Spark plugs - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1979-1995 Mustang GT



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 11-17-2013, 11:17 AM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
1990's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Arlington
Region: Texas
Posts: 57
Spark plugs

M changing my spark plugs today. Any tips?
1990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-17-2013, 11:51 AM   #2
Staff
Regular
Staff
 
scottydsntknow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: JB MDL
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 16,592
Use autolite 25s in stock heads. Gap to .054 do the wires too if they are originals. Anti seize on the threads and do not overtighten.
__________________
2000 Mustang GT Steeda #0048

Just because I give you advice, doesn't mean I know more than you. Its just means I've done more stupid ****.
scottydsntknow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2013, 07:43 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
antnvlz1294's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mount Laurel
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 212
If you cant get autolites, then I'd go for Motorcraft. Oh and stay away from that premium bull just go with regular copper.
antnvlz1294 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-01-2013, 07:00 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
5.oh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Saint louis
Region: Missouri
Posts: 261
I did the motor craft. Pieces of crap. There horrible, cars been sputtering a lot latley 3000 rpm and up.
5.oh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 07:06 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
antnvlz1294's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mount Laurel
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 212
[QUOTE=5.oh;1880955]I did the motor craft. Pieces of crap. There horrible, cars been sputtering a lot latley 3000 rpm and up.[/QUOT

Did you touch the ends of the plugs or drop them before you put them in? Motorcrafts can be a bit touchy. Also are they the standard coppers?
antnvlz1294 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 07:20 PM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
87LX306's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Cleveland Burbs
Region: Ohio
Posts: 201
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5.oh View Post
I did the motor craft. Pieces of crap. There horrible, cars been sputtering a lot latley 3000 rpm and up.
Did you gap them? If so, what did you use to gap them with? Did you perform a spark test? if so, what color spark did you see? Looked at the underside of dizzy cap?

---------- Post added at 08:20 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:19 PM ----------

Also even going more basic, have you pulled them out to see how they are burning?
87LX306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 07:34 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
5.oh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Saint louis
Region: Missouri
Posts: 261
Nope, I used the round gapper. Don't touch em at all.

---------- Post added at 08:34 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:32 PM ----------

Did not perform a spark test, and replaced the distributor cap when I did it. Did not do wires. And I'll be pulling the plugs tomorrow to see. Hopefully no oil on em. In my car it smells like gas, no gas leaks. Just not burning for some reason. 3000 up though, sputters like crazy.
5.oh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 07:38 PM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
87LX306's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Cleveland Burbs
Region: Ohio
Posts: 201
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5.oh View Post
Nope, I used the round gapper. Don't touch em at all.
Toss the "ramp tool" in the sh*t heap and use feeler blades/gapping pliers. Much easier on the plugs.

---------- Post added at 08:38 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:35 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by 5.oh View Post
Nope, I used the round gapper. Don't touch em at all.

---------- Post added at 08:34 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:32 PM ----------

Did not perform a spark test, and replaced the distributor cap when I did it. Did not do wires. And I'll be pulling the plugs tomorrow to see. Hopefully no oil on em. In my car it smells like gas, no gas leaks. Just not burning for some reason. 3000 up though, sputters like crazy.
Egr probs/O2 sensors will give you issues like that as well.
87LX306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 07:48 PM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
antnvlz1294's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mount Laurel
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 212
Quote:
Originally Posted by 87LX306 View Post
Toss the "ramp tool" in the sh*t heap and use feeler blades/gapping pliers. Much easier on the plugs.

---------- Post added at 08:38 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:35 PM ----------



Egr probs/O2 sensors will give you issues like that as well.
Yeah just had to replace my egr valve.
antnvlz1294 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 07:53 PM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
surfinglbi23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Haddonfield
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 108
I just changed mine 300 miles ago back from autolite 25s to standard motorcraft. I'm happy with them, no issues on my end. Maybe you got a bad plug?
surfinglbi23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 08:08 PM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
5.oh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Saint louis
Region: Missouri
Posts: 261
Well with the plug I had in there before the change my car was running rich on the dyno. Bout two weeks after the plug change my car started stud seeing at 5000 now it's getting down to 3000. It did have an egr code but I didn't think that'd **** it up like that. I guess it's getting worse.
5.oh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 08:24 PM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
5.oh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Saint louis
Region: Missouri
Posts: 261
Well with the plug I had in there before the change my car was running rich on the dyno. Bout two weeks after the plug change my car started stud seeing at 5000 now it's getting down to 3000. It did have an egr code but I didn't think that'd **** it up like that. I guess it's getting worse.
5.oh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2013, 04:28 PM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
Roguestang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Tampa
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,516
Quote:
Originally Posted by surfinglbi23 View Post
I just changed mine 300 miles ago back from autolite 25s to standard motorcraft. I'm happy with them, no issues on my end. Maybe you got a bad plug?
I did the same thing about a year ago. No problems with my car either.
__________________
2000 Mustang GT-Former giggle gas addict
1990 Mustang GT w/ Vortech V3

***resident gun idiot***
Roguestang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2013, 07:03 PM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
5.oh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Saint louis
Region: Missouri
Posts: 261
Maybe I just got bad luck.. Or other problems
5.oh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1979-1995 Mustang GT

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



11:07 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.