Installing Offroad X pipe on 94 5.0 - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1979-1995 Mustang GT

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 03-27-2013, 08:10 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Washington
Installing Offroad X pipe on 94 5.0

Hey everyone. First time poster here, if I'm posting this in the wrong spot let me know haha ><. I just bought a BBK Offroad X pipe for my 94' Cobra and was wondering what it would take to install it myself. My car is bone stock aside from a short shifter

Would I need to cut any of my stock exhaust?
Does the stock exhaust un-bolt from the headers?
Is it recommended that I weld any of it?

Any kind of help would be awesome, as I am still learning about cars and how to work on them. Reason I'm asking for you guy's help is because none of my local exhaust shops can install the X pipe since it has no cats :\

Again any help is appreciated!
94BlackMamba is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-27-2013, 08:27 PM   #2
Road Trip!

Region: Indiana
Your gonna wanna get the car off the ground as high as you can. Its basically an unbolt and bolt back up job. The bolts to the headers are kind of tricky. I use an 18" extension but not necessary. The hardest part is dealing with the old frozen bolts..
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 08:52 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular

Awesome thanks! Do you have any suggestions for dealing with the frozen bolts?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-27-2013, 08:59 PM   #4
Road Trip!

If you have time I would soak them over night in a good penetrating oil. My favorite hands down is
http://www.kanolabs.com/google/