New Stereo installed - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > Mustang Audio & Video



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 12-26-2010, 06:35 PM   #1
Moderator Emeritus
Regular
 
MC770's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charlotte
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 1,761
Cool New Stereo installed

Here are some pictures from the project:









MC770 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-28-2010, 09:48 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
Nasty Bite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Region: Indiana
Posts: 101
Looks great! I like the colors in the dark! I've never owned that model of mustang... what are you doing with the holes under the head unit?
Nasty Bite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 09:52 PM   #3
Moderator Emeritus
Regular
 
MC770's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charlotte
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 1,761
Re: New Stereo installed

Thanks, The holes are going to have hold some gauges for water temp, oil pressure, and boost (whenever I get the turbocharger)
__________________
~2003 Zinc Yellow Terminator Cobra~
~482 RWHP / 487 LBS Torque~
MC770 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-28-2010, 09:57 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
Nasty Bite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Region: Indiana
Posts: 101
Gotcha! Looks great! I want to upgrade my stereo in my cobra but I just hate dealing with the Mach 460.
Nasty Bite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 10:01 PM   #5
Moderator Emeritus
Regular
 
MC770's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charlotte
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 1,761
Re: New Stereo installed

Yeah we've never done a newer stereo this was the newest that we've done
__________________
~2003 Zinc Yellow Terminator Cobra~
~482 RWHP / 487 LBS Torque~
MC770 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 01:56 PM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
Qwik Four Six's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 882
I have a new pioneer head unit, how hard was it for you to put this in? Wires, installation, etc.?
Qwik Four Six is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 02:05 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
USAF_stang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 890
Re: New Stereo installed

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blb97stang View Post
I have a new pioneer head unit, how hard was it for you to put this in? Wires, installation, etc.?
if it doesn't have a wireing diagram...some actually just replace the whole wiring harness itself....but if not just google the radio's model # and add "manual" or "user guide" along with "pdf" into the search...most of the time it'll bring up the user manual.
__________________
USAF_stang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 02:44 PM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
Qwik Four Six's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 882
Quote:
Originally Posted by USAF_stang

if it doesn't have a wireing diagram...some actually just replace the whole wiring harness itself....but if not just google the radio's model # and add "manual" or "user guide" along with "pdf" into the search...most of the time it'll bring up the user manual.
Oh okay, I called best buy, and for them to install the new pioneer, and wire my subs, and 1 farad capacitor, and take the amp apart and check it(even though it works, $69 to do that) it'll cost $125 for all.
Qwik Four Six is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 03:05 PM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
USAF_stang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 890
Re: New Stereo installed

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blb97stang View Post
Oh okay, I called best buy, and for them to install the new pioneer, and wire my subs, and 1 farad capacitor, and take the amp apart and check it(even though it works, $69 to do that) it'll cost $125 for all.
complete waste of time man, wiring up a system is by far the easiest electronic thing to do...if you do a search on here there may already be a step by step DIY....if not I can help you out. all they are gonna do is read the install manual anyways lol
__________________
USAF_stang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 03:20 PM   #10
Moderator Emeritus
Regular
 
MC770's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charlotte
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 1,761
Re: New Stereo installed

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blb97stang View Post
I have a new pioneer head unit, how hard was it for you to put this in? Wires, installation, etc.?
You can usually find the diagrams on the internet. The hardest parts of this project was taking the stock stereo out 'cause it wouldn't budge and the wires we ran from the doors to the stereo.
__________________
~2003 Zinc Yellow Terminator Cobra~
~482 RWHP / 487 LBS Torque~
MC770 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 03:24 PM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
Qwik Four Six's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 882
Quote:
Originally Posted by MC770

You can usually find the diagrams on the internet. The hardest parts of this project was taking the stock stereo out 'cause it wouldn't budge and the wires we ran from the doors to the stereo.
Oh okay. It's brand new and I think it might have a diagram. But yea, I've already got two pioneer door speakers and two 6x8 infinity speakers in the rear tray, and just got some oem dash speakers also. Lol
Qwik Four Six is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 03:25 PM   #12
Moderator Emeritus
Regular
 
MC770's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charlotte
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 1,761
Re: New Stereo installed

Shouldn't be too hard then
__________________
~2003 Zinc Yellow Terminator Cobra~
~482 RWHP / 487 LBS Torque~
MC770 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 03:25 PM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
Qwik Four Six's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 882
Quote:
Originally Posted by USAF_stang

complete waste of time man, wiring up a system is by far the easiest electronic thing to do...if you do a search on here there may already be a step by step DIY....if not I can help you out. all they are gonna do is read the install manual anyways lol
Okay. Lol. I might need some help if I do it, I'll probably build a box and get it ported instead of sealed so it'll sound better.
Qwik Four Six is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 07:22 PM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
Qwik Four Six's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 882
Quote:
Originally Posted by MC770
Shouldn't be too hard then
Oh okay.
Qwik Four Six is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > Mustang Audio & Video

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stereo help rbj29 Mustang Audio & Video 13 06-09-2007 08:54 PM
So I got a new Stereo again.... Brent The Bar 8 09-20-2006 04:38 PM
I cant take out my stereo RioStang Mustang Audio & Video 7 06-25-2006 10:49 PM
Need stereo help 01mineralgrey6 Mustang Audio & Video 5 06-26-2005 09:20 PM
pics of the stereo dropdpony Pictures and Videos 15 09-17-2004 03:28 PM

» Like Us On Facebook



07:17 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.