Running the power wire - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > Mustang Audio & Video



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 11-07-2005, 01:28 PM   #1
Registered User
Newbie
 
cterie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 17
Running the power wire

I have a 2000 Mustang GT and Im trying to find a hole in the firewall so I can run a power wire to my amps. Anyone know where I can find one?
cterie is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-07-2005, 02:12 PM   #2
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
DarkShadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 1,734
Send a message via AIM to DarkShadow
Re: Running the power wire

Let's see it was a while since I did mine....the easiest place to see one is by looking under the hood, not the inside of the car. I believe it was between the brake drum and the steering components. It's just a little black grommet that you'll have to use a knife to make a whole to put the wire through, and then it'll close around the wire so don't make the hole unnecessarily big.
__________________
DarkShadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2005, 02:26 PM   #3
Registered User
Newbie
 
cterie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 17
Re: Running the power wire

do you know what side its on? The side with the battery or the other side? Im working right now I'll have to look better when I get home. But its good to know that there is one.
cterie is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-07-2005, 02:35 PM   #4
15.3 Second V8 Killer Yo
Legacy
Regular
 
PureVenom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 7,212
Send a message via AIM to PureVenom Send a message via MSN to PureVenom Send a message via Yahoo to PureVenom
Re: Running the power wire

I would say look on the drivers side first by the steering column and such. I believe that is where a number of people that have run battery relocation kits have run their wires as well. I think there is at least 1 extra hole there if I remember right.

Edit: Oh yeah, and, Welcome to the site :beer:
__________________
"When I know more, I'll be forthcoming. Or I won't be forthcoming, and I'll be honestly deceptive." - Les Miles
PureVenom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2005, 04:21 PM   #5
I liek gramer
Legacy
 
WhiteStang99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Region: Florida
Posts: 8,537
Send a message via AIM to WhiteStang99
Re: Running the power wire

there's definitely one where Smurfin said, under the dash on the driver's side. It has a rubber grommet thing around it.
WhiteStang99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2005, 05:43 PM   #6
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
DarkShadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 1,734
Send a message via AIM to DarkShadow
Re: Running the power wire

Yes, on the driver's side between the brake drum and the steering components.
__________________
DarkShadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2005, 07:06 PM   #7
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
lowflyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Region: Mississippi
Posts: 19,890
Send a message via AIM to lowflyn
Re: Running the power wire

You guys forget..he has a gt, a little harder to get in there and find one. Rob is about the only one that can look and find a spot.
__________________
"I'm not driving too fast...just flying too low"
Mine:
-03 SB Cobra vert- 2552 of 5082 Born 02/25/03
Our's:
90 7up vert - new project-07 DSG Focus -DD
335
lowflyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2005, 07:51 PM   #8
I liek gramer
Legacy
 
WhiteStang99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Region: Florida
Posts: 8,537
Send a message via AIM to WhiteStang99
Re: Running the power wire

It's still there, haha.
WhiteStang99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2005, 08:26 PM   #9
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
DarkShadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 1,734
Send a message via AIM to DarkShadow
Re: Running the power wire

Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiteStang99
It's still there, haha.
Yep it's still in the same spot.
__________________
DarkShadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2005, 08:30 AM   #10
Registered User
Newbie
 
cterie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 17
Re: Running the power wire

ok thanks alot guys I found it. It really wasnt hard at all I was just missing it.
cterie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2005, 03:05 PM   #11
Road Trip!
 
Tbird232ci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Region: Maryland
Posts: 1,170
Send a message via AIM to Tbird232ci
Re: Running the power wire

i thought thats where the clutch cable passed through?
Tbird232ci is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > Mustang Audio & Video

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
power wire? tylbrune Mustang Audio & Video 2 02-16-2010 01:10 PM
Running power around the factory amp to the speakers Kiljosh Mustang Audio & Video 0 01-06-2007 10:17 PM
running problem less power jedwards242000 Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 7 08-01-2006 04:23 PM
WHere to wire A/F ratio sensor wire?!? TheSarge Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 0 09-04-2003 03:00 AM
I need a power wire to splice into. Rellik Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 22 07-30-2003 12:56 PM

» Like Us On Facebook



10:25 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.