Jimmy's Fiberglass Thread (1st time) - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Off Topic Forums > Pictures and Videos

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 07-05-2009, 11:02 AM   #1
Legacy Member
Legacy

Region: Iowa
Send a message via AIM to jimmy_beaner Send a message via MSN to jimmy_beaner Send a message via Yahoo to jimmy_beaner
Jimmy's Fiberglass Thread (1st time)

So I've decided to try to fiberglass a drainage pan for my hood. This is my first time working with fiberglass, so I thought I would take some pictures of the process.

I started by removing the hood, and cleaning up the louver openings more since it needs to be repainted anyway.
Next, I made a mold out of foam board, reinforced by some Gorilla tape.
This was test fit to the hood:

Then, the fiberglassing started.
Wax Paper as release agent on the mold.

And it dried/set:

Released from the mold:

Trimmed:

And test fit to the hood:

It does have some slight issues... I need to sand it and such. I also am planning on using fiberglass blanket around the edges to really help seal it to the hood. Let me know what you guys think. So far, those pictures represent 12 hours from starting of mold making to trim.

SOLD! 2002 Sonic Blue GT, 5 Speed
Mods: MGW Short Throw Shifter, Mach 1 Brakes
Hypercoated Saleens, Eibach Pro-Kit, Bilstein shocks/struts, Borla Exhaust, Steeda Wing, 03 Cobra hood, Cobra mirrors, 03 Cobra Front Bumper, smoked fogs/headlights, 03 Cobra side skirts, Grill Delete, Mach C-pillars
jimmy_beaner is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-05-2009, 12:54 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Louisiana
Re: Jimmy's Fiberglass Thread (1st time)

moral of the story is don't open up the vents on the hood of a car with a 2V motor

Just kidding Brian. It looks great. You did an awesome job for your first time using fiberglass. Gonna look really good finish sanded and painted.