Changing Water Pump - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1979-1995 Mustang GT

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 07-04-2008, 06:28 AM   #1
Registered Member
Regular

Region: West Virgina
Changing Water Pump

Ok everyone as you know Im a noob with the Fords and Im getting ready to change the water pump on my 94 GT and would like to know how hard it is to change, looks pretty easy but would like to know if there is any tricks to changing it and if there is any thing else that would need inspected and or changed while I have it tore down. thanks for the help.
wvstang5.0ho is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-04-2008, 11:51 AM   #2
Legacy Member
Legacy

Region: California
Re: Changing Water Pump

Its really simple to change the water pump. Drain the coolant, take the belt off, inspect your hoses(if they're bad replace them now), might as well do a thermostat as well and go after the water pump. I had to take my crank pully (for the belt) off to get at the pump in my car, take a look at your radiator while your in there and see how that looks as well. The bolts in the water pump have varying lengths so make sure you keep them in the proper holes aka the one it came out of. Once the pump is off clean your gasket surfaces really well, make sure the new pump matches up, run a bead of silicone around the water pump and reinstall. If you change your thermostat go for a 180 degree and use silicone with that gasket as well. Just a quick tip, losen the bolts for the water pump pulley before you take the belt off, if you don't it will spin freely and it's a pain to get them out.
Scut95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2008, 12:02 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scut95 View Post