Mustang Evolution Forum banner

Hid lights

5K views 55 replies 10 participants last post by  Adogg 
#1 ·
Hello I was looking for new lights for my 1989 Mustang gt convertible 5.0 and I was wondering if anyone knew where I could get a really good hid light kit?

galaxy s4

#3 ·
There are several companies offering retrofit services. Just putting a hid setup in your factory housings is dangerous and illegal.

Sent from my massive johnson.

#5 ·
Ok it's not technically illegal..... Speaking from years of experience as a car audio installer I've installed many of these in fox bodies with no problem and it only becomes illegal after 8k the spectrum is as follows 6k is super white 8k is white with a blue tint 10k is blue 12k is purple and so On I have 8k's in mine and have never had a problem and can see twice as good as halogen

#6 ·
It's not that the color is illegal. It's the fact that the stock reflectors can't properly aim the light onto the road. Some of it ends up pointing straight into oncoming traffic. Pisses me off because about 50% of the cars here in Anchorage have plug and play HIDs.

#7 ·
The ones I put in foxes have a metal shield over the top to prevent this from happening I would not advise plug an play hids plus those housing aren't meant to handle regular hid's...... The plug and play hids burn upwards of 900 degrees f.... So it would only be a matter of time before those short out anyways

#9 ·
Yes like I said before the plug and play hid's I wouldn't advise but the ones I use with the metal shield work great without blinding everyone on the highway and depending where u live .... Which I live in tx....... Hid's are legal up to 8k and with the proper retrofit can be an awesome look for your fox

#10 ·
Please post a beam pattern from some of your metal shielded HIDs because I guarantee they are not making a correct DOT approved HID pattern.

#11 ·