 PM   #10
Road Trip!
Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Region: Missouri
Posts: 8,779
Quote:
Originally Posted by JayKranz View Post
My compression is fine. I have loud valve train, fuel smells and some black smoke. I'm guessing this would all be attributed to the ripens that's about to go int the garbage anyway, right?

Also, TH, Dream DSS Racing has my short block with the heads I just bought in a dyno video on their website. It came out at 458HP without the turbo. They also claim with the DSS girdle I have that the block can handle up to 650HP. Just fyi
That's good to hear. That's the main reason I bought their main support system, the girdle and the windage tray. Supposedly all that thick aluminum is very good at canceling out harmonic rotating assembly vibrations.


Oh yeah, what's a "ripens"?
Trojan Horse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 07:34 PM   #11
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Indiana
Posts: 8,044
ripens?
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 07:36 PM   #12
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Illinois
Posts: 776
They have a video I my exact set up buy not my actual engine.

@TH I have no idea
JayKranz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 07:45 PM   #13
Road Trip!
Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Region: Missouri
Posts: 8,779
Quote:
Originally Posted by JayKranz View Post
They have a video I my exact set up buy not my actual engine.

@TH I have no idea
Maybe the auto correct was talking about maters? They ripens on the vine don't they?
Trojan Horse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 07:51 PM   #14
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Illinois
Posts: 776
Haha right!
JayKranz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 07:55 PM   #15
Lorraine's driver

Regular
 
ab_mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indianapolis
Region: Indiana
Posts: 7,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trojan Horse View Post

Maybe the auto correct was talking about maters? They ripens on the vine don't they?
That's the oddest auto-correction I've seen. Funny
__________________
Instagram: @ab_mach1
ab_mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 07:57 PM   #16
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Illinois
Posts: 776
That's what I was thinking too Az.
JayKranz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 08:06 PM   #17
Road Trip!
Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Region: Missouri
Posts: 8,779
Quote:
Originally Posted by JayKranz View Post
That's what I was thinking too Az.
Yes sadly, your auto correct gremlin may be dumber than most.
Trojan Horse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 08:08 PM   #18
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Illinois
Posts: 776
Okay, so I'll roll the dice on my short block. I'm going to pay a local shop about$1000 to throw my heads and stuff on. Not having a garage blows!
JayKranz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 08:36 PM   #19
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Illinois
Posts: 776
Which ignition should I get? MSD 6AL? or the BTM?
JayKranz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 08:38 PM   #20
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Indiana
Posts: 8,044
Quote:
Originally Posted by JayKranz
Which ignition should I get? MSD 6AL? or the BTM?
we'll see what trojan says, but i think the btm will be useless. because the tuner will be able to set the timing functions built into the tune. so no reason to pay the extra money for the btm.
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 08:39 PM   #21
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Illinois
Posts: 776
That's what I was thinking too.
JayKranz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 08:51 PM   #22
Road Trip!
Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Region: Missouri
Posts: 8,779
Quote:
Originally Posted by JayKranz View Post
Which ignition should I get? MSD 6AL? or the BTM?
Quote:
Originally Posted by dreamstang View Post
we'll see what trojan says, but i think the btm will be useless. because the tuner will be able to set the timing functions built into the tune. so no reason to pay the extra money for the btm.
Quote:
Originally Posted by JayKranz View Post
That's what I was thinking too.
I forget, what are you tuning with, chip, PMS or other?
Most likely the plain old 6AL will work and don't forget a good coil to go with it.


I got the Digital 6 because I ran across one for a decent price, but the extra functions probably won't be needed with my PMS.
Trojan Horse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 08:55 PM   #23
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Illinois
Posts: 776
I have a custom tuned sct chip,

---------- Post added at 08:55 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:54 PM ----------

Also, do I need a different PMAS maf sensor if I go from 42 to 60lb injectors?
JayKranz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 09:00 PM   #24
Road Trip!
Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Region: Missouri
Posts: 8,779
Quote:
Originally Posted by JayKranz View Post
I have a custom tuned sct chip,

---------- Post added at 08:55 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:54 PM ----------

Also, do I need a different PMAS maf sensor if I go from 42 to 60lb injectors?
Yes, unless your tuner can re-program it too or program around it in the chip?
I'd sell it and get the ABACO MAF, You can fine tune that one yourself on your laptop or desktop PC.
Trojan Horse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 09:05 PM   #25
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Indiana
Posts: 8,044
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trojan Horse

Yes, unless your tuner can re-program it too or program around it in the chip?
I'd sell it and get the ABACO MAF, You can fine tune that one yourself on your laptop or desktop PC.
i say if they can reprogram it then let them. he will already be paying for the tune so i dont really think it would cost extra. and with his setup he wont be changin the maf and injectors without retuning. in most cases i would say go with the abaco, but i just dont see it worth it here, unless he plans on tuning himself in the future. with that said they are badd a$$ though.
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 09:07 PM   #26
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Illinois
Posts: 776
Yeah, I'm not going to tune myself. Someday when I have a garage I'll be more hands on but for now I'll leave it to the shops.
JayKranz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 09:08 PM   #27
Lorraine's driver

Regular
 
ab_mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indianapolis
Region: Indiana
Posts: 7,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trojan Horse View Post

Yes, unless your tuner can re-program it too or program around it in the chip?
I'd sell it and get the ABACO MAF, You can fine tune that one yourself on your laptop or desktop PC.
That's a cool MAF! By re-program, is that the same as re-calibrate?
__________________
Instagram: @ab_mach1
ab_mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 09:29 PM   #28
Road Trip!
Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Region: Missouri
Posts: 8,779
Quote:
Originally Posted by dreamstang View Post
i say if they can reprogram it then let them. he will already be paying for the tune so i dont really think it would cost extra. and with his setup he wont be changin the maf and injectors without retuning. in most cases i would say go with the abaco, but i just dont see it worth it here, unless he plans on tuning himself in the future. with that said they are badd a$$ though.
To most people it wouldn't be, but since it provides the ability to further refine the air/fuel curve inside the basic program, I would or rather did do it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JayKranz View Post
Yeah, I'm not going to tune myself. Someday when I have a garage I'll be more hands on but for now I'll leave it to the shops.
You don't need a shop to tune it, just a PC.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Azure View Post
That's a cool MAF! By re-program, is that the same as re-calibrate?
Yes, plus you can fine tune the MAF air/fuel curve inside the base program for your chosen injector size for even better results. The issue there though, is that most people won't want to take the time to learn how to do that.
Trojan Horse is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1979-1995 Mustang GT

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



01:33 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.