Sub enclosure in 01 gt? - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > Mustang Audio & Video



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 08-31-2006, 11:38 AM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 25
Sub enclosure in 01 gt?

Ok so i baught my 01 gt of my cuz, and he is a goof n got 2 Fosgate 12's and an amp and didnt check to see if they fit in the trunk so he put them on top of the folded down backseats which looks like hell... i was thinkn of selln them n getn 10's.. will the 10's even fit in the trunk? that plastic crap under the rear speakers holdin those amps takes up soo much room.. i think it leaves like 11.5" to work with..err
FrvrDreamin is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-31-2006, 01:46 PM   #2
Moderator Emeritus
Legacy
Regular
 
SpectorV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Alabama
Posts: 26,049
Send a message via AIM to SpectorV
Re: Sub enclosure in 01 gt?

you can put 12s but you will have to face them up or down... or have a custom box made and face them backwards (they cant really angle as the angle would be so severe that the magnets would hit the bottom)
__________________
2003 Cobra Vert (Redfire) #3938 of 5082 @ 05/27/2003
472rwhp/493rwtq -Modification List - Dyno Sheet
2012 Mustang 3.7L M6 (Kona Blue)
2011 Ford Edge Sport (Red Metallic)
SpectorV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2006, 02:23 PM   #3
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
lowflyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Region: Mississippi
Posts: 19,890
Send a message via AIM to lowflyn
Re: Sub enclosure in 01 gt?

I have 2 12's in my 02, plenty of room to work with. I used to have 2 12's in angled boxes then decided to do fiberglass and mold the boxes into the side. You can use those speakers, just ditch the box you have now
__________________
"I'm not driving too fast...just flying too low"
Mine:
-03 SB Cobra vert- 2552 of 5082 Born 02/25/03
Our's:
90 7up vert - new project-07 DSG Focus -DD
335
lowflyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-31-2006, 03:41 PM   #4
Moderator Emeritus
Legacy
Regular
 
SpectorV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Alabama
Posts: 26,049
Send a message via AIM to SpectorV
Re: Sub enclosure in 01 gt?

when you have the mach 460 system there is a big huge plastic box that they bolt under the bottom. It makes the clearance level 11.5 inches I think from bottom of the trunk to the underside of the box. I had this same issue when going from my 98 to my 01.. my speaker boxes would not fit anymore.
__________________
2003 Cobra Vert (Redfire) #3938 of 5082 @ 05/27/2003
472rwhp/493rwtq -Modification List - Dyno Sheet
2012 Mustang 3.7L M6 (Kona Blue)
2011 Ford Edge Sport (Red Metallic)
SpectorV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2006, 03:57 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 25
Re: Sub enclosure in 01 gt?

so do i take the big plastic thing off, because i think somehow the mach amps are in some way possibly connected to that monstrosity lol...
FrvrDreamin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2006, 04:15 PM   #6
Moderator Emeritus
Legacy
Regular
 
SpectorV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Alabama
Posts: 26,049
Send a message via AIM to SpectorV
Re: Sub enclosure in 01 gt?

you can get around it you will just have to pay for a custom amp box OR face them up and slide them under the plastic box. Just remember to build the box with enough clearance to include the speaker poking out over the top edge of the box.
__________________
2003 Cobra Vert (Redfire) #3938 of 5082 @ 05/27/2003
472rwhp/493rwtq -Modification List - Dyno Sheet
2012 Mustang 3.7L M6 (Kona Blue)
2011 Ford Edge Sport (Red Metallic)
SpectorV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2006, 03:29 PM   #7
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
lowflyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Region: Mississippi
Posts: 19,890
Send a message via AIM to lowflyn
Re: Sub enclosure in 01 gt?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpectorV View Post
when you have the mach 460 system there is a big huge plastic box that they bolt under the bottom. It makes the clearance level 11.5 inches I think from bottom of the trunk to the underside of the box. I had this same issue when going from my 98 to my 01.. my speaker boxes would not fit anymore.
My boxes in no way interfere or come in contact with the 460 system. The old boxes I had didn't either. It's very easy to run subs of any size in your trunk.
__________________
"I'm not driving too fast...just flying too low"
Mine:
-03 SB Cobra vert- 2552 of 5082 Born 02/25/03
Our's:
90 7up vert - new project-07 DSG Focus -DD
335
lowflyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2006, 04:28 PM   #8
Registered User
Newbie
 
02V6TTcoupe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 16
Re: Sub enclosure in 01 gt?

I've got 2 Kicker CompVR 12's in mine and when i started to install them in mine I thought I'd never get em in. All i had to do was take out the back seat and the Frame that holds the back seat and they slid in perfectly. My box is the angled design, plain and simple but still one of the best designs for sound.
02V6TTcoupe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2006, 08:50 AM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 25
Re: Sub enclosure in 01 gt?

Was it tough to get those backseats out? I think i might give it a shot this weekend.. but still my box measures 12.5 and the clearance from the shaker plastic is only 11.5??
FrvrDreamin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2006, 05:01 PM   #10
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Thomas91169's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Region: California
Posts: 2,280
Send a message via AIM to Thomas91169
Re: Sub enclosure in 01 gt?

you gotta do some work.

the plastic dohikey holding up the mach amps and speakers can be removed and will free up almost 5" of space, then just remount the amps somewhere else.

my box dimensions for my 1 Audiobahn 12 are i believe 15" tall x 18" deep x 20" wide. the sub is normal mount, the woofer faces the inside of the back seats and the rear of the box is 1/2" plexiglass with the MDF being 3/4" thick.

http://www.cardomain.com/ride/2090686/4 for some pics.
__________________
-Thomas-

1998 Eclipse GST Spyder - 14b turbo | 3" Catback | Evo8 BoV | 170fwhp if that

2003 Redfire Cobra - 448whp/435wtq - Sold
Thomas91169 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2006, 09:59 AM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 25
Re: Sub enclosure in 01 gt?

Ok So im gona remove the plastick and attempt to figure out how to get the backseats out, then maybe i can stuff that box in there, the box is not all that big, only 12.5 actually, I guess there is ALOT of playn around to do this week haha...

PS
Im getn REAL Saleen rims on Thurs
Woot Wooot
Score for the new kid haha
FrvrDreamin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2006, 02:05 AM   #12
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Thomas91169's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Region: California
Posts: 2,280
Send a message via AIM to Thomas91169
Re: Sub enclosure in 01 gt?

its definately do-able. you can take out the spare and the trunk latch to get a pretty hefty box in through the back. i heard of a guy who fit a Kicker Box for 2 12" subs through the trunk, it just takes finesse and alot of patience.

you will not be able to stick it in from the back seats, there is only a 12" opening from the bottom of the trunk to the top of the body chassis framing in the back seat to trunk opening. unless you cut that out(which would be very stupid), youre not going to fit much through there.
__________________
-Thomas-

1998 Eclipse GST Spyder - 14b turbo | 3" Catback | Evo8 BoV | 170fwhp if that

2003 Redfire Cobra - 448whp/435wtq - Sold
Thomas91169 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2006, 09:30 AM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 25
Re: Sub enclosure in 01 gt?

yeh i measured the opening before i would have yanked the seats out..

another ? i had was... is there any bass what so ever with the stock 460? its seems like ALOT of highs
FrvrDreamin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2006, 12:17 AM   #14
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Thomas91169's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Region: California
Posts: 2,280
Send a message via AIM to Thomas91169
Re: Sub enclosure in 01 gt?

i dunno, its decent enough for me now that i took out the Eternal from the GT(since im selling it). i think the mach460 is a great system for most audiophiles. i think the most you need to help out is a single 10", unless youre just going for bragging rights(like i did).
__________________
-Thomas-

1998 Eclipse GST Spyder - 14b turbo | 3" Catback | Evo8 BoV | 170fwhp if that

2003 Redfire Cobra - 448whp/435wtq - Sold
Thomas91169 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2006, 09:32 AM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 25
Re: Sub enclosure in 01 gt?

see when i unplug my subs RCA's n turn up the bass on the headunit i cant even tell there is bass at all.. i wonder if teh thing my cuz had spliced into it messed up the speakers at all?? he had a lil thing spliced into it so that the subs could run off of the stock headunit which i replaced with a new pioneer
FrvrDreamin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2006, 10:18 AM   #16
Zim
You want to **** me?
Legacy
 
Zim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kansas City
Region: Missouri
Posts: 4,043
Re: Sub enclosure in 01 gt?

The stock 460 system should have a decent amount of bass, I know mine does. Also, dont face your subs towards the rear seats, face them backwards towards the back of your car. Facing them forward is horrible for subs with the way acoustics work.
__________________

I like toys
Zim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2006, 11:34 AM   #17
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Thomas91169's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Region: California
Posts: 2,280
Send a message via AIM to Thomas91169
Re: Sub enclosure in 01 gt?

Quote:
Originally Posted by FrvrDreamin View Post
see when i unplug my subs RCA's n turn up the bass on the headunit i cant even tell there is bass at all.. i wonder if teh thing my cuz had spliced into it messed up the speakers at all?? he had a lil thing spliced into it so that the subs could run off of the stock headunit which i replaced with a new pioneer
if he used the rca modulator then no. thats what i have in BOTH my stangs and no ill effects on the GT plugged in or not.

its possible the speakers have bass-blockers installed as well.
__________________
-Thomas-

1998 Eclipse GST Spyder - 14b turbo | 3" Catback | Evo8 BoV | 170fwhp if that

2003 Redfire Cobra - 448whp/435wtq - Sold
Thomas91169 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2006, 12:26 AM   #18
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 25
Re: Sub enclosure in 01 gt?

what is a bass blocker n how do you get rid of it?
FrvrDreamin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2006, 12:47 AM   #19
Zim
You want to **** me?
Legacy
 
Zim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kansas City
Region: Missouri
Posts: 4,043
Re: Sub enclosure in 01 gt?

theyre basically resistors that block below a certain frequency range... usually 80 hz an below...
__________________

I like toys
Zim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2006, 12:51 AM   #20
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 25
Re: Sub enclosure in 01 gt?

are they easy to disconnect?
FrvrDreamin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2006, 12:59 AM   #21
Registered User
Regular
 
Brent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 11,873
Re: Sub enclosure in 01 gt?

Yea they should be inline with your speaker wire.
__________________

Reddit
Brent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2006, 03:28 PM   #22
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 25
Re: Sub enclosure in 01 gt?

ok thanks guys.. ima go look for sumthin not normal back there in a few minuts..
FrvrDreamin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2006, 07:33 PM   #23
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 25
Re: Sub enclosure in 01 gt?

ok umm... so the subs are out, i can not find a bass blocker, also i can not figure out how to get than plastic peace outa the trunk?? i just took out the 4 bolts from the maine big holes and un screwed the amps... its still in there soo tight... do i have to rip the rear deck out to get at something??
FrvrDreamin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2006, 01:49 AM   #24
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Region: Montana
Posts: 126
Re: Sub enclosure in 01 gt?

I'm putting 4000 watts to a single 10 in a modified stealth box without interfering or losing any trunk space. It hits.
__________________
95 Crystal White Cobra #702 of 4007
Polished Vortech S-Trim @ 12psi
18X9 FR500s
MANY INTERIOR MODS...
Coming soon....Dart 427 with a T-76!!
Blwnbyu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > Mustang Audio & Video

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Subwoofers w/ Enclosure 4 SALE TafoyaMNAA Mustang Parts for Sale and Wanted 5 06-21-2007 01:57 PM
subwoofer enclosure help TripleBlack Mustang Audio & Video 7 01-25-2007 01:34 AM
HELP building a fiberglass enclosure Murph00 Mustang Audio & Video 10 12-01-2004 08:11 AM
Fiberglass Enclosure SquirrelNutz154 Mustang Audio & Video 9 08-27-2004 12:00 AM
sub enclosure Falcon Mustang Audio & Video 3 12-27-2003 01:20 AM

» Like Us On Facebook



09:57 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.