Injectors not firing - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1979-1995 Mustang GT



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 05-27-2013, 07:33 AM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
93turbocobra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: New Albany, IN
Region: Indiana
Posts: 53
Injectors not firing

I am working on my brothers 87 lx 5.0 and his injectors are not firing. Seems as if he has no power going to them at all. I used a noir tester and it did not light up so we changed the relays and the pickup in the distributor. And still the same thing, it will start and run for a second if you use starting fluid or gas but it does when it is gone anyone out there have any suggestions
93turbocobra is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-27-2013, 11:02 AM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
DustyStang306's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Belleville On
Region: Canada
Posts: 342
Quote:
Originally Posted by 93turbocobra
I am working on my brothers 87 lx 5.0 and his injectors are not firing. Seems as if he has no power going to them at all. I used a noir tester and it did not light up so we changed the relays and the pickup in the distributor. And still the same thing, it will start and run for a second if you use starting fluid or gas but it does when it is gone anyone out there have any suggestions
Hey i had the same problem it was my PCM it was fried if you can get your hands on one to test an see then I'd do that
DustyStang306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 02:15 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
93turbocobra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: New Albany, IN
Region: Indiana
Posts: 53
Ok thanks I will try that
93turbocobra is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-27-2013, 03:55 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
Billymich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Chicago
Region: Illinois
Posts: 861
If i ever do my MAF you can have my old one, or if you want I can send you my old one and you can paypal me so I can buy a CAI or even some PVC pipe to fit my MAF


1988 mustang 302 5-speed
Billymich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 05:41 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
93turbocobra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: New Albany, IN
Region: Indiana
Posts: 53
How much would you want for it
93turbocobra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 05:48 PM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
DustyStang306's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Belleville On
Region: Canada
Posts: 342
Quote:
Originally Posted by 93turbocobra
How much would you want for it
You should be abel to get a used one for 125 to 225$ an if your using a 5 speed you can use ether one of the two the a9l was for standard and the a9p was the auto but you the a9p will work fine with a standard to
DustyStang306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 05:57 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
93turbocobra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: New Albany, IN
Region: Indiana
Posts: 53
Ok but it would have to be out of a speed density car not a maf car right

---------- Post added at 05:57 PM ---------- Previous post was at 05:54 PM ----------

It would have to be out of a speed density car correct not a maf car
93turbocobra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 06:08 PM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
DustyStang306's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Belleville On
Region: Canada
Posts: 342
Haha sorry I just seen the motor in your profile pic an your name thought you had a 93 but I'm not the guy to talk to about speed density isn't speed density hard to work with in its tune ability?
DustyStang306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 06:42 PM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
93turbocobra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: New Albany, IN
Region: Indiana
Posts: 53
I do have a 93 cobra but the car I am working on is my brothers and what's wrong with my engine
93turbocobra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 06:51 PM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
93turbocobra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: New Albany, IN
Region: Indiana
Posts: 53
I do have a 93 cobra it is my brothers car I am working on and what's wrong with my engine
93turbocobra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 08:42 PM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
DustyStang306's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Belleville On
Region: Canada
Posts: 342
Quote:
Originally Posted by 93turbocobra
I do have a 93 cobra it is my brothers car I am working on and what's wrong with my engine
Nothing wrong I just thought it was a mass air car because of the pic didn't see it was a 87 an your brothers haha kinda missed that lol but your motor look nice man what's the specs? An do you got a turbo already?
DustyStang306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 08:46 PM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
Billymich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Chicago
Region: Illinois
Posts: 861
Well I'd be willing to sell it for 150 probably, let me look into It a tiny bit, Im in chicago where are you ?
Billymich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 09:02 PM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
Billymich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Chicago
Region: Illinois
Posts: 861
For Sale 1988 DA1 speed density cpu - Ford Mustang Forums : Corral.net Mustang Forum

dude said $40 shipped
Billymich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 10:05 PM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
93turbocobra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: New Albany, IN
Region: Indiana
Posts: 53
It is a 306 and I am still looking for a turbo and thanks for the info
93turbocobra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 11:04 AM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
DustyStang306's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Belleville On
Region: Canada
Posts: 342
Quote:
Originally Posted by 93turbocobra
It is a 306 and I am still looking for a turbo and thanks for the info
Nice my is a 306 to but you still got stock heads? And I was looking at the hellion turbo kit and got lots of guys that Say they love them an I haven't hear anything bad about them yet
DustyStang306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 02:53 PM   #16
Registered Member
Regular
 
93turbocobra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: New Albany, IN
Region: Indiana
Posts: 53
I have gt 40 heads that have a 3 angle valve job the bowls have been blended and they have been ported and swirled on the intake side and polished on the exhaust side
93turbocobra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 05:22 PM   #17
Registered Member
Regular
 
DustyStang306's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Belleville On
Region: Canada
Posts: 342
Quote:
Originally Posted by 93turbocobra
I have gt 40 heads that have a 3 angle valve job the bowls have been blended and they have been ported and swirled on the intake side and polished on the exhaust side
Ye man that should work good for a turbo set up is it a stock block?
DustyStang306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 05:27 PM   #18
Registered Member
Regular
 
93turbocobra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: New Albany, IN
Region: Indiana
Posts: 53
Nope forged crank, forged I beam rods , forged pistons and trick flow cam
93turbocobra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 09:16 PM   #19
Registered Member
Regular
 
DustyStang306's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Belleville On
Region: Canada
Posts: 342
Quote:
Originally Posted by 93turbocobra
Nope forged crank, forged I beam rods , forged pistons and trick flow cam
Lol nice man but I meant just the block it self haha the stock block is only good for about 500rwhp with a safe tune

---------- Post added at 09:16 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:15 PM ----------

An probably won't last to long at 500rwhp but what are you going for in HP#?
DustyStang306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 09:18 PM   #20
Registered Member
Regular
 
93turbocobra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: New Albany, IN
Region: Indiana
Posts: 53
The block is stock and I have done se research and I also have a friend that has about 700 with 17 psi on it and it has been running for about 3 years
93turbocobra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 09:25 PM   #21
Registered Member
Regular
 
93turbocobra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: New Albany, IN
Region: Indiana
Posts: 53
The number I am looking for is any where from 500 to 550 not a lot because I also drive the car daily
93turbocobra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 09:30 PM   #22
Registered Member
Regular
 
DustyStang306's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Belleville On
Region: Canada
Posts: 342
Quote:
Originally Posted by 93turbocobra
The block is stock and I have done se research and I also have a friend that has about 700 with 17 psi on it and it has been running for about 3 years
Well it's your build so if your will to go that high on a stock block then do it up lol I wouldn't go passed 450rwhp my self on my stock block

---------- Post added at 09:30 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:27 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by 93turbocobra
The number I am looking for is any where from 500 to 550 not a lot because I also drive the car daily
Well at that high you may keep it for a bit keeping the rpms low still wouldn't go that high
DustyStang306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 09:35 PM   #23
Registered Member
Regular
 
93turbocobra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: New Albany, IN
Region: Indiana
Posts: 53
I don't know what it will be at so I will see I have been working on it for about 2 years now. I only gonna run about 12 psi so it will probably be about 450 or so but I don't know yet
93turbocobra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 09:42 PM   #24
Registered Member
Regular
 
DustyStang306's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Belleville On
Region: Canada
Posts: 342
Quote:
Originally Posted by 93turbocobra
I don't know what it will be at so I will see I have been working on it for about 2 years now. I only gonna run about 12 psi so it will probably be about 450 or so but I don't know yet
Haha ye man I would go with a s trim they have made 450rwhp + on gt40 set up many of times and it's good for DD an you can pick up a good uses s trim for your set up an be there quicker then the turbo although the turbo would be bad a*s hahah
DustyStang306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 10:01 PM   #25
Registered Member
Regular
 
93turbocobra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: New Albany, IN
Region: Indiana
Posts: 53
Where would be a good place to look for an s trim
93turbocobra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 10:08 PM   #26
Registered Member
Regular
 
93turbocobra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: New Albany, IN
Region: Indiana
Posts: 53
Sounds good where would be a good place to look for one
93turbocobra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 10:20 PM   #27
Registered Member
Regular
 
DustyStang306's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Belleville On
Region: Canada
Posts: 342
Quote:
Originally Posted by 93turbocobra
Sounds good where would be a good place to look for one
I'm in Canada so I use kijiji but I think in the usa you guys use craigslist don't ye... An you can get a new v3 vortech from AM for 2254.99 but it's a 6 psi unit you could run 8 psi on here's a link on it

http://www.americanmuscle.com/mustan...er-8693v8.html
DustyStang306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 08:36 AM   #28
Registered Member
Regular
 
93turbocobra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: New Albany, IN
Region: Indiana
Posts: 53
Thanks
93turbocobra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 11:25 AM   #29
Registered Member
Regular
 
93turbocobra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: New Albany, IN
Region: Indiana
Posts: 53
So what so you think about meth injection
93turbocobra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2013, 10:16 AM   #30
Registered Member
Regular
 
93turbocobra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: New Albany, IN
Region: Indiana
Posts: 53
Well we have changed the computer and the ignition control module and the pick up in the distributor and the car still will not start. I am getting power to the red wire when the key is off and when we try to start it I have power to the other wire so what could it be. Any help would be appreciated!
93turbocobra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2013, 03:20 PM   #31
Registered Member
Regular
 
Billymich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Chicago
Region: Illinois
Posts: 861
Clutch Position Sensor maybe?
Billymich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2013, 04:14 PM   #32
Registered Member
Regular
 
93turbocobra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: New Albany, IN
Region: Indiana
Posts: 53
It turns over it seems like it is not getting fuel when you use starting fluid it will start but them die when that is all gone
93turbocobra is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1979-1995 Mustang GT

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



06:09 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.