Stereo help - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > Mustang Audio & Video



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 05-25-2007, 11:42 PM   #1
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 3
Stereo help

Hey Im installing a system in an 05 Mustang and have pretty much everything under control except Im having trouble finding a spot in the trunk to ground the amp too. This might also sound dumb but I also need help hooking up the power wire to the battery, I have the power run from the trunk to under the hood but Im not sure the how I should connect to the battery. Any help would be greatly appreciated, thanks.
rbj29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-26-2007, 02:06 AM   #2
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
lowflyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Region: Mississippi
Posts: 19,890
Send a message via AIM to lowflyn
Re: Stereo help

The easiest way to connect the power wire is to follow the battery wire to the fuse block and run the new wire off of that. It will look cleaner than running the wire all the way to the battery.
__________________
"I'm not driving too fast...just flying too low"
Mine:
-03 SB Cobra vert- 2552 of 5082 Born 02/25/03
Our's:
90 7up vert - new project-07 DSG Focus -DD
335
lowflyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2007, 04:05 PM   #3
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 3
Re: Stereo help

Ok that sounds good, Ill give that a try, can anyone help me out on a good spot to ground to in the trunk?
rbj29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-29-2007, 02:33 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
Y2E0L0L5OGWT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Region: Maryland
Posts: 595
Send a message via AIM to Y2E0L0L5OGWT Send a message via Yahoo to Y2E0L0L5OGWT
Re: Stereo help

I am at work right now, but I will look in my trunk later tonight to see where I grounded my amp...I have a 1000W Kenwood Mono Class D...It's grounded on the driver side, just above the back tire inside the trunk, but i will give you a better description later tonight when i get home...I will also take a picture if you want me to, just let me know...
Y2E0L0L5OGWT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2007, 04:15 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
rydog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Region: Virginia
Posts: 521
Send a message via MSN to rydog
Re: Stereo help

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowflyn View Post
The easiest way to connect the power wire is to follow the battery wire to the fuse block and run the new wire off of that. It will look cleaner than running the wire all the way to the battery.
And make sure you run an in-line fuse on the power wire
__________________

97 V6-GT40 turbo-42#rs-BA2800 MAF-4.10's & tlok-254rwhp-369rwtq
Turbo'd by-TMA Turbo(http://www.tmaturbo.com/)
Tuned by-Dyno Tuned Performance(http://www.dtpracing.com/)
rydog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2007, 10:17 PM   #6
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
lowflyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Region: Mississippi
Posts: 19,890
Send a message via AIM to lowflyn
Re: Stereo help

Yes yes yes. Get a fuse that coordinates with the amp you will be running as well. In other words, don't run an 80amp fuse for a 300 watt amp.
__________________
"I'm not driving too fast...just flying too low"
Mine:
-03 SB Cobra vert- 2552 of 5082 Born 02/25/03
Our's:
90 7up vert - new project-07 DSG Focus -DD
335
lowflyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2007, 11:14 PM   #7
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Kiljosh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,282
Send a message via AIM to Kiljosh
Re: Stereo help

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowflyn View Post
Yes yes yes. Get a fuse that coordinates with the amp you will be running as well. In other words, don't run an 80amp fuse for a 300 watt amp.
What do you mean I dont know this rule.

What size fuse should I be running on a 1200 watt amp.
__________________
Kiljosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2007, 09:08 AM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
Y2E0L0L5OGWT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Region: Maryland
Posts: 595
Send a message via AIM to Y2E0L0L5OGWT Send a message via Yahoo to Y2E0L0L5OGWT
Re: Stereo help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kiljosh View Post
What do you mean I dont know this rule.

What size fuse should I be running on a 1200 watt amp.
The fuse running to your power line should be equivalent to the fuse(s) that is actually in the amp. For instance, my old 2-channel Sony 1200W Xplod had two 40 amp fuses in it, so I had an 80 amp fuse on the power line (40 + 40 = 80 woot!! I can add!!!). And the Kenwood 1000W Mono Amp that I have now has a single 40 amp fuse in it, so I have a 40 amp fuse on the power line...actually, I am still using the same 80 amp fuse that I was using for the Xplod cus I was too lazy to go buy a new 40 amp fuse, but really the 80 is more fuse than I need...I really only need a 40...
__________________
'05 GT - Borla Catback, JLT Series 3 Intake & SCT SF3 Tuner, Koni Adjustable Shocks/Struts, H&R Race Springs, Roush Shifter, Hawk HP+ Brakes all around, Steeda Front Sway Bar & End-Links, Royal Purple Fluids
'2011 F-250 Super Duty Crew Cab - 6.7L PSD 4x4
Y2E0L0L5OGWT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2007, 10:24 AM   #9
Zim
You want to **** me?
Legacy
 
Zim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kansas City
Region: Missouri
Posts: 4,043
Re: Stereo help

To ground it, I pulled that carpet/lining of the fenders away and just looked for a bolt, loosened it up, and stuck my ground wire in there. You can run it under most of the carpet so its out of the way. Also, if you pull up your rear seat, you can bolt it to the seat belt bolts.

Those are my suggestions.
__________________

I like toys
Zim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2007, 08:01 PM   #10
jmw
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2
Re: Stereo help

does anybody know how to get a stereo out of a 2007 mustang
jmw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2007, 08:01 PM   #11
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
lowflyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Region: Mississippi
Posts: 19,890
Send a message via AIM to lowflyn
Re: Stereo help

What are you wanting out? Just the cd player?
__________________
"I'm not driving too fast...just flying too low"
Mine:
-03 SB Cobra vert- 2552 of 5082 Born 02/25/03
Our's:
90 7up vert - new project-07 DSG Focus -DD
335
lowflyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2007, 01:22 PM   #12
jmw
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2
Re: Stereo help

yes just the cd player
jmw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2007, 01:32 PM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
wkndpaintballer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Region: Mississippi
Posts: 174
Send a message via AIM to wkndpaintballer
Re: Stereo help

take off the trim around the shifter, take out the two phillips head screws under the arm rest, lift up the plastic from the back then from the front, it is just clipped in so dont worry about breaking anything, then the two vertical pieces to each side of the radio just pull off, there are 6 8mm screws there then disconnect the wires from the back of the ac controls and the emergency lighting. the ac control plug has a grey lever to pull it out but you have to reach up under the grey lever and press in a tab before you can flip the lever. after you take off all the wiring that cover piece comes right off then there are 4 more 8mm screws to remove the radio.
__________________

NOBODY cares about threats over the internet. Don't try to act hardcore with the keyboard. FIGHTING ONLINE is like racing in the special Olympics; even if you win, you're still RETARDED .
wkndpaintballer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2007, 08:54 PM   #14
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 3
Re: Stereo help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Y2E0L0L5OGWT View Post
I am at work right now, but I will look in my trunk later tonight to see where I grounded my amp...I have a 1000W Kenwood Mono Class D...It's grounded on the driver side, just above the back tire inside the trunk, but i will give you a better description later tonight when i get home...I will also take a picture if you want me to, just let me know...
Ill check that out but if you could take a pic that would be awesome.
Thanks
rbj29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > Mustang Audio & Video

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stereo Replacement Help a3705872 Mustang Audio & Video 8 09-25-2009 05:13 AM
Aftermarket Stereo IHTECH Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 2 07-10-2008 10:18 PM
So I got a new Stereo again.... Brent The Bar 8 09-20-2006 04:38 PM
I cant take out my stereo RioStang Mustang Audio & Video 7 06-25-2006 10:49 PM
Need stereo help 01mineralgrey6 Mustang Audio & Video 5 06-26-2005 09:20 PM

» Like Us On Facebook



05:16 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.