Help - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1979-1995 Mustang GT



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 10-14-2013, 09:24 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
Yzfoxracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Saint Clair shores
Region: Michigan
Posts: 119
What can cause my 302 to run like crap when still but good when driving it I've already checked the following and there fine distruberter , carb , plugs , wires and I re torqued the intake It's a built 302 Mallory ignition everything auto trans Elderbrock carb
Yzfoxracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-14-2013, 09:49 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
Roguestang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Tampa
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,516
Egr? Vacuum leak? You can spend a lifetime chasing these kinds of issues unfortunately.
__________________
2000 Mustang GT-Former giggle gas addict
1990 Mustang GT w/ Vortech V3

***resident gun idiot***
Roguestang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2013, 09:57 PM   #3
Staff
Regular
Staff
 
scottydsntknow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: JB MDL
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 16,605
Vac leaks, dizzy going out, coil is bad, vac leak... also if the person who built it just slapped it together you could have anything from valvetrain issues to blowby.
__________________
2000 Mustang GT Steeda #0048

Just because I give you advice, doesn't mean I know more than you. Its just means I've done more stupid ****.
scottydsntknow is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-14-2013, 10:08 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
5.oh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Saint louis
Region: Missouri
Posts: 261
I'd check what rogue stang said first, possibly even run the codes even if it doesn't have a check engine light on it'll still come up history codes.. That is if the previous owner or you have not disconnected the battery to reset the computer.
5.oh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2013, 02:18 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
Yzfoxracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Saint Clair shores
Region: Michigan
Posts: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roguestang View Post
Egr? Vacuum leak? You can spend a lifetime chasing these kinds of issues unfortunately.
its a 1971 boss 302 lol it doesn't have egr lol

---------- Post added at 03:16 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:15 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by scottydsntknow View Post
Vac leaks, dizzy going out, coil is bad, vac leak... also if the person who built it just slapped it together you could have anything from valvetrain issues to blowby.
coil is brand new, what's a dizzy, and my dad and grandpaw built it

---------- Post added at 03:16 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:16 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by 5.oh View Post
I'd check what rogue stang said first, possibly even run the codes even if it doesn't have a check engine light on it'll still come up history codes.. That is if the previous owner or you have not disconnected the battery to reset the computer.
lol it's from 1971 so it's not gonna have codes

---------- Post added at 03:18 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:16 PM ----------

And my dad and his dad built the hole car they are the ones who put it in and they're only second owners they have had it sence the 80s
Yzfoxracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2013, 03:17 PM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
Roguestang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Tampa
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,516
Lol Well that info would have been nice from the get-go, but did you check for a vacuum leak?
__________________
2000 Mustang GT-Former giggle gas addict
1990 Mustang GT w/ Vortech V3

***resident gun idiot***
Roguestang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2013, 06:33 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
Yzfoxracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Saint Clair shores
Region: Michigan
Posts: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roguestang View Post
Lol Well that info would have been nice from the get-go, but did you check for a vacuum leak?
lol sorry and no so how should I check it?
Yzfoxracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2013, 10:43 PM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
Roguestang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Tampa
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,516
There's a few different ways to check it, but I've always used a little propane around the vac lines. If the idle smooths out, then you can usually figure out where the leak is. But its still a guess since you say it happens only at idle. I'm assuming its carbed, which I'll admit I'm not real familiar with, but could it be possible your not getting enoigh fuel at idle? Maybe the jets need to be adjusted? I'm just brainstorming here.....lol
__________________
2000 Mustang GT-Former giggle gas addict
1990 Mustang GT w/ Vortech V3

***resident gun idiot***
Roguestang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2013, 06:50 AM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
Yzfoxracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Saint Clair shores
Region: Michigan
Posts: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roguestang View Post
There's a few different ways to check it, but I've always used a little propane around the vac lines. If the idle smooths out, then you can usually figure out where the leak is. But its still a guess since you say it happens only at idle. I'm assuming its carbed, which I'll admit I'm not real familiar with, but could it be possible your not getting enoigh fuel at idle? Maybe the jets need to be adjusted? I'm just brainstorming here.....lol
yeah it's adjusted fine lol and it's a brand new carb
Yzfoxracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2013, 04:09 PM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
Yzfoxracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Saint Clair shores
Region: Michigan
Posts: 119
http://youtu.be/ASDQF5zycfU
Yzfoxracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2013, 04:14 PM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
Yzfoxracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Saint Clair shores
Region: Michigan
Posts: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roguestang View Post
There's a few different ways to check it, but I've always used a little propane around the vac lines. If the idle smooths out, then you can usually figure out where the leak is. But its still a guess since you say it happens only at idle. I'm assuming its carbed, which I'll admit I'm not real familiar with, but could it be possible your not getting enoigh fuel at idle? Maybe the jets need to be adjusted? I'm just brainstorming here.....lol
okay so I checked the vacuum it's all fine the tree was a little loose so I took it off and put some Teflon tape on the threads and tighten the back up and there's only two vacuum lines. Ones from the valve cover to the carburetor and the other is from intake to see the brake booster so it's not vacuum.
Yzfoxracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2013, 04:41 PM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
DK Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Wimauma
Region: Florida
Posts: 28
get a small hose about 2 ft long and place it in your ear then put the other end around the carb base and follow around the intake if their is a leak you will hear it thru the hose. does this motor have vacuum advance?
DK Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2013, 05:27 PM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
Yzfoxracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Saint Clair shores
Region: Michigan
Posts: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by DK Racing View Post
get a small hose about 2 ft long and place it in your ear then put the other end around the carb base and follow around the intake if their is a leak you will hear it thru the hose. does this motor have vacuum advance?
ok and I'm not sure how do I tell
Yzfoxracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2013, 05:32 PM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
DK Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Wimauma
Region: Florida
Posts: 28
you will hear a definete sound if you get the end of the hose by a vacuum leaf just like a stetha scope
DK Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2013, 05:56 PM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
Roguestang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Tampa
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,516
After watching the video, what a nice car!

So looks like its only doing it when in gear. I'm wondering if its a tranny issue? Maybe the torque converter or something isn't right. How's the fluid level?
__________________
2000 Mustang GT-Former giggle gas addict
1990 Mustang GT w/ Vortech V3

***resident gun idiot***
Roguestang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2013, 11:07 AM   #16
Registered Member
Regular
 
Liebert91stang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: New Albany
Region: Indiana
Posts: 375
I agree with rouge.i don't think it motor because it does it in gear like maybe something bent.i would start looking under the car
Liebert91stang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2013, 11:40 AM   #17
Registered Member
Regular
 
351stroker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: The Pas, Mb
Region: Canada
Posts: 443
How about the harmonic balancer. I have seen it twice in the last while. Guys build a motor and just slap on parts without realizing. Two guys had the wrong balancers. Idled good ran like **** and shook like hell in the street.
351stroker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2013, 11:54 AM   #18
Registered Member
Regular
 
Roguestang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Tampa
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,516
Quote:
Originally Posted by 351stroker View Post
How about the harmonic balancer. I have seen it twice in the last while. Guys build a motor and just slap on parts without realizing. Two guys had the wrong balancers. Idled good ran like **** and shook like hell in the street.
Possible too. Once the engine is under load, it can act differently.
__________________
2000 Mustang GT-Former giggle gas addict
1990 Mustang GT w/ Vortech V3

***resident gun idiot***
Roguestang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2013, 01:35 PM   #19
Registered Member
Regular
 
Yzfoxracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Saint Clair shores
Region: Michigan
Posts: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roguestang View Post
Possible too. Once the engine is under load, it can act differently.
yeah but it ran great before
Yzfoxracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2013, 08:48 AM   #20
Registered Member
Regular
 
351stroker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: The Pas, Mb
Region: Canada
Posts: 443
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yzfoxracer View Post
yeah but it ran great before
balancers wear out buddy.
351stroker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2013, 03:37 PM   #21
Registered Member
Regular
 
foxbox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Illinois
Posts: 269
Quote:
Originally Posted by 351stroker View Post
balancers wear out buddy.
I aint your buddy guy...sorry I couldnt help myself
foxbox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2013, 05:16 PM   #22
Registered Member
Regular
 
Yzfoxracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Saint Clair shores
Region: Michigan
Posts: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by foxbox View Post
I aint your buddy guy...sorry I couldnt help myself
lol is cool man haha
Yzfoxracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1979-1995 Mustang GT

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



06:55 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.