New trans? - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1979-1995 Mustang GT



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 08-06-2013, 10:07 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
Nwg20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Chatsworth
Region: Georgia
Posts: 96
New trans?

Hey guys, I have a 85 gt 5 speed and has the common 3rd grind so I'm looking for a new trans. Was wondering what other year trans I could use or other trans then a t-5.
Nwg20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-06-2013, 10:18 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
Billymich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Chicago
Region: Illinois
Posts: 861
Well what do you want and what kind of modification do you have currently? Auto or manual. 4speed or 4+OD. Do you want a direct fit? If so get a world class t-5.
Billymich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2013, 10:23 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
Nwg20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Chatsworth
Region: Georgia
Posts: 96
I actually have a wc-t-5. I've been seeing alot of ranger 5 speeds and v4-6 mustang trans. Needing a replacement for the time being
Nwg20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-06-2013, 10:32 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
Billymich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Chicago
Region: Illinois
Posts: 861
Why not just have your trans rebuilt? or if you're up to it, do it yourself !
Billymich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2013, 01:36 AM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
Nwg20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Chatsworth
Region: Georgia
Posts: 96
Wouldn't it cost just as much for a used upgrade? And I'm sure doing it myself would be a bit much unless its pretty simple
Nwg20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2013, 03:50 AM   #6
Staff
Regular
Staff
 
scottydsntknow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: JB MDL
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 16,610
Get a 90-93 T-5 out of another fox Mustang. Don't pay more than $400. If you don't want to use a T-5 you're going to be looking at a TKO or T-56 and that isn't going to be cheap.
__________________
2000 Mustang GT Steeda #0048

Just because I give you advice, doesn't mean I know more than you. Its just means I've done more stupid ****.
scottydsntknow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2013, 11:01 AM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
Nwg20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Chatsworth
Region: Georgia
Posts: 96
Well I found one out of a 2000 mustang and I think a 98 but think there both v6 cars
Nwg20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2013, 12:39 PM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
Nwg20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Chatsworth
Region: Georgia
Posts: 96
I just found a t-56 for 450 with clutch an bell. Wat would I need to put that in the fox?
Nwg20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2013, 12:58 PM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
351stroker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: The Pas, Mb
Region: Canada
Posts: 443
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nwg20 View Post
I just found a t-56 for 450 with clutch an bell. Wat would I need to put that in the fox?
My help. Lol.

---------- Post added at 11:58 AM ---------- Previous post was at 11:57 AM ----------

Or sell it to me.
351stroker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2013, 01:10 PM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
Nwg20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Chatsworth
Region: Georgia
Posts: 96
You local? I would love to have a 6-speed in a fox but don't have alot of time for the swap since its out only car an still drives
Nwg20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2013, 01:44 PM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
351stroker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: The Pas, Mb
Region: Canada
Posts: 443
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nwg20 View Post
You local? I would love to have a 6-speed in a fox but don't have alot of time for the swap since its out only car an still drives
No. I'm in Manitoba. Seriously wish I was closer or vice versa. I wrench as a hobby now. Had enough of fixing other people's garbage. I now only work on Stangs. And my own truck.
351stroker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2013, 03:35 PM   #12
Staff
Regular
Staff
 
scottydsntknow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: JB MDL
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 16,610
A Cobra T-56? If its a GM/Viper unit have fun...
__________________
2000 Mustang GT Steeda #0048

Just because I give you advice, doesn't mean I know more than you. Its just means I've done more stupid ****.
scottydsntknow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2013, 04:34 PM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
Nwg20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Chatsworth
Region: Georgia
Posts: 96
It's a gm trans. Wish I would find a cobra T for that cheap.
Nwg20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2013, 08:13 PM   #14
Staff
Regular
Staff
 
scottydsntknow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: JB MDL
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 16,610
You're going to have a hell of a time with a GM trans... I'd pass and just get a nice T-5 that'll bolt right in and take the power you are making easily.
__________________
2000 Mustang GT Steeda #0048

Just because I give you advice, doesn't mean I know more than you. Its just means I've done more stupid ****.
scottydsntknow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2013, 08:45 PM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
Nwg20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Chatsworth
Region: Georgia
Posts: 96
Alright thanks for the info man. Any chance you'd kno why my lights and radio cut out when I push the clutch in to stop? It seems like the rpm drop way to low for anything to stay on
Nwg20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2013, 09:34 PM   #16
Registered Member
Regular
 
Billymich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Chicago
Region: Illinois
Posts: 861
IAC, bad battery, bad alt. Start by cleaning your IAC, check your TPS and reset your idle. Then test your battery and alternator voltages. That should give you an idea.

---------- Post added at 09:34 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:33 PM ----------

Wait are you carbed, FI or EFI?
Billymich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2013, 09:35 PM   #17
Registered Member
Regular
 
Nwg20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Chatsworth
Region: Georgia
Posts: 96
Iac an tps on a carb setup? It seems like the rpms drop lower then they should cuz the motor is barley turning over at that point an has even stalled
Nwg20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2013, 09:37 PM   #18
Registered Member
Regular
 
Billymich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Chicago
Region: Illinois
Posts: 861
Yeah, which is why I jumped to IAC. But then asked if you were carbed, FI or EFI
Billymich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2013, 03:14 PM   #19
Registered Member
Regular
 
Nwg20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Chatsworth
Region: Georgia
Posts: 96
Sorry bout that my fones pretty slow at times. It's a Holley 600 or 650 on a wat looks like a factory ford intake was told all that was done was a e cam but have had plenty e cam cars an this one runs an pulls a bit harder then they did
Nwg20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1979-1995 Mustang GT

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



07:49 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.