GT40 Heads & Intake ???'s - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1979-1995 Mustang GT

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 12-05-2013, 03:48 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Arizona
GT40 Heads & Intake ???'s

Hi Stangsters !!!
I bought a GT40 upper & Lower Intake & a set of GT40 3-Bar Heads from a 96 Explorer. The Explorer's odometer was at almost 200K mi. so I'm wondering what all I should do to the Heads. I want to put Roller Rockers but not sure what the difference would be using 1.6 or 1.7 Rockers. What about Push Rods, Springs, etc? Are there specific one for certain cams & Rocker Set ups ? I've never built an engine before so all advice would be helpful. I'm thinking I'll probably have to have a Valve job...but not sure??? Give me some ideas on what to do to these heads. Also...how do I know which cam to use with the Rockers. I'm going to use a 70mm Throttle Body w/ 75mm MAF Sensor. I'm running Shorty Headers, Hi-Flo Cats w/ X-Pipe & Glass Packs all 2.5" exhaust. Not sure any of that makes a difference...but thought it might be helpful. I'm trying to get 300+++ H.P. out of a 94 Mustang 5.0.
Thx to anyone & everyone who sends some advice.
Sincerely, HELLISH HORSE
Hellish Horse is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-05-2013, 03:59 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular

Region: California
A lot of info about the GT 40 heads and intake here.

Heads... Five.Oh Info : The Ultimate Ford GT40 and GT40P Cylinder Head FAQ

Intake... The Ultimate GT40, Cobra and Explorer Intake Manifold FAQ - FiveOhInfo.com
ALMOST STOCK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2013, 04:39 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular

Region: New Jersey
with those heads and intake , and a good street cam ( E303 ) headers, exhaust , etc you can easily achieve 300 HP
If your going to go with a cam there's no need to go with 1.7 rockers ,just stay with 1.6's