4 Gauge wire help - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > Mustang Audio & Video



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 03-31-2010, 01:03 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
blue-saleen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Region: Utah
Posts: 244
4 Gauge wire help

Any recommendations on how to fit a 4 gauge wire through my firewall? I really dont want to have to drill a hole...

If i absolutely must drill a whole, where is the best place, what should i use to drill, and do i need to buy a grommet or something to seal the hole?
blue-saleen is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-31-2010, 01:04 PM   #2
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Region: Kentucky
Posts: 841
Send a message via MSN to 19Delta
Re: 4 Gauge wire help

If you look on the firewall right in front of where you'd be looking for the fuse box, there should be a rubber grommet. You can either run it through that or beside of it. Either way, it'l go into the cabin so you can run it under your carpet.
19Delta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2010, 01:05 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
blue-saleen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Region: Utah
Posts: 244
Re: 4 Gauge wire help

I've heard talk of a another grommet that the clutch cable runs through (if you have one) is that the same one?
blue-saleen is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-31-2010, 01:06 PM   #4
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Region: Kentucky
Posts: 841
Send a message via MSN to 19Delta
Re: 4 Gauge wire help

Nope, this one is different. I do have a clutch and I know which one you're talking about, but this one is easily visable if you pop your hood.
19Delta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2010, 01:12 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
blue-saleen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Region: Utah
Posts: 244
Re: 4 Gauge wire help

is there anything currently going through the grommet?

i would go check, but i'm at school. hahaha
blue-saleen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2010, 01:13 PM   #6
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Region: Kentucky
Posts: 841
Send a message via MSN to 19Delta
Re: 4 Gauge wire help

Yeah, lemme go pop my hood and i'll tell you exactly what it is, haha.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	017.jpg
Views:	285
Size:	1.01 MB
ID:	21632  
19Delta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2010, 01:14 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
blue-saleen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Region: Utah
Posts: 244
Re: 4 Gauge wire help

okay cool, and will the 4 gauge fit through pretty easy? I have a 10 gauge running through this other huge grommet... and it was pretty hard to get the 10 through it...
blue-saleen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2010, 01:53 PM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
blue-saleen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Region: Utah
Posts: 244
Re: 4 Gauge wire help

Looks like yours is running around the grommet. Did you drill or just slip
it around?
blue-saleen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2010, 02:18 PM   #9
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Region: Kentucky
Posts: 841
Send a message via MSN to 19Delta
Re: 4 Gauge wire help

Just slipped it around.
19Delta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2010, 02:21 PM   #10
15.3 Second V8 Killer Yo
Legacy
Regular
 
PureVenom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 7,212
Send a message via AIM to PureVenom Send a message via MSN to PureVenom Send a message via Yahoo to PureVenom
Re: 4 Gauge wire help

I ran wire like 19delta did, however I ran mine through the grommet. If you slice the grommet you can get the wire through no problem. I hit the wire with some wd40 and it went right through like a hot dog down a hallway.

This was the recommended method for installing the power wire for my boost a pump....
__________________
"When I know more, I'll be forthcoming. Or I won't be forthcoming, and I'll be honestly deceptive." - Les Miles
PureVenom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2010, 02:55 PM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
blue-saleen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Region: Utah
Posts: 244
Re: 4 Gauge wire help

Quote:
Originally Posted by PureVenom View Post
I ran wire like 19delta did, however I ran mine through the grommet. If you slice the grommet you can get the wire through no problem. I hit the wire with some wd40 and it went right through like a hot dog down a hallway.

This was the recommended method for installing the power wire for my boost a pump....
how exactly do i "slice" the grommet. where and how? my fried tried to drill through his grommet... his car didnt start after that. I dont want to hit anything
blue-saleen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2010, 03:02 PM   #12
15.3 Second V8 Killer Yo
Legacy
Regular
 
PureVenom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 7,212
Send a message via AIM to PureVenom Send a message via MSN to PureVenom Send a message via Yahoo to PureVenom
Re: 4 Gauge wire help

I took a utility knife and started slicing from the top down a little at a time until I was able to spread the grommet open.

If you refer to 19delta's picture, take a utility knife and follow the seam line you can see at about 10 o'clock. Just cut slowly only going like 1/8" deep with each slice. As you get closer to the wires, take more care not to push too hard. Then, when you get the slice to where you can open it up, you should be able to push the wire through where the other wires go. Then the grommet will close in around the new wire as well and the interior is still sealed because you never cut it.


If you decide to go around the grommet like delta did, be sure to put some sort of protection on the wire. With the wire being bare like that you are just begging for it to short out over time due to rubbing against the firewall.
__________________
"When I know more, I'll be forthcoming. Or I won't be forthcoming, and I'll be honestly deceptive." - Les Miles
PureVenom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2010, 03:08 PM   #13
15.3 Second V8 Killer Yo
Legacy
Regular
 
PureVenom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 7,212
Send a message via AIM to PureVenom Send a message via MSN to PureVenom Send a message via Yahoo to PureVenom
Re: 4 Gauge wire help

Here's the text from the instructions I used for my BAP install....it was an 8 guage wire, but would be the same for any wire really.

Quote:
Option 2: Using a very sharp razor blade, carefully put a cut into the grommet on the topside. Be carefully not to go too deep and cut any of the factory wires. Use a metal coat hanger and tape the red 8-awg wire to it. Make sure you use enough tape so that when you pull the coat hanger from inside the car through the grommets you do not pull the coat hanger out of the tape. You can use WD-40 or a silicone spray lubricant on the grommet and electricians tape to help in this process.
And a pic of how it ends up being run...

__________________
"When I know more, I'll be forthcoming. Or I won't be forthcoming, and I'll be honestly deceptive." - Les Miles
PureVenom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2010, 03:39 PM   #14
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Region: Kentucky
Posts: 841
Send a message via MSN to 19Delta
Re: 4 Gauge wire help

I knew I needed to something to that stupid wire. Thanks for the heads up Venom.
19Delta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2010, 03:44 PM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
blue-saleen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Region: Utah
Posts: 244
Re: 4 Gauge wire help

Okay, sorry I'm a visual guy, and i want to make sure i get this right.

So, I have here a crude picture of our friend the grommet. do i start cutting from the top of the whole grommet (top red line) or the top of the raised center (bottom red line) the blue line is the seam, and the small black circle is the raised portion from which the wires protrude.

(sorry for the crap diagram, photoshop wasnt opening)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	firewall diagram.JPG
Views:	217
Size:	12.5 KB
ID:	21633  
blue-saleen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2010, 03:45 PM   #16
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Region: Kentucky
Posts: 841
Send a message via MSN to 19Delta
Re: 4 Gauge wire help

Yes, top down. You have more control over the knife when doing this. If you cut up, you'll end up cutting a wire.
19Delta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2010, 03:47 PM   #17
Registered Member
Regular
 
blue-saleen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Region: Utah
Posts: 244
Re: 4 Gauge wire help

sorry, i wasnt quite clear. do i start at the very very top of the grommet, or at the top of the raised portion where the wires come out?
blue-saleen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2010, 03:48 PM   #18
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Region: Kentucky
Posts: 841
Send a message via MSN to 19Delta
Re: 4 Gauge wire help

Where the wires come out, unless you just want to cut the whole grommet.
19Delta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2010, 03:50 PM   #19
Registered Member
Regular
 
blue-saleen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Region: Utah
Posts: 244
Re: 4 Gauge wire help

okay, now i am clear. Thanks. oh this is going to be so much fun...

but its worth 600 watts so i guess i shouldnt whine
blue-saleen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2010, 03:55 PM   #20
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Region: Kentucky
Posts: 841
Send a message via MSN to 19Delta
Re: 4 Gauge wire help

No problem. Post some pics when you get it installed.
19Delta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2010, 01:44 AM   #21
Registered Member
Regular
 
OsirisGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York
Region: New York
Posts: 1,262
Send a message via AIM to OsirisGuy
Re: 4 Gauge wire help

Don't know how you managed, but is your car an auto or manual. If you have an auto then you can find the clutch plate and drill through that. Some clutch plates are bolted over the hole so you can unbolt it, drill the hole outside of the car, run the wire through and rebolt the plat to the car. You can also look under the steering column towards the fire wall and find an empty area that also has an empty area inside the engine bay.

4 gauge is probably too big but an additional option is to go through the hood release grommet.

If you find a grommet that goes through the firewall usually the best way is to use an awl or screwdriver with a long handle and poke through the grommet. You can also tape the power wire onto the screwdriver so when it goes through you can go inside the cabin and easily pull the wire through and detach it and then pull the screwdriver back out.

You will want to cushion the wire in the firewall as well as plug the hole. It is possible that if the wire is rubbing up against bare metal the wire will ground out which can be extremely bad. Filling up the hole will stop water, noise, heat, emissions, and noise from entering the cabin.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by MetallicMist View Post
OsirisGuy is correct
Quote:
Originally Posted by stangaroo View Post
OsirisGuy is right
2002 Mustang GT

BBK CAI - Flowmaster Catbacks - Pro 5.0 Shifter
OsirisGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2010, 05:45 PM   #22
Registered Member
Regular
 
blue-saleen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Region: Utah
Posts: 244
Re: 4 Gauge wire help

It is definitely a manual. I havent done the wiring yet because my power steering problem has taken priority over buying another amp and sub.
blue-saleen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2010, 12:55 PM   #23
Registered Member
Regular
 
blue-saleen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Region: Utah
Posts: 244
Re: 4 Gauge wire help

just wanted to let everyone know, I got all the wiring done. The sub should get here today, and the new amp on thursday. I had a moment of weakness and called car toys... but when they told me it would be a minimum of $45 just to put the wire through the firewall, i managed to find a way to get it through. hahahahaha

sadly the power steering has not been done yet, and now the check engine light is on.
blue-saleen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > Mustang Audio & Video

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gauge Wire Routing w/CDC gauge pod tripod_2005 2005-2010 Mustang GT 13 04-30-2010 12:46 PM
same gauge wire for mono amp as multi-channel? tedness Mustang Audio & Video 5 05-05-2005 06:21 PM
Which wire does the A/F gauge need to be spliced SpectorV General Mustang Discussion 16 08-23-2004 03:12 PM
Guys 2 gauge wire isnt cheap Brent Mustang Audio & Video 18 05-13-2004 12:18 PM
WHere to wire A/F ratio sensor wire?!? TheSarge Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 0 09-04-2003 03:00 AM

» Like Us On Facebook



04:57 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.