Help please - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1979-1995 Mustang GT

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 12-14-2012, 05:21 PM   #1

Region: Kentucky
Help please

I am new to this and have a couple issues. My 88 gt is blowing white smoke out of both exhaust pipes which I assume is either a blown head gasket or a cracked head. But after sitting there and idling for 5 to 10 minutes my engine revs up and than back down on its own and starts to sound like its going to die. Also I been smelling a lot of gas like its running rich. Any help would be great thanks
88mustang5.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-14-2012, 05:35 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Illinois
STOP RUNNING IT RIGHT AWAY!
check your coolant level

---------- Post added at 05:35 PM ---------- Previous post was at 05:34 PM ----------

If you smell coolant in the exhaust its time to tear off the intake, get down to the heads and see if you have a blown gasket or cracked heads, chances are you're overheating and may need new heads...
Billymich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 05:44 PM   #3

Alright I was afraid of that because I don't think that is something I can quite do yet. It sounds like a pretty big job. Might also be a good time to upgrade.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-14-2012, 05:45 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular

Quote:
Originally Posted by 88mustang5.0 View Post
Alright I was afraid of that because I don't think that is something I can quite do yet. It sounds like a pretty big job. Might also be a good time to upgrade.
The exact same thing happened to me 3 days after buying my car. Heads overheated and warped, until redoing all that the most I had done were oil changes on a Bimmer (easiest thing ever) It was my first learning/starting point I'd be happy to help any way I can!
Old 12-14-2012, 05:51 PM   #5