Update I want to see pics of amp installations - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > Mustang Audio & Video



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 02-02-2006, 11:23 AM   #1
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Danger Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 5,187
Send a message via AIM to Danger Dude
Update I want to see pics of amp installations

OK I want some ideas on where to mount a amp. I would prefer to not mount it in the trunk and forget about using the spare tire area. Has anyone mounted it under the seat, in front of the console where the stock amp is. or if in the trunk how about attached to the bottom of the package shelf.

Let me here from you guys
__________________
Danger Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-02-2006, 11:33 AM   #2
Moderator Emeritus
Legacy
Regular
 
SpectorV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Alabama
Posts: 26,049
Send a message via AIM to SpectorV
Re: Where to mount the AMP

you MAY can get by with putting it under the bottom of the back seat, im not sure if there is much if any room under there... but its a thought.
__________________
2003 Cobra Vert (Redfire) #3938 of 5082 @ 05/27/2003
472rwhp/493rwtq -Modification List - Dyno Sheet
2012 Mustang 3.7L M6 (Kona Blue)
2011 Ford Edge Sport (Red Metallic)
SpectorV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2006, 01:25 PM   #3
Registered User
Regular
 
Brent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 11,873
Re: Where to mount the AMP

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danger Dude
OK I want some ideas on where to mount a amp. I would prefer to not mount it in the trunk and forget about using the spare tire area. Has anyone mounted it under the seat, in front of the console where the stock amp is. or if in the trunk how about attached to the bottom of the package shelf.

Let me here from you guys
I mount it on the back of the backseat.

I always did it on the back of the driver side back seat. Fold the backseat down and mount it on the back of that.
__________________

Reddit
Brent is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-02-2006, 02:20 PM   #4
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Danger Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 5,187
Send a message via AIM to Danger Dude
Re: Where to mount the AMP

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brent
I mount it on the back of the backseat.

I always did it on the back of the driver side back seat. Fold the backseat down and mount it on the back of that.

Did you run wires under the carpet over the drive line tunnel and under the back seat???
__________________
Danger Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2006, 03:16 PM   #5
Registered User
Regular
 
Brent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 11,873
Re: Where to mount the AMP

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danger Dude
Did you run wires under the carpet over the drive line tunnel and under the back seat???
I ran the wires under the driver side door sill and then under the backseat.

You can do it that way though
__________________

Reddit
Brent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2006, 04:16 PM   #6
I liek gramer
Legacy
 
WhiteStang99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Region: Florida
Posts: 8,537
Send a message via AIM to WhiteStang99
Re: Where to mount the AMP

I have some wires going under the carpet, you can do that easily if you take out the console and rear seats. no chance they'll be seen, and they're safe there.
WhiteStang99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2006, 05:57 PM   #7
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
lowflyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Region: Mississippi
Posts: 19,890
Send a message via AIM to lowflyn
Re: Where to mount the AMP

Probably the easiest way to run wires is to run them under the door sill and under the back seat from there. Unless you want to take your seats out and run the wires under the carpet there. Just be sure to run your power wire away from your signal wire, otherwise you will most likely get feedback that will drive you crazy.

As far as mounting the amp, when I get my other amp in..I'm gonna make a custom rack that hangs down from the rear deck and mount my amps there, that way they're out of the way, and kinda stealth.
__________________
"I'm not driving too fast...just flying too low"
Mine:
-03 SB Cobra vert- 2552 of 5082 Born 02/25/03
Our's:
90 7up vert - new project-07 DSG Focus -DD
335
lowflyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2006, 07:35 PM   #8
I liek gramer
Legacy
 
WhiteStang99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Region: Florida
Posts: 8,537
Send a message via AIM to WhiteStang99
Re: Where to mount the AMP

Taking the seats out is easy though, and definitely worth it. I have power under the door sills and signal under the carpet, or vice versa. I think it is vice versa.
WhiteStang99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2006, 08:10 PM   #9
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Danger Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 5,187
Send a message via AIM to Danger Dude
Re: Where to mount the AMP

the passenger seat takes like 5 minutes to take out
__________________
Danger Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2006, 08:40 PM   #10
Registered User
Regular
 
Brent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 11,873
Re: Where to mount the AMP

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danger Dude
the passenger seat takes like 5 minutes to take out
yea but your power wire drops in through the driver side firewall
__________________

Reddit
Brent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2006, 11:18 PM   #11
I liek gramer
Legacy
 
WhiteStang99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Region: Florida
Posts: 8,537
Send a message via AIM to WhiteStang99
Re: Where to mount the AMP

you don't even need to remove the front seats!
WhiteStang99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2006, 11:22 PM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
timpryor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Region: Texas
Posts: 676
Re: Where to mount the AMP

DONT put it under the rear seat, no ventallation, i would mount it to the back of the back seats, as that is where we install them at work
__________________
"The LORD shall judge the people:judge me, O Lord, according to my righteousness, and according to mine integrity that is in me." PSALM 7:8

In Texas? check out www.lonestarstangs.com
timpryor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2006, 12:28 AM   #13
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Danger Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 5,187
Send a message via AIM to Danger Dude
Re: Where to mount the AMP

Quote:
Originally Posted by timpryor
DONT put it under the rear seat, no ventallation, i would mount it to the back of the back seats, as that is where we install them at work

I would not dare stick it under the rear seat it would burn slap up.
__________________
Danger Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2006, 12:31 AM   #14
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Thomas91169's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Region: California
Posts: 2,280
Send a message via AIM to Thomas91169
Re: Where to mount the AMP

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brent
I mount it on the back of the backseat.
i second this. nice and clean and easy to access. run the amp from the battery through a grommet(youll see one), down behind the drivers kick panel, and under the carpet, under the rear seat and up to the amp. find youself a nice piece of unibody, and take a wire brush attachment and stick it on the end of a drill, and remove the paint till that surface(1"x1") is super shiny, then use a self taping screw and youre done. just make sure youre not drilling into anything important. the edges and walls of the spare tire compartment are pretty empty from anything important or support welds that suck to drill through. trust me, i have 3 seperate ground points all along the spare tire recess.

eh **** it corey, lemme build you up something nice......... im pretty sure the stuff for my enclosure would fit the same in your trunk.
__________________
-Thomas-

1998 Eclipse GST Spyder - 14b turbo | 3" Catback | Evo8 BoV | 170fwhp if that

2003 Redfire Cobra - 448whp/435wtq - Sold
Thomas91169 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2006, 06:11 AM   #15
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Danger Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 5,187
Send a message via AIM to Danger Dude
Re: Where to mount the AMP

Quote:
Originally Posted by EclipseGSTdude
i second this. nice and clean and easy to access. run the amp from the battery through a grommet(youll see one), down behind the drivers kick panel, and under the carpet, under the rear seat and up to the amp. find youself a nice piece of unibody, and take a wire brush attachment and stick it on the end of a drill, and remove the paint till that surface(1"x1") is super shiny, then use a self taping screw and youre done. just make sure youre not drilling into anything important. the edges and walls of the spare tire compartment are pretty empty from anything important or support welds that suck to drill through. trust me, i have 3 seperate ground points all along the spare tire recess.

eh **** it corey, lemme build you up something nice......... im pretty sure the stuff for my enclosure would fit the same in your trunk.
What enclosures are you talking about. I want the full use of my trunk. I travel all the time in my stang. I could handle maybe a amp mounted on the rear seat back but I dont want anything that occupies trunk floor space
__________________
Danger Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2006, 10:56 AM   #16
Registered Member
Regular
 
a00v6stang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Region: Illinois
Posts: 176
Re: Where to mount the AMP

I mounted my amp on the back side of the backseat, just amke sure you have enough celarance toput the seat back, up, i drilled twice but that was my first time doing an amp. what size sub(s) do you have?
__________________
It's all about how fast you get from point A to point B, now how you get there
a00v6stang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2006, 11:40 AM   #17
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Danger Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 5,187
Send a message via AIM to Danger Dude
Re: Where to mount the AMP

Quote:
Originally Posted by a00v6stang
I mounted my amp on the back side of the backseat, just amke sure you have enough celarance toput the seat back, up, i drilled twice but that was my first time doing an amp. what size sub(s) do you have?
No sub right now I will probably add a Infinity Basslink in the distant future. That is why I am putting 6X9's in the rear instead of the 6X8's The 6X9's will give me added bass.
__________________
Danger Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2006, 05:20 PM   #18
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Thomas91169's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Region: California
Posts: 2,280
Send a message via AIM to Thomas91169
Re: Where to mount the AMP

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danger Dude
What enclosures are you talking about.
psst. http://www.cardomain.com/ride/2090686/4. i still have around 40% of trunk space left, enough for 50 bucks in groceries. http://www.mustangevolution.com/foru...ry-getter.html
__________________
-Thomas-

1998 Eclipse GST Spyder - 14b turbo | 3" Catback | Evo8 BoV | 170fwhp if that

2003 Redfire Cobra - 448whp/435wtq - Sold
Thomas91169 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2006, 12:13 AM   #19
Registered Member
Regular
 
timpryor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Region: Texas
Posts: 676
Re: Where to mount the AMP

i put my 4 channel amp to the back of my seat today, so thats what i would reccomend, pics tomorrow
__________________
"The LORD shall judge the people:judge me, O Lord, according to my righteousness, and according to mine integrity that is in me." PSALM 7:8

In Texas? check out www.lonestarstangs.com
timpryor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2006, 07:10 PM   #20
Registered User
Regular
 
Brent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 11,873
Re: Where to mount the AMP

Quote:
Originally Posted by EclipseGSTdude
psst. http://www.cardomain.com/ride/2090686/4. i still have around 40% of trunk space left, enough for 50 bucks in groceries. http://www.mustangevolution.com/foru...ry-getter.html
40% isnt alot
__________________

Reddit
Brent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2006, 10:46 PM   #21
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
DarkShadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 1,734
Send a message via AIM to DarkShadow
Re: Where to mount the AMP

That's a good idea with the 6x9's. I have a Infinty 12" with a humongous (sp?) ported box, I have maybe 60% of original trunk space after just one sub... I read the first post about putting it under the seat and about had a coniption! I'm glad it was fixed by others. I put my amp ON my sub box so if I ever need to remove it, it comes out as one, but you don't have a box so that doesn't really help you...I'd just put it on the back seat.
__________________
DarkShadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2006, 10:48 PM   #22
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Danger Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 5,187
Send a message via AIM to Danger Dude
Re: Where to mount the AMP

So it is either the back seat or on the bottom of the package shelf. I am going to take measurements and see if the under side deck is a good idea.
__________________
Danger Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2006, 01:35 AM   #23
I liek gramer
Legacy
 
WhiteStang99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Region: Florida
Posts: 8,537
Send a message via AIM to WhiteStang99
Re: Where to mount the AMP

I've got 2 Bazookas (yeah, crappy rep, but not bad sound) and I have about 85-90% of my trunk space.
WhiteStang99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2006, 01:42 AM   #24
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Danger Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 5,187
Send a message via AIM to Danger Dude
Re: Where to mount the AMP

I want 90% of my trunk space. it is a must. Amps attached to the rear seat will take up lttle space. I also dont care if they go unnoticed.
__________________
Danger Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2006, 05:56 AM   #25
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Thomas91169's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Region: California
Posts: 2,280
Send a message via AIM to Thomas91169
Re: Where to mount the AMP

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brent
40% isnt alot
yeah but i still have a back seat(which is useless for passengers, good for cargo).

Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiteStang99
I've got 2 Bazookas (yeah, crappy rep, but not bad sound) and I have about 85-90% of my trunk space.
bazookas/bass tubes are good for the price if you dont want loud bass, but want to increase the overall quality and range of your sound. i personally like the infinty basslink's. alot of newer cars are using these types of systems with their cars to increase the quality. the rsx-s uses a bass woofer box that fits under the spare tire inside the well. couple other cars use the same setup and sound reasonably well.
__________________
-Thomas-

1998 Eclipse GST Spyder - 14b turbo | 3" Catback | Evo8 BoV | 170fwhp if that

2003 Redfire Cobra - 448whp/435wtq - Sold
Thomas91169 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2006, 11:13 AM   #26
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Danger Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 5,187
Send a message via AIM to Danger Dude
Re: Where to mount the AMP

Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiteStang99
I've got 2 Bazookas (yeah, crappy rep, but not bad sound) and I have about 85-90% of my trunk space.

I dont know why Bazooka has a bad rap because they were the original plug and play amplified bass amp. They might be old school but they are far from crappy.

Quote:
Originally Posted by EclipseGSTdude
yeah but i still have a back seat(which is useless for passengers, good for cargo).
I have a 5 year old and a 8 year old and the back seats are very useful

Quote:
Originally Posted by EclipseGSTdude
bazookas/bass tubes are good for the price if you dont want loud bass, but want to increase the overall quality and range of your sound. i personally like the infinty basslink's. alot of newer cars are using these types of systems with their cars to increase the quality. the rsx-s uses a bass woofer box that fits under the spare tire inside the well. couple other cars use the same setup and sound reasonably well.

I will agree the Infinity Basslink are very nice sounding. If I get a Sub that would be what I get.
__________________
Danger Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2006, 10:05 PM   #27
Registered Member
Regular
 
a00v6stang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Region: Illinois
Posts: 176
Re: Where to mount the AMP

i dont run my subs anymore or my amp and deciding to get rid of them, 2 10 foscate punch phase 1, 600w sony xplode amp, if anyone is interested, or knows of someone that wants an amp for cheap, pm me, im selling by whole or by part, if interested let me know ill show where i have pics of it, ill post tomorrow
__________________
It's all about how fast you get from point A to point B, now how you get there
a00v6stang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2006, 11:01 PM   #28
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Region: California
Posts: 4,272
Re: Where to mount the AMP

dude i jst put it right behnd the foldable part of the bac seat on the hard surface. I used a plexi glass sheet as a base.
STEVE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2006, 08:05 PM   #29
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Danger Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 5,187
Send a message via AIM to Danger Dude
Re: Update I want to see pics of amp installations

OK I Need to see pics of amp installation in your cars. I want some visual ideas

So post them pic's!!!!
__________________
Danger Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2006, 08:18 PM   #30
Registered User
Regular
 
Brent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 11,873
Re: Update I want to see pics of amp installations

I don't have any of mine now
__________________

Reddit
Brent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2006, 08:32 PM   #31
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Danger Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 5,187
Send a message via AIM to Danger Dude
Re: Update I want to see pics of amp installations

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brent
I don't have any of mine now
Fine example you are !!!!
__________________
Danger Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2006, 09:18 PM   #32
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Kiljosh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,282
Send a message via AIM to Kiljosh
Re: Update I want to see pics of amp installations

Bad pic, but only one I got...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0127.JPG
Views:	222
Size:	135.3 KB
ID:	12258  
__________________
Kiljosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2006, 09:51 PM   #33
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Danger Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 5,187
Send a message via AIM to Danger Dude
Re: Update I want to see pics of amp installations

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kiljosh
Bad pic, but only one I got...
Well it is a start thanks. The Amp I bought has the connections on either end and I am contemplating on installing the amp on the back of the drivers side rear seat and running all power, ground and remote wire under the carpet over the drive tunnel and under the seat. Have the left RCA's and speakers to the am go down the left side under the door sill and the right RCA's and speaker wires running around the right side door sill
__________________
Danger Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2006, 10:11 PM   #34
Registered Member
Regular
 
19ClearCobra96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Region: Nebraska
Posts: 627
Send a message via AIM to 19ClearCobra96 Send a message via MSN to 19ClearCobra96
Re: Update I want to see pics of amp installations

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kiljosh
Bad pic, but only one I got...
nice toothbrush?
__________________
19ClearCobra96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2006, 10:16 PM   #35
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Kiljosh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,282
Send a message via AIM to Kiljosh
Re: Update I want to see pics of amp installations

Toothbrush was for cleaning in between the heat sinks. Lol.
__________________
Kiljosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > Mustang Audio & Video

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My new rims/tires are ready! finally (pics) **UPDATE** SpectorV Pictures and Videos 30 05-17-2009 08:40 PM
Project G.O. Update! (PICS) BlueSnake1013 Regional Mustang Discussion 5 04-07-2008 01:49 PM
FFW Update with track pics AlmostN8 Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 10 04-29-2005 11:15 PM
Evals Mustang Update (for everyone wanting/wondering!) *PICS Autobadges.com The Bar 48 08-22-2003 02:48 PM
Rims + Tires UPDATE: THEY'RE HERE **PICS** fast64 Mustang Audio & Video 27 08-20-2003 07:39 PM

» Like Us On Facebook



11:20 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.