Best Upgrades for The Money - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1979-1995 Mustang GT

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 02-21-2009, 08:07 PM   #1

Best Upgrades for The Money

Newbie here. I just bought a 87 LX 5.0 5spd. It runs ok but I need more power . The car is completely stock. I want to know what upgrades would be the best for the money. I was told cold air intake, H pipe, and under drive pulleys is the first things you should do. but IDK what to do after that. MSD, 3.73, TB and spacer??? and 1 more thing is it possible to catch traction is this car. 1st gear spins all the way through 2nd. ????
87foxbody5spd is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-21-2009, 08:13 PM   #2
Legacy Member
Legacy

Region: Texas
Send a message via AIM to bbunt302
Re: Best Upgrades for The Money

The TB will be a waste of time until you get a better intake and heads. The spacer is pretty much useless in general. The CAI (cold air intake) will also be a bit of a waste. The H pipe and underdrive pulleys aren't a bad place to start. Next, I would say gears. Of course, that'll make your traction problems even worse... But that's a good thing, right?

Scary stuff.
bbunt302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2009, 08:59 AM   #3

yeah i guess that is good but i would hate to lose to a slower car though. how much work is it to put on gt-40 heads and intake??
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-22-2009, 09:17 AM   #4
Legacy Member
Legacy

If you are not experienced with swapping heads on a car, I wouldn't recommend doing it alone. But maybe you can find someone on here in your area that would be willing to help for a case of beer. It's not really a lot of work, and can be done fairly quickly if you know what you're doing.

Scary stuff.
Old 02-22-2009, 10:04 AM   #5