mustang turning off after spark plug change - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1979-1995 Mustang GT



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 11-29-2012, 01:17 PM   #1
Registered User
Newbie
 
nsguido415's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Region: California
Posts: 17
mustang turning off after spark plug change

Yesterday i changed out my spark plugs followed the wire so i wouldn't mix anything up on the cap. Car turns on idles perfectly. When i go to put the car in first gear i give it some gas and car turns off. Turn the car back on idles with no problems. I dont put it in gear but rev the engine car doesnt rev up. Struggles to rev up and turns off right away.
nsguido415 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-29-2012, 01:32 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
McNassty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 600
Sounds like you may have mixed up the wires, that's why you should only Chang one spark plug at a time. Do not take off the wires pull the plugs change the plugs and than put the wires back on. If you didn't do this I apologize but it sounds like you did and mixed up the plug wires
McNassty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 01:43 PM   #3
Registered User
Newbie
 
nsguido415's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Region: California
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by McNassty
Sounds like you may have mixed up the wires, that's why you should only Chang one spark plug at a time. Do not take off the wires pull the plugs change the plugs and than put the wires back on. If you didn't do this I apologize but it sounds like you did and mixed up the plug wires
I did change one at at a time. I even checked the wire diagram and everything correct
nsguido415 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-29-2012, 01:47 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
McNassty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 600
Than if have to say pull your plugs and check them, the plugs you got may not be gapped to the correct gap
McNassty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 01:50 PM   #5
Registered User
Newbie
 
nsguido415's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Region: California
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by McNassty
Than if have to say pull your plugs and check them, the plugs you got may not be gapped to the correct gap
I figured that might be they said gap was .54
nsguido415 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 01:54 PM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
McNassty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 600
Lol, 0.052 is the correct gap
McNassty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 02:03 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
91notchback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 493
Quote:
Originally Posted by McNassty
Lol, 0.052 is the correct gap
I assume he meant .054, since theres no way in hell he could run a gap that's .04 over a half inch...lol. I agree though. If your car breaks up off of idle, it sounds to me like you are either a plug off of firing order, or one isn't connected good and misfiring.
91notchback is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 02:04 PM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
McNassty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 600
Quote:
Originally Posted by 91notchback

I assume he meant .054, since theres no way in hell he could run a gap that's .04 over a half inch...lol. I agree though. If your car breaks up off of idle, it sounds to me like you are either a plug off of firing order, or one isn't connected good and misfiring.
Lol, I figured
McNassty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 03:14 PM   #9
Registered User
Newbie
 
nsguido415's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Region: California
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by 91notchback

I assume he meant .054, since theres no way in hell he could run a gap that's .04 over a half inch...lol. I agree though. If your car breaks up off of idle, it sounds to me like you are either a plug off of firing order, or one isn't connected good and misfiring.
Ok so i unplugged the battery checked em to make sure they were good. Waited 20 mins plugged the battery in drove it down the street got to the stop and the car did it again. Gave it gas had no power and turned off
nsguido415 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 03:34 PM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
91notchback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 493
:weird: And you didn't pull any wires off your dizzy cap? The reason I ask is: It's easy to put your number one wire where the number three wire goes. Did you change wires when you did plugs?
91notchback is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 01:14 AM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
Billymich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Chicago
Region: Illinois
Posts: 861
Even if one of the plugs was off, it wouldn't do it. My 5.0 ran with Pistons 1 and 2 not firing (disconnected) and the timing like WAY off, I drove it four blocks no problem.
Billymich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 03:19 AM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
91notchback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 493
Quote:
Originally Posted by Billymich
Even if one of the plugs was off, it wouldn't do it. My 5.0 ran with Pistons 1 and 2 not firing (disconnected) and the timing like WAY off, I drove it four blocks no problem.
Mine ran with a wire off firing order, but ran like a turd. This is just weird to me with nothing but a plug change gapped at .054 man....
91notchback is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 03:37 AM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
Jeff44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Region: New York
Posts: 99
Sounds like a fuel problem!
Jeff44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 09:59 AM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
McNassty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 600
But it didn't start until he changed his spark plugs
McNassty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 10:58 AM   #15
Registered User
Newbie
 
nsguido415's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Region: California
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by McNassty View Post
But it didn't start until he changed his spark plugs
It use to start up just fine before. Upgraded cam changed injectors fuel pump fuel regulator mass air flow. My car was running just fine. Then the car started backfiring and would shake when you gave it gas. Now i changed the spark plugs and car just doesnt run
nsguido415 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 01:10 PM   #16
Registered Member
Regular
 
Billymich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Chicago
Region: Illinois
Posts: 861
Quote:
Originally Posted by nsguido415 View Post
It use to start up just fine before. Upgraded cam changed injectors fuel pump fuel regulator mass air flow. My car was running just fine. Then the car started backfiring and would shake when you gave it gas. Now i changed the spark plugs and car just doesnt run
Ahhh, so there's the missing information! I knew something wasn't right!
Billymich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 01:12 PM   #17
Registered User
Newbie
 
nsguido415's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Region: California
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Billymich View Post

Ahhh, so there's the missing information! I knew something wasn't right!
What could it be
nsguido415 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 01:20 PM   #18
Registered User
Newbie
 
nsguido415's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Region: California
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Billymich View Post

Ahhh, so there's the missing information! I knew something wasn't right!
So pretty much my car ran perfectly fine i bought the car a cam, fuel injectors, fuel reg, mass airflow, new intake manifold, throttle body, cold air intake. Car drove perfectly fine no problems. Then the car started struggling when you gave it gas almost like it didnt want to run while it back fired and had no power. While in neutral no problem idle was great. Gave it gas no problem. Put the car in first gear started driving car would start back firing and shaking. Got to the stop sign car rpms would go up and down then after 10 seconds car would turn off. I would go to turn the car on the car wouldn't turn on. If i hit the gas then turned the key the car would turn on. No idle problems. Drive little bit and the problem would start all over. Unless i was at the light in neutral giving the car a little gas. Was too scared to drive the car so i would just take it home. I changed the throttle position sensor, indle control and the baf sensor. Now that i changed the spark plugs and cables. The car is not drivable. Put it in first gear i could slam on the gas and the car just turns off
nsguido415 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 01:59 PM   #19
Registered Member
Regular
 
McNassty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 600
What size cam did you change to?
McNassty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 03:44 PM   #20
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Indiana
Posts: 8,044
you may have gotten a bad plug imo. i have seen this a few times. when you pulled them back out to check the gap, did you notice if any of them were wet? i would check spark at every cylinder to insure the ALL plugs and wires are good.
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 04:35 PM   #21
Registered Member
Regular
 
Billymich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Chicago
Region: Illinois
Posts: 861
Quote:
Originally Posted by dreamstang View Post
you may have gotten a bad plug imo. i have seen this a few times. when you pulled them back out to check the gap, did you notice if any of them were wet? i would check spark at every cylinder to insure the ALL plugs and wires are good.
Pshaw! I mean if you want to take the easy way out. I say just replace EVERYTHING!
Billymich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2015, 05:05 PM   #22
Registered Member
Regular
 
Jbone007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Oceanside
Region: California
Posts: 435
Hmm, back fire and no power = timing issues!
Jbone007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2015, 05:40 PM   #23
Staff

Regular
Staff
 
Strange Mud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Small Town
Region: Connecticut
Posts: 5,022
I would like a feature that asks "are you sure you want to resurrect a thread from 3 years ago?"
__________________
2012 V6 with suspension, shifting, stopping and sound mods.
Strange Mud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2015, 05:45 PM   #24
Registered Member
Regular
 
Jbone007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Oceanside
Region: California
Posts: 435
Yes I guess I should look at the date lol
Jbone007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2015, 07:58 PM   #25
Staff
Regular
Staff
 
scottydsntknow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: JB MDL
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 16,610
This is what happens when you do all those mods and no tune. You need a tune. And you need to list EXACTLY the parts you got as in what cam, what MAF, what injectors etc... etc...

Did you even change the pushrods when you did the cam? As in measure for the correct new length and then order them and install the right ones?
__________________
2000 Mustang GT Steeda #0048

Just because I give you advice, doesn't mean I know more than you. Its just means I've done more stupid ****.
scottydsntknow is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1979-1995 Mustang GT

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



10:28 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.