12" subs - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1979-1995 Mustang GT

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 06-07-2013, 02:35 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Texas
12" subs

Can I run 12 inch subs and amp off of my factory 1990 radio? It's a 1990 gt
1990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-07-2013, 02:45 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Utah
Stock radio doesnt have the plugs for it. Even if theres a way to wire it somehow the stock radio bass/treble settings are weak. Any aftermarket radio has hookups even the cheaper ones
Kevo91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 03:29 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular

What if I run 6x9's in the back off of it? Just the door panel 6x9's
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-07-2013, 03:53 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Utah
I dunno man ive installed a few stereos but im no audio expert lol. There is an audio section on this forum, maybe one of them can give you some better info
Kevo91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 05:34 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Pennsylvania
Just get a new headunit
91MustangNSB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 05:42 PM   #6
Registered Member
Regular

Well I want a touchscreen and that's like $400 which I don't have now. But I don't want to waste money on another to run my subs and 6x9's
Old 06-07-2013, 07:14 PM   #7

Region: Illinois
you can use a line level converter which you can wire to your speakers and get the rca inputs you need for the amp and you wont have to change the stereo.ebay has tons of them for cheap
Soda56k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 07:35 PM   #8
Staff
Regular
Staff

Region: New Jersey
Running subs off the factory radio or the back speakers... wtf?