Mustang acceleration problems - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1979-1995 Mustang GT



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 09-04-2014, 12:22 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
SkylerTallman_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Pickens
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 313
Mustang acceleration problems

Hey guys, I'm having trouble with my 94 5.0. It will accelerate very slowly and will stall itself even at high speeds occasionally when I depress the clutch. The thing is that if I'm at a half tank of gas, it will accelerate fine and pull pretty hard. Could it be spark plugs? Maf sensor? And it also won't pull hard when it's cold at all, even when I do have a half tank. And my fuel pump was checked and it's reading 39lbs so that shouldn't be the problem. Thanks


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
SkylerTallman_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-04-2014, 01:16 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
kyle_rivas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 431
Get a tune up before doing anything

instagram @5.0_rivas
kyle_rivas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2014, 01:17 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
SkylerTallman_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Pickens
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 313
Quote:
Originally Posted by kyle_rivas View Post
Get a tune up before doing anything

instagram @5.0_rivas

Sorry I didn't include that but I did do a full tune up and it helped but not near to what it should be running at.


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
SkylerTallman_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-04-2014, 01:25 PM   #4
Registered Member

Regular
 
natestang07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Soap Lake
Region: Washington
Posts: 5,321
Yep clean up your maf and take a look at your plugs. Has it been awhile since they were changed?

05 Gt Premium Performance White, flowmaster outlaws
natestang07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2014, 01:33 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
SkylerTallman_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Pickens
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 313
Quote:
Originally Posted by natestang07 View Post
Yep clean up your maf and take a look at your plugs. Has it been awhile since they were changed?

05 Gt Premium Performance White, flowmaster outlaws

Cleaned my maf and changed plugs and wires during tune up.


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
SkylerTallman_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2014, 01:38 PM   #6
Registered Member

Regular
 
natestang07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Soap Lake
Region: Washington
Posts: 5,321
Does it feel like there is slack in the pedal kind of?

05 Gt Premium Performance White, flowmaster outlaws

---------- Post added at 11:38 AM ---------- Previous post was at 11:37 AM ----------

And how did the plugs look by the way? Any discoloration on them?

05 Gt Premium Performance White, flowmaster outlaws
natestang07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2014, 01:40 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
SkylerTallman_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Pickens
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 313
Quote:
Originally Posted by natestang07 View Post
Does it feel like there is slack in the pedal kind of?

05 Gt Premium Performance White, flowmaster outlaws

---------- Post added at 11:38 AM ---------- Previous post was at 11:37 AM ----------

And how did the plugs look by the way? Any discoloration on them?

05 Gt Premium Performance White, flowmaster outlaws

Not really but I floor it, and it doesn't speed up, it just revs slowly. And I didn't notice. Will then be gapped wrong do this.?


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
SkylerTallman_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2014, 01:45 PM   #8
Registered Member

Regular
 
natestang07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Soap Lake
Region: Washington
Posts: 5,321
Possibly but I'm a little skeptical on that. Fuel filter changed or no?

05 Gt Premium Performance White, flowmaster outlaws
natestang07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2014, 01:46 PM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
SkylerTallman_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Pickens
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 313
Quote:
Originally Posted by natestang07 View Post
Possibly but I'm a little skeptical on that. Fuel filter changed or no?

05 Gt Premium Performance White, flowmaster outlaws

Yes sir, changed the fuel filter and fuel pump read 39lbs so didn't change it


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
SkylerTallman_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2014, 01:49 PM   #10
Registered Member

Regular
 
natestang07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Soap Lake
Region: Washington
Posts: 5,321
http://www.ehow.com/facts_4881478_sy...gs.html#page=6
read through that real quick and see how much of it is related to you if any

05 Gt Premium Performance White, flowmaster outlaws
natestang07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2014, 01:52 PM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
SkylerTallman_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Pickens
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 313
Quote:
Originally Posted by natestang07 View Post
http://www.ehow.com/facts_4881478_sy...gs.html#page=6
read through that real quick and see how much of it is related to you if any

05 Gt Premium Performance White, flowmaster outlaws

Everything but the knocking. The spark plugs are around 3 months old. Should I just take them out and check and fix the gap or buy new ones?


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
SkylerTallman_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2014, 01:54 PM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
99_GRUMPY_GT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Cabo Rojo, P.R.
Region: Other
Posts: 590
Have you checked your TPS (Throttle Position Sensor)?

And is there any codes, check engine light (CEL)? And if so what are they?

And what kind of plugs did you put in the car? And what gap?
__________________


2015 Race Red Performance Package GT 5.0 (435hp) stock
Still in the making Updates coming soon!
99_GRUMPY_GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2014, 01:56 PM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
SkylerTallman_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Pickens
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 313
Quote:
Originally Posted by 99_GRUMPY_GT View Post
Have you checked your TPS (Throttle Position Sensor)?

And is there any codes, check engine light (CEL)? And if so what are they?

No I haven't checked that. And it's throwing codes, my mechanic told me while he did work on it awhile back but said he doesn't know much about sn95's and couldn't figure out what they codes meant


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
SkylerTallman_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2014, 01:56 PM   #14
Registered Member

Regular
 
natestang07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Soap Lake
Region: Washington
Posts: 5,321
^ he can help a lot more than me. He seems rather knowledgeable

05 Gt Premium Performance White, flowmaster outlaws
natestang07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2014, 01:57 PM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
SkylerTallman_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Pickens
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 313
And the plugs were motorcraft


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
SkylerTallman_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2014, 01:58 PM   #16
Registered Member

Regular
 
natestang07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Soap Lake
Region: Washington
Posts: 5,321
Do you remember what the codes were?

05 Gt Premium Performance White, flowmaster outlaws
natestang07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2014, 02:00 PM   #17
Registered Member
Regular
 
SkylerTallman_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Pickens
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 313
Quote:
Originally Posted by natestang07 View Post
Do you remember what the codes were?

05 Gt Premium Performance White, flowmaster outlaws

He didn't tell me the codes. He just told me his buddy could put it on his dyno and can mess around with it because his buddy specializes in sn95's. But of course for a couple hundred dollars


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
SkylerTallman_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2014, 02:02 PM   #18
Registered Member

Regular
 
natestang07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Soap Lake
Region: Washington
Posts: 5,321
Quote:
Originally Posted by SkylerTallman_ View Post
He didn't tell me the codes. He just told me his buddy could put it on his dyno and can mess around with it because his buddy specializes in sn95's. But of course for a couple hundred dollars


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
You should get the codes from somewhere. Autozone does it for free but not sire if they could do it for you because I assume you have an obdI

05 Gt Premium Performance White, flowmaster outlaws
natestang07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2014, 02:04 PM   #19
Registered Member
Regular
 
SkylerTallman_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Pickens
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 313
Quote:
Originally Posted by natestang07 View Post
You should get the codes from somewhere. Autozone does it for free but not sire if they could do it for you because I assume you have an obdI

05 Gt Premium Performance White, flowmaster outlaws

Yea I can't. Unfortunately I cant use the hand held scanners


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
SkylerTallman_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2014, 02:09 PM   #20
Registered Member
Regular
 
99_GRUMPY_GT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Cabo Rojo, P.R.
Region: Other
Posts: 590
Are you still showing a CEL now? And if so do you have a scan tool to pull the codes? If not then you can go to any Autozone or Advance Auto and have them pull the codes for free. I would like to know what they are as that is the key to all this most likely. And the first place I would want to look is at the TPS. And you can check the TPS yourself with a voltage meter.

You can test the TPS with a volt meter, preferably a anolog meter as you can visually see the rise in voltage better than a digital meter. Measure it's output voltage ~1V with the throttle closed, (V output)=(V reference) with it open (~5V).

If you are going to test it, take the voltage meter and test i9t throughout the range of the throttle body operation...

You want to see a nice smooth increase in voltage...you don't want to see an increase to a certain voltage, then a plateau, and then another increase...TPS are known to develop those dead spots.
__________________


2015 Race Red Performance Package GT 5.0 (435hp) stock
Still in the making Updates coming soon!
99_GRUMPY_GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2014, 02:10 PM   #21
Registered Member
Regular
 
SkylerTallman_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Pickens
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 313
Quote:
Originally Posted by 99_GRUMPY_GT View Post
Are you still showing a CEL now? And if so do you have a scan tool to pull the codes? If not then you can go to any Autozone or Advance Auto and have them pull the codes for free. I would like to know what they are as that is the key to all this most likely. And the first place I would want to look is at the TPS. And you can check the TPS yourself with a voltage meter.

You can test the TPS with a volt meter, preferably a anolog meter as you can visually see the rise in voltage better than a digital meter. Measure it's output voltage ~1V with the throttle closed, (V output)=(V reference) with it open (~5V).

If you are going to test it, take the voltage meter and test i9t throughout the range of the throttle body operation...

You want to see a nice smooth increase in voltage...you don't want to see an increase to a certain voltage, then a plateau, and then another increase...TPS are known to develop those dead spots.

The check engine light goes on and off randomly.


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
SkylerTallman_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2014, 02:11 PM   #22
Registered Member
Regular
 
99_GRUMPY_GT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Cabo Rojo, P.R.
Region: Other
Posts: 590
Quote:
Originally Posted by SkylerTallman_ View Post
Yea I can't. Unfortunately I cant use the hand held scanners


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
That is not true, OBDI systems can be read by a scanner, it is a analog scanner that has a red blinker on it to read out the code format for each code and Autozone and Advance do have them. You plug it up to your test port in the engine bay near the D/S firewall.

Here is a picture of one.

Click image for larger version

Name:	41KVFHFKSQL__SY355_.jpg
Views:	134
Size:	17.2 KB
ID:	165171
__________________


2015 Race Red Performance Package GT 5.0 (435hp) stock
Still in the making Updates coming soon!
99_GRUMPY_GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2014, 02:13 PM   #23
Registered Member
Regular
 
99_GRUMPY_GT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Cabo Rojo, P.R.
Region: Other
Posts: 590
Quote:
Originally Posted by SkylerTallman_ View Post
The check engine light goes on and off randomly.


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
That is good then, now we can get the codes to see what it is telling you.
__________________


2015 Race Red Performance Package GT 5.0 (435hp) stock
Still in the making Updates coming soon!
99_GRUMPY_GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2014, 02:13 PM   #24
Registered Member
Regular
 
SkylerTallman_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Pickens
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 313
Quote:
Originally Posted by 99_GRUMPY_GT View Post
That is not true, OBDI systems can be read by a scanner, it is a analog scanner that has a red blinker on it to read out the code format for each code and Autozone and Advance do have them.

Here is a picture of one.

Attachment 165171

I went to my local advance auto a couple weeks back and they wouldn't do it. They denied me. Can I buy one from advance auto and read them myself


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
SkylerTallman_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2014, 02:18 PM   #25
Registered Member
Regular
 
99_GRUMPY_GT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Cabo Rojo, P.R.
Region: Other
Posts: 590
Quote:
Originally Posted by SkylerTallman_ View Post
I went to my local advance auto a couple weeks back and they wouldn't do it. They denied me. Can I buy one from advance auto and read them myself


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
Yes, that is what I meant. The OBDI scanners are cheap because they are analog. But the book supplied with the scanner will tell you how to interpret the series of blinks the red light makes, it will read out one series of blinks, then a quick break and then a second series of blinks, and so on to the next codes, then it will repeat itself once all the codes have been read. I keep one handy at home along with my OBDII scanner as my neighbor and others are running OBDI systems.
__________________


2015 Race Red Performance Package GT 5.0 (435hp) stock
Still in the making Updates coming soon!
99_GRUMPY_GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2014, 02:19 PM   #26
Registered Member
Regular
 
SkylerTallman_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Pickens
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 313
Quote:
Originally Posted by 99_GRUMPY_GT View Post
Yes, that is what I meant. The OBDI scanners are cheap because they are analog. But the book supplied with the scanner will tell you how to interpret the series of blinks the red light makes, it will read out one series of blinks, then a quick break and then a second series of blinks, and so on to the next codes, then it will repeat itself once all the codes have been read. I keep one handy at home along with my OBDII scanner as my neighbor and others are running OBDI systems.

How much are one of these? Like how cheap?


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
SkylerTallman_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2014, 02:24 PM   #27
Registered Member
Regular
 
99_GRUMPY_GT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Cabo Rojo, P.R.
Region: Other
Posts: 590
Here it is at autozone


Actron/OBD I code scanner (CP9015) | Code Reader | AutoZone.com_
__________________


2015 Race Red Performance Package GT 5.0 (435hp) stock
Still in the making Updates coming soon!
99_GRUMPY_GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2014, 02:34 PM   #28
Registered Member
Regular
 
SkylerTallman_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Pickens
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 313
Quote:
Originally Posted by 99_GRUMPY_GT View Post

On my way to autozone to get one. Get back to the thread later with the codes


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
SkylerTallman_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2014, 02:45 PM   #29
Registered Member
Regular
 
99_GRUMPY_GT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Cabo Rojo, P.R.
Region: Other
Posts: 590
Quote:
Originally Posted by SkylerTallman_ View Post
On my way to autozone to get one. Get back to the thread later with the codes


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
That is what I am talking about, action causes reaction. If you have any problems with the CEL codes, just chime in.
__________________


2015 Race Red Performance Package GT 5.0 (435hp) stock
Still in the making Updates coming soon!
99_GRUMPY_GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2014, 02:59 PM   #30
Registered Member
Regular
 
SkylerTallman_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Pickens
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 313
This is the right one? Just to be 100% positive before I open itClick image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByMustang Evolution1409860780.772192.jpg
Views:	79
Size:	848.5 KB
ID:	165174


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
SkylerTallman_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2014, 03:06 PM   #31
Registered Member
Regular
 
99_GRUMPY_GT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Cabo Rojo, P.R.
Region: Other
Posts: 590
Boy, you are fast. You must live nest door to Autozone. Yep the same one as I got. I even supplied a pic of mine for you to compare.

Click image for larger version

Name:	20140904_160345.jpg
Views:	85
Size:	1.78 MB
ID:	165175
__________________


2015 Race Red Performance Package GT 5.0 (435hp) stock
Still in the making Updates coming soon!
99_GRUMPY_GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2014, 04:34 PM   #32
Registered Member
Regular
 
SkylerTallman_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Pickens
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 313
Hey man, I can't get it to work. It's plugged in and I'm following the steps so I think. The device turns on and just will continually beep. No pauses on anything. Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByMustang Evolution1409866434.493660.jpg
Views:	80
Size:	742.8 KB
ID:	165185


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
SkylerTallman_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2014, 04:42 PM   #33
Staff
Regular
Staff
 
scottydsntknow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: JB MDL
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 16,610
You don't need a scanner, you can use the check engine light to pull the codes. Google the procedure. You basically just jumper the OBD1 port with a paper clip or whatever and the CEL will blink your your codes. Example, if it was 585 (no idea if that is a real code) it would be 5 blinks, pause, 8 blinks, pause, 5 blinks.

Also, just because you are reading 39lbs at idle doesn't mean its not the pump.
__________________
2000 Mustang GT Steeda #0048

Just because I give you advice, doesn't mean I know more than you. Its just means I've done more stupid ****.
scottydsntknow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2014, 05:12 PM   #34
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Salinas
Region: California
Posts: 7,418
The truck that I recently purchased has the same intermittent CEL. I read the code using the "jumper" method and it's the EGR valve. That doesn't necessarily mean that's the problem with you car.
You need to retrieve that code for us to be able to help you. We could sit around and guess at what your problem is all day long...
straybullitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2014, 05:16 PM   #35
Registered Member
Regular
 
99_GRUMPY_GT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Cabo Rojo, P.R.
Region: Other
Posts: 590
Did you plug the scanner up with the key off, then put the scanner to hold position? Then once the scanner is placed on hold, go and turn the key to the on position without starting, then go to scanner and switch it to test?
__________________


2015 Race Red Performance Package GT 5.0 (435hp) stock
Still in the making Updates coming soon!
99_GRUMPY_GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1979-1995 Mustang GT

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Acceleration Problems NhFireSlayer Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 10 10-12-2013 11:55 PM
Ford Acceleration Problems TAG The Bar 37 09-03-2013 06:51 PM
Can a fuel filter cause acceleration problems. lemons95 Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 2 08-30-2013 05:46 AM
acceleration problems blk99stang Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 3 04-02-2006 02:32 PM

» Like Us On Facebook



11:03 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.