coolant temp sensor? - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1979-1995 Mustang GT



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 09-02-2013, 03:36 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
BloodRedStang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Central
Region: Ohio
Posts: 630
coolant temp sensor?

Which is which? According to my haynes manual and a couple websites, the sending unit that controls the guage is on the lower intake manifold on the drivers side, and the actual coolant temp sensor is on on the front of the motor near the thermostat. Is that true?
I'm asking because on my car, the sensor on the LIM isn't hooked up and I can't find a connector anywhere under my hood that would go to it.. yet my temp guage works fine. And if that's the actual coolant temp sensor, that's not hooked up, it may explain some of the issues I'm tracking down.
BloodRedStang is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-02-2013, 04:26 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
jduckz5.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: pittsburgh
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 310
U can see the sensor under intake..its right between the injectors...u can reach your hand in there too...
jduckz5.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 04:49 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
BloodRedStang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Central
Region: Ohio
Posts: 630
Quote:
Originally Posted by jduckz5.0 View Post
U can see the sensor under intake..its right between the injectors...u can reach your hand in there too...
Ok, is it the one that's at the front of the lower intake with 1 red wire? Or the one that's at a slight angle about a half inch below the upper intake gasket with 2 wires?

Ill get a pic of the one I have that's not hooked up.. I'm confused, there's literally no plug anywhere on my harness I can find.. unless the dude I bought it from decided that was another "optional part"
BloodRedStang is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-02-2013, 04:53 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
BloodRedStang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Central
Region: Ohio
Posts: 630
This is the one with 2 wires that isn't hooked up

Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20130902_175316.png
Views:	181
Size:	427.3 KB
ID:	127106
BloodRedStang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 04:55 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
BloodRedStang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Central
Region: Ohio
Posts: 630
And this is one is just 1 red wire in the front right corner of the lower intake. Kinda forward and right of the #5 injector.

The other plug with 2 wires is up between the #5 and #6 injectors under the rail.

Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20130902_175426.png
Views:	160
Size:	427.8 KB
ID:	127107
BloodRedStang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 05:08 PM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
jduckz5.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: pittsburgh
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 310
U can't find the plug?? Is it hard to start til it gets hot and runs ****ty???

---------- Post added at 06:08 PM ---------- Previous post was at 06:06 PM ----------

The gauge is plugged in...where the hell r is the plug for temp sensor???lol
jduckz5.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 05:53 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
BloodRedStang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Central
Region: Ohio
Posts: 630
Quote:
Originally Posted by jduckz5.0 View Post
U can't find the plug?? Is it hard to start til it gets hot and runs ****ty???

---------- Post added at 06:08 PM ---------- Previous post was at 06:06 PM ----------

The gauge is plugged in...where the hell r is the plug for temp sensor???lol
Ok, if the single red wire is the guage, what the hells the plug over on the thermo housing? I thought that was either the guage or the coolent temp sensor??? Lol

Its really not hard to start cold (besides not having an iac right now) but it was idling like crap and it sounds like its missing at idle. I'm gonna be replacing the iac prolly tomoro if I can so that should take care of the idle..

If that grey plug with 2 prongs I took a pic of is the coolant temp sensor I don't know what the hell the one on the thermo is or where the hell the plug for that one on the intake is..
BloodRedStang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 06:14 PM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
jduckz5.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: pittsburgh
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 310
Start fishing under intake...the wire and plug run with the injector wire so gotta b somewhere....the sensor on thermo I think but not sure is a coolant temp sensor also...lol

---------- Post added at 07:14 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:10 PM ----------

U might have to take intake off to find wires if plug is gone and replace...did that have aftermarket gauge???that not plugged in is probably your problem besides iac...
jduckz5.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 06:16 PM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
BloodRedStang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Central
Region: Ohio
Posts: 630
Quote:
Originally Posted by jduckz5.0 View Post
Start fishing under intake...the wire and plug run with the injector wire so gotta b somewhere....the sensor on thermo I think but not sure is a coolant temp sensor also...lol
I just quadruple checked my service manual.. and the only coolant temp sensor they mention is the one on the thermo.. there's no mention of this mystery sensor I've got anywhere in this book.. and I had the upper intake off, no plug.

---------- Post added at 07:16 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:15 PM ----------

I'm beginning to wonder if it has something to do with the egr or a/c.. because my car has neither of those.
BloodRedStang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 06:17 PM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
jduckz5.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: pittsburgh
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 310
Wires had to b cut was there the wires for fuel injectors black taped????
jduckz5.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 06:26 PM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
BloodRedStang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Central
Region: Ohio
Posts: 630
Quote:
Originally Posted by jduckz5.0 View Post
Wires had to b cut was there the wires for fuel injectors black taped????
The harness looks stock in that area of it.

I just looked up lower intake manifold on google and the grey sensor I was pointing at is an air temp sensor.. which confuses me even more now because the only air temp sensor my manual mentions is the IAT sensor in the intake tube.. I'm lost.. I'm beginning to wonder if the dude that screwed with this thing before me had a fox 5.0 intake on it or something.. idk
BloodRedStang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 06:30 PM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
jduckz5.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: pittsburgh
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 310
I'm sorry but I got confused the coolant temp sensor/sender on thermo is for gauge...the other regular coolant temp sensor not sender is missing the plug...

---------- Post added at 07:30 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:26 PM ----------

On the 94-95 5.0 its more of issue cause computer sensitive...but not the older 5.0 that's y its still starting but I would buy a plug,find the wires in harness and connect it again...
jduckz5.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 06:32 PM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
BloodRedStang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Central
Region: Ohio
Posts: 630
Quote:
Originally Posted by jduckz5.0 View Post
I'm sorry but I got confused the coolant temp sensor/sender on thermo is for gauge...the other regular coolant temp sensor not sender is missing the plug...
The single red wire I showed is for the gauge.. if I unhook that wire the gauge quits reading.
The sensor on the thermo is the main coolant temp sensor.
The mystery sensor is an air temp sensor.. but god knows for what, I have an air temp sensor.. I'm SERIOUSLY thinking about just pitching the computer and all these damn sensors and going carbed. I'm sick of these electronics.
BloodRedStang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 06:37 PM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
jduckz5.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: pittsburgh
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 310
I'm have *** backwards rite now...lol I thought u had older 5.0 but anyways electronics r kinda hands on especially on a94-95...but still find and fix that wire/plug...
jduckz5.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 06:40 PM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
BloodRedStang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Central
Region: Ohio
Posts: 630
Quote:
Originally Posted by jduckz5.0 View Post
I'm have *** backwards rite now...lol I thought u had older 5.0 but anyways electronics r kinda hands on especially on a94-95...but still find and fix that wire/plug...
I think I figured it out.. I think the lower intake manifold is from a fox 5.0. From what I can see, the only air sensor on the 94-95 mustangs is before the throttlebody..
BloodRedStang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 06:45 PM   #16
Registered Member
Regular
 
jduckz5.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: pittsburgh
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 310
He must of sold wat he had and put that on to sell it to u...I don't know if any difference performance wise...
jduckz5.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 06:52 PM   #17
Registered Member
Regular
 
BloodRedStang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Central
Region: Ohio
Posts: 630
Quote:
Originally Posted by jduckz5.0 View Post
He must of sold wat he had and put that on to sell it to u...I don't know if any difference performance wise...
What I'm thinking happened is he thought he knew what he was doing building an engine and just slopped s**t together thinking it would magically work.

I guess it doesn't really matter because I'm building a different motor for it this winter..
BloodRedStang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 07:00 PM   #18
Registered Member
Regular
 
jduckz5.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: pittsburgh
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 310
Nice well then beat the hell out if it...lol throw a 150 shot real quick and beat away...
jduckz5.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 07:07 PM   #19
Registered Member
Regular
 
BloodRedStang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Central
Region: Ohio
Posts: 630
Quote:
Originally Posted by jduckz5.0 View Post
Nice well then beat the hell out if it...lol throw a 150 shot real quick and beat away...
Don't tempt me.. there's a used NoS kit at my buddies speed shop for sale at a decent price..lol

Honestly, I'm going back and forth between doing a 302 with a gt40 top end (or a set of A/M aluminum heads if I can find some cheap, and a good intake combo), a 347 stroker (supposedly the motor in mine is a 347 bottom end but a stock e7 top.. which it might be idk), or a 351w. I've been doing a lot of reading on 408 strokers lately.

Idk. I don't know yet what my budget will be yet so that'll be a big determining factor when the time comes. I know for sure I'm changing the trans out and doing something about the engine..
BloodRedStang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 07:11 PM   #20
Registered Member
Regular
 
jduckz5.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: pittsburgh
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 310
351 would b cheapest and room to really grow...
jduckz5.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 07:14 PM   #21
Registered Member
Regular
 
BloodRedStang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Central
Region: Ohio
Posts: 630
I beat the hell out of this engine/trans all the time because I know the idiot that built it did a hack job..
I took over 3 tenths of a second off my 1/4 mile time just by going back and adjusting things he half assed..
As long as it gets me to work/school til I can afford an el cheapo honda or something to use as a daily driver ill be happy. Once I can afford to tear into it, I will. Or winter.. whichever comes first, I'm not driving this thing in an ohio winter.

---------- Post added at 08:14 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:11 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by jduckz5.0 View Post
351 would b cheapest and room to really grow...
That's my thoughts.. if I build a 300hp motor, ill get bored and want more power, build a 400hp motor, ill get bored.. and 400 is about the limit for a 302. 351 blocks are good to about 700 right?
My only thing is finding a good year 351, and a good injection top end for it
BloodRedStang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 07:23 PM   #22
Registered Member
Regular
 
jduckz5.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: pittsburgh
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 310
351like 700hp or so...I'm buying a terminator Wednesday with 600rwhp...love the modular but I love my 302 and my uncle has a 69 mach 1 with a 351 with 600rwhp its sick also...
jduckz5.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 08:28 PM   #23
Registered Member
Regular
 
BloodRedStang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Central
Region: Ohio
Posts: 630
Quote:
Originally Posted by jduckz5.0 View Post
351like 700hp or so...I'm buying a terminator Wednesday with 600rwhp...love the modular but I love my 302 and my uncle has a 69 mach 1 with a 351 with 600rwhp its sick also...
Right on, post up some pics of the termi when you get it man
BloodRedStang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 08:38 PM   #24
Registered Member
Regular
 
jduckz5.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: pittsburgh
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 310
I will for sure...
jduckz5.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1979-1995 Mustang GT

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



08:51 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.