time to get my system started... - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > Mustang Audio & Video



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 09-08-2006, 11:10 PM   #1
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Dallas
Region: Texas
Posts: 7
time to get my system started...

OK, i love my mustang. but i have no idea about some of the technical working crap, etc.

basically, i've got 2 10' Audiobahn subs with separate enclosures, a 1000 watt 2 channel bridgeable mosfet amp (it's an off brand but it was basically given to me brand new).

i'm working with a 2004 V6 with a mach system. i really don't want to purchase another headunit unless i absolutely have to. suggestions???
SilverStang04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-10-2006, 07:59 PM   #2
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
lowflyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Region: Mississippi
Posts: 19,890
Send a message via AIM to lowflyn
Re: time to get my system started...

You can run an fm modulator to run the subs, you won't get the clarity you would with an aftermarket unit, but it is possible to hook them up to your factory system.
__________________
"I'm not driving too fast...just flying too low"
Mine:
-03 SB Cobra vert- 2552 of 5082 Born 02/25/03
Our's:
90 7up vert - new project-07 DSG Focus -DD
335
lowflyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2006, 02:23 PM   #3
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
DarkShadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 1,734
Send a message via AIM to DarkShadow
Re: time to get my system started...

You will be surprised at the difference a new head unit can make. I would have started there first, plus they can (most of the time) look better than your stock unit.
__________________
DarkShadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-12-2006, 03:16 PM   #4
Zim
You want to **** me?
Legacy
 
Zim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kansas City
Region: Missouri
Posts: 4,043
Re: time to get my system started...

When I replaced my head unit, it made my mach system sound 10x better...
__________________

I like toys
Zim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2006, 03:59 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
Stumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Region: Texas
Posts: 317
Re: time to get my system started...

Can you replace just the head unit and still use the same amps?
__________________
~Roman~

2003 Mustang V6 Vert with a Flowmaster Super 40 series dual exhaust
I'm not a target in the sights of your mercy. I've never asked for anything. I'm not asking now.
Stumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2006, 04:15 PM   #6
Registered User
Regular
 
Brent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 11,873
Re: time to get my system started...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stumpy View Post
Can you replace just the head unit and still use the same amps?
I'm pretty sure the amps are bypassed when you install an aftermarket headunit on a mach 460 system
__________________

Reddit
Brent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2006, 04:46 PM   #7
Zim
You want to **** me?
Legacy
 
Zim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kansas City
Region: Missouri
Posts: 4,043
Re: time to get my system started...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brent View Post
I'm pretty sure the amps are bypassed when you install an aftermarket headunit on a mach 460 system
I dunno, the wiring harness i got plugs right into the factory one that goes to the amps... :dunno:
__________________

I like toys
Zim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2006, 04:59 PM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
Stumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Region: Texas
Posts: 317
Re: time to get my system started...

what would the minimum specs be for the a/m head unit? a guy from car toys told me that he had a cobra come in and he had to replace the entire system in order for a new head to work.
__________________
~Roman~

2003 Mustang V6 Vert with a Flowmaster Super 40 series dual exhaust
I'm not a target in the sights of your mercy. I've never asked for anything. I'm not asking now.
Stumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2006, 05:33 PM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
timpryor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Region: Texas
Posts: 676
Re: time to get my system started...

^you don't have to, but as brent said you usually have to bypass it altogather so it really is worth it just to upgrade itt all at once. much easier especialy if you end up having problems, then you arn't wondering if its stock or aftermarket giving you the issues.

But Zim, not to disagree with you but sometimes those harnesses work great and others just complicate things, just what i've seen working in the car audio bussiness
__________________
"The LORD shall judge the people:judge me, O Lord, according to my righteousness, and according to mine integrity that is in me." PSALM 7:8

In Texas? check out www.lonestarstangs.com
timpryor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2006, 10:52 PM   #10
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
lowflyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Region: Mississippi
Posts: 19,890
Send a message via AIM to lowflyn
Re: time to get my system started...

You can install an aftermarket headunit on the mach system. You have to be sure to buy a quality harness however, not the cheap wal mart brand.
__________________
"I'm not driving too fast...just flying too low"
Mine:
-03 SB Cobra vert- 2552 of 5082 Born 02/25/03
Our's:
90 7up vert - new project-07 DSG Focus -DD
335
lowflyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2006, 11:00 PM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
timpryor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Region: Texas
Posts: 676
Re: time to get my system started...

such as scoche i know that but i've still seen times wher it just didn't want to cooperate
__________________
"The LORD shall judge the people:judge me, O Lord, according to my righteousness, and according to mine integrity that is in me." PSALM 7:8

In Texas? check out www.lonestarstangs.com
timpryor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2006, 09:02 PM   #12
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Dallas
Region: Texas
Posts: 7
Re: time to get my system started...

i'm thinking i may as well replace the head unit too. i'd heard that the stock amp wouldn't be compatible...i hope it is though.
SilverStang04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2006, 09:12 PM   #13
Zim
You want to **** me?
Legacy
 
Zim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kansas City
Region: Missouri
Posts: 4,043
Re: time to get my system started...

Quote:
Originally Posted by timpryor View Post
such as scoche i know that but i've still seen times wher it just didn't want to cooperate
yeah thats what i used... just bought the thing they had at walmart and it works fine...

Ive heard that some people get a really loud pop somtimes using that adapter and there was something else they had to buy, but mine works fine.
__________________

I like toys
Zim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2006, 02:21 PM   #14
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
lowflyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Region: Mississippi
Posts: 19,890
Send a message via AIM to lowflyn
Re: time to get my system started...

Quote:
Originally Posted by SilverStang04 View Post
i'm thinking i may as well replace the head unit too. i'd heard that the stock amp wouldn't be compatible...i hope it is though.
I haven't installed an aftermarket unit in the 05+ but I would be willing to bet it will work fine with the correct adapter to cut the power going to the factory amps. You can't send a powered signal to the amps, it will mess them up, hence the reason you need a special converter as is in included in these harnesses designed for the mach and shaker systems.
__________________
"I'm not driving too fast...just flying too low"
Mine:
-03 SB Cobra vert- 2552 of 5082 Born 02/25/03
Our's:
90 7up vert - new project-07 DSG Focus -DD
335
lowflyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2006, 07:30 PM   #15
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Dallas
Region: Texas
Posts: 7
Re: time to get my system started...

i just bought a JVC KD-AV7010 DVD 7" in dash headunit...anyone have anything like this? i'm sure it'll need a good harness.
SilverStang04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > Mustang Audio & Video

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Just started gabnmantha New Member Introductions & Greetings 11 01-16-2008 12:28 PM
trying to get something started Kyle Regional Mustang Discussion 0 08-25-2006 09:31 PM
Time say bye to my system :( juvifan1 Mustang Parts for Sale and Wanted 10 06-29-2004 03:23 PM
who started STEVE The Bar 19 06-16-2004 02:34 PM
getting started dansmustang 1996-2004 Mustang GT 2 04-19-2004 01:59 PM

» Like Us On Facebook



10:07 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.