capasitor - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > Mustang Audio & Video



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 02-17-2010, 02:59 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
tylbrune's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Region: Ohio
Posts: 24
capasitor

how usefull are caps in a system? ive never used one but i just got the amp hooked up today and my battery wont hold the charge now. wasnt sure if that would help. debating on gettin a red top optimus. kinda high price but goin to need a stronger battery than the stock one.
tylbrune is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-17-2010, 03:04 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
upton7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Region: Illinois
Posts: 1,756
Re: capasitor

I've installed systems definatly not an expert but i don't think the caps really do much. Thats just what I heard though.
upton7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 03:06 PM   #3
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Region: Kentucky
Posts: 841
Send a message via MSN to 19Delta
Re: capasitor

They do much whenever you're running multiple amps and multiple batteries. But if you're just running one sub, unless it's a SoloX18 or the equivilent, I wouldn't worry about one. Might have to upgrade the alternator, though, to keep your lights from blinking. Also, go with a yellow top instead of a red top. Yeah, you'll pay more money, but you'll get a better battery. I've had a yellow top for almost 4 years and it's pushed everything from 2 L7 15's to my Type X 12". Also, you can google 'upgrading the big 3' and try that. It usually helps.
19Delta is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-17-2010, 03:32 PM   #4
Registered User
Regular
 
Brent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 11,873
Re: capasitor

What in the world is a capasitor
__________________

Reddit
Brent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 03:43 PM   #5
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
MarkuzLS1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Region: Alabama
Posts: 1,426
Send a message via AIM to MarkuzLS1
Re: capasitor

Capacitors just smooth out a signal. They won't provide any extra charging.
__________________

I like turtles.
MarkuzLS1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 06:52 PM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
tylbrune's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Region: Ohio
Posts: 24
Re: capasitor

Quote:
Originally Posted by 19Delta View Post
They do much whenever you're running multiple amps and multiple batteries. But if you're just running one sub, unless it's a SoloX18 or the equivilent, I wouldn't worry about one. Might have to upgrade the alternator, though, to keep your lights from blinking. Also, go with a yellow top instead of a red top. Yeah, you'll pay more money, but you'll get a better battery. I've had a yellow top for almost 4 years and it's pushed everything from 2 L7 15's to my Type X 12". Also, you can google 'upgrading the big 3' and try that. It usually helps.
ive never installed one before. wouldnt even have a clue on what to do. always bought truck batteries. that always helped. i ended up goin yellow top. bout $30 more than what i had planned on spending. but from what ive seen i have no dimming of the lights with it. i killed the last battery with just testing the system. and durring instal. figured i needed an upgrade. that way it didnt happen again. i was told with it i wouldnt need an upgrade on the alternator. but im tempted to anyway.
tylbrune is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 08:09 PM   #7
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Region: Kentucky
Posts: 841
Send a message via MSN to 19Delta
Re: capasitor

You did disconnect the negative terminal during the install, right? Also, like I said, upgrade the big 3 and you should be all set.
19Delta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 08:25 PM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
tylbrune's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Region: Ohio
Posts: 24
Re: capasitor

Quote:
Originally Posted by 19Delta View Post
You did disconnect the negative terminal during the install, right? Also, like I said, upgrade the big 3 and you should be all set.
durring the install yes. but it only took 15 min of tuning the stereo and amp to shut everything down. was not happy considering the cost of the harness itself and then the price or the battery. but now thats its done and it shakes the windows of the house...im ok with it. need to dynomat it tho. trunk has a slight rattle. not much tho.
tylbrune is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2010, 12:54 PM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
upton7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Region: Illinois
Posts: 1,756
Re: capasitor

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brent View Post
What in the world is a capasitor
It lookes like a grey thermas with a digital reading on top if you see videos of a sub system its the red numbers.
upton7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2010, 12:57 PM   #10
Registered User
Regular
 
Brent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 11,873
Re: capasitor

Quote:
Originally Posted by upton7 View Post
It lookes like a grey thermas with a digital reading on top if you see videos of a sub system its the red numbers.
__________________

Reddit
Brent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2010, 01:21 PM   #11
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Region: Kentucky
Posts: 841
Send a message via MSN to 19Delta
Re: capasitor

It does look like a THERMOS, but there are many different shapes and sizes of capacitors.
19Delta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2010, 01:29 PM   #12
Registered User
Regular
 
Brent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 11,873
Re: capasitor

I know what a capacitor is. I guess my joke was lost
__________________

Reddit
Brent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2010, 01:38 PM   #13
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Region: Kentucky
Posts: 841
Send a message via MSN to 19Delta
Re: capasitor

Haha, no I got it. Bad grammar ftl yet again.
19Delta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2010, 02:55 PM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
BIG_K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Region: Florida
Posts: 186
Re: capasitor

caps are great, they work great to a degree depending on the size. 1.5 farad cap is good til like 2000 watts. and i also have a new battery and a 130 amp alternator. they work like an extra battery. they hold a small charge to keep some of the work load off of your battery and alternator when your system hits certain tones that acquire a lot of power.
__________________



00' Mustang : totaled
06' Mustang : DD
83' AMC Spirit GT: Weekend Warrior
BIG_K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2010, 08:00 PM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
tylbrune's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Region: Ohio
Posts: 24
Re: capasitor

sooo...should i skip it? or go ahead and install it? like i said i put a optima yellow top on. think that will hold it? or is there something im missing on it? i have one in my garage just wasnt really wantin to hook it up. didnt cost me anything so if i dont install it im not at a loss. couldnt even tell you anything about it. except that its made by rockrord. not in a box and not much labeling on it
tylbrune is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2010, 08:02 PM   #16
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Region: Kentucky
Posts: 841
Send a message via MSN to 19Delta
Re: capasitor

with a yellow top, you'll be fine. rockrord or rockford?
19Delta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2010, 08:13 PM   #17
Registered Member
Regular
 
tylbrune's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Region: Ohio
Posts: 24
Re: capasitor

Quote:
Originally Posted by 19Delta View Post
with a yellow top, you'll be fine. rockrord or rockford?
got out of control there with the typing. rockford is what it was supposed to be. girlfriend had it in her trunk. also got two 10in rockford subs out of there. she just decided she didnt want them anymore.
tylbrune is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2010, 08:24 PM   #18
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Region: Kentucky
Posts: 841
Send a message via MSN to 19Delta
Re: capasitor

There you go. Put'em up for sale on here, you should be able to get at least 200 from them easy.
19Delta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2010, 08:30 PM   #19
Registered Member
Regular
 
tylbrune's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Region: Ohio
Posts: 24
Re: capasitor

that would get me close to a few parts i need to get. may do that. got 2 10in mtx also just sittin around.
tylbrune is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2010, 08:49 PM   #20
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Region: Kentucky
Posts: 841
Send a message via MSN to 19Delta
Re: capasitor

Only bad thing about it is you have to have 100 posts to put something up for sale. Just stick around and be patient and you can move'em.
19Delta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2010, 08:53 PM   #21
Registered Member
Regular
 
tylbrune's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Region: Ohio
Posts: 24
Re: capasitor

thats not a big deal. not sure im ready to sell anyway. but soon maybe. got to make room in the garage. and inventory on stereo equiment and parts are groing again. kind of a pack rat. when i see a good deal i take it.
tylbrune is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2010, 03:38 AM   #22
Registered Member
Regular
 
BIG_K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Region: Florida
Posts: 186
Re: capasitor

if you have a yellow top, you're more than ok. i had a red top but it shorted out finally after 5 years of abuse between my dad and i. i had 2 12's with 500.1 monoblock amp and 4 screens, my dad had 2 10's and 2 12's 2 2-channel amps and a 4-channel amp, the battery would last about 4 hours sytem blasting and screens going with the car off and since audio and video really isn't my focus i just replaced it with a really good battery warehouse special.
__________________



00' Mustang : totaled
06' Mustang : DD
83' AMC Spirit GT: Weekend Warrior
BIG_K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2010, 04:16 PM   #23
Registered Member
Regular
 
OsirisGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York
Region: New York
Posts: 1,262
Send a message via AIM to OsirisGuy
Re: capasitor

A capacitor is a band aid to a problem and while comparing it to a battery makes it easier to understand the purpose of it (at least in a car's audio electronics), capacitors are nothing like batteries.

I could get into the actual physics of it, and car's audio if you like. 19Delta was good on the advice though on upgrading the "Big 3" and if you are still finding problems the correct solution is a higher output alternator.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by MetallicMist View Post
OsirisGuy is correct
Quote:
Originally Posted by stangaroo View Post
OsirisGuy is right
2002 Mustang GT

BBK CAI - Flowmaster Catbacks - Pro 5.0 Shifter
OsirisGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > Mustang Audio & Video

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



06:34 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.