I Need Help....clutch/tranny advice - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1979-1995 Mustang GT

Join Mustang Evolution Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 06-22-2008, 11:59 PM   #1
Region: Michigan
I Need Help....clutch/tranny advice

Hey all,
Im new to this and stumbled upon it searching through the internet trying to find out information regarding a clutch and tranny. I recently blew out the tranny and clutch on my 95 GT (manual trans), along with a few other very minor detail things, and now Im at the point of trying to figure out what would be the best thing for me to buy/rebuild in order to get it back on the road. I was wondering what you all thought....I have been told by a close mechanic friend that he can rebuild it for 550, but Ive also heard that rebuilding them T-5's is like pissing in the wind. Also, Im not really sure what kind of clutch I should go with. Im thinking a stage 2, since I havent really done anything to the engine (just bolt ons), but dont really know what would be the best one to get. I thought about a king cobra clutch, but dont really know if them are good or not???? Ive also thought about going with a different tranny, but dont know if it would take too much modification to make it work??? Im not really looking to make it a race car, just maybe slightly modified because Im strapped for cash and cant afford at the time to make it into one. Thanks all! Look forward to hearing what you have to say.

vinnie7009 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2008, 11:25 AM   #2
15.3 Second V8 Killer Yo
Region: Louisiana
Send a message via AIM to PureVenom Send a message via MSN to PureVenom Send a message via Yahoo to PureVenom
Re: I Need Help....clutch/tranny advice

I don't know about the rebuild stuff, but I will comment on the clutch stuff.