Need help with 5 channel AMP - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > Mustang Audio & Video



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 03-26-2011, 09:01 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
runvsofthisbull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Region: Florida
Posts: 606
Need help with 5 channel AMP

I just bought a brand new Jensen 5500 power 5 channel amp. I currently only have the sub that I want to wire the 5th channel too, however am running into some weird problems. First I want to know what BUS terminals are? I haven't had a system in a while and my CD player (Sony Xplod CGT650ui or something) has 5 RCA cable outlets (front, rear, BUS, and an external one that has its own black RCA wires???) Since I'm only wanting to wire the sub for now I wanted to know what channel to plug the RCA's into? My second big issue is that the AMP's power is turning off when I switch from the radio to the USB (AMP power light turns off)? Any thoughts? Lastly as far as my remote wire goes, my head unit has both a plain blue wire and a blue/white wire and currently my amp is connected to the solid blue wire, but I can always try the other wire. The speaker wire seems pretty simple as I'm using the 5th channel outlets and wiring them directly to the SUB. Please if you can help let me know otherwise I may have a long day tomorrow.
Thanks,
Justin.
__________________

2002 True Blue V6 to GT Vert
16.1@86 as an auto 3.8
2.15 60', 9.3@77, 14.4@96 as a 5spd SOHC 4.6
runvsofthisbull is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-26-2011, 11:53 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
Las0mbra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Region: Oklahoma
Posts: 2,104
Quote:
Originally Posted by runvsofthisbull
I just bought a brand new Jensen 5500 power 5 channel amp. I currently only have the sub that I want to wire the 5th channel too, however am running into some weird problems. First I want to know what BUS terminals are? I haven't had a system in a while and my CD player (Sony Xplod CGT650ui or something) has 5 RCA cable outlets (front, rear, BUS, and an external one that has its own black RCA wires???) Since I'm only wanting to wire the sub for now I wanted to know what channel to plug the RCA's into? My second big issue is that the AMP's power is turning off when I switch from the radio to the USB (AMP power light turns off)? Any thoughts? Lastly as far as my remote wire goes, my head unit has both a plain blue wire and a blue/white wire and currently my amp is connected to the solid blue wire, but I can always try the other wire. The speaker wire seems pretty simple as I'm using the 5th channel outlets and wiring them directly to the SUB. Please if you can help let me know otherwise I may have a long day tomorrow.
Thanks,
Justin.
My guess for RCA inputs would be rear, that's kind of a general thing. As for the power for the amp; normally, the amp turn on wire is found in the installation guide of the head unit itself or the manufactures website. Sometimes, depending on the headunit, it won't turn on for anything but certain inputs such as the radio. Oh, and every head unit ive looked at has the turn on wire being the blue w/ white stripe.
Hope this helps! Good luck man

Edit: and I just reread your post, the RCA out you should use is the rear output, just because your only using it for the sub. And if you need anything else, pm me, I'll try to help as best as possible. Or, you could go to a local bestbuy/audio installation shop, they would definitely be able to help
Las0mbra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2011, 08:16 AM   #3
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Region: Canada
Posts: 2,203
K...try the other remote wire and it may solve your shutting off issue and I dunno about the other stuff. Email Jensen

PETOM.biz TTT
Everett is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-27-2011, 10:14 AM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
runvsofthisbull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Region: Florida
Posts: 606
Re: Need help with 5 channel AMP

Remote is all good. I just crimped all 3 together (solid blue, blue/white, and remote). So now when i switch from radio to USB the power light is still on. If I run my RCA's from the rear output on the head unit do I still conect them to the 5th channel input on the amp (5/1 and 5/2 which is what it says on the Jensen). Lastly I read the amp manual and it stated it required a 12gau speaker wire at a minimum. I just bought 12 gau speaker wire and will replace the 16 gauge I have on there. Thanks for your input guys. I'll keep you posted and let me know about the correct channel if you can.
Thanks again.
__________________

2002 True Blue V6 to GT Vert
16.1@86 as an auto 3.8
2.15 60', 9.3@77, 14.4@96 as a 5spd SOHC 4.6
runvsofthisbull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2011, 10:22 AM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
Project Pony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Aiken
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 3,274
It's a Jensen, if you read the manual it states in there that their product is unlikely to function properly, unless your car is on a 20 degree incline. In the troubleshooting section it will tell you to insert a screwdriver into the cd slot and wail on it the a hammer. Their customer service number is (1-800-its-broke-again). Lmfao!

Sorry couldn't help it, Jensen hands down makes the worst products I have ever seen, anyway I know it may sound stupid, but did you possibly read it wrong? Bus might have actually been sub, Which is what I've seen on most of the Sony head units I have installed.

Sent from my iPhone using Mustang
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Project Pony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2011, 01:54 PM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
Las0mbra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Region: Oklahoma
Posts: 2,104
Quote:
Originally Posted by Project Pony
It's a Jensen, if you read the manual it states in there that their product is unlikely to function properly, unless your car is on a 20 degree incline. In the troubleshooting section it will tell you to insert a screwdriver into the cd slot and wail on it the a hammer. Their customer service number is (1-800-its-broke-again). Lmfao!

Sorry couldn't help it, Jensen hands down makes the worst products I have ever seen, anyway I know it may sound stupid, but did you possibly read it wrong? Bus might have actually been sub, Which is what I've seen on most of the Sony head units I have installed.

Sent from my iPhone using Mustang
All the headunits I've seen say use the rear output, then you change a setting saying it leads to a sub
Las0mbra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 06:21 AM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
runvsofthisbull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Region: Florida
Posts: 606
Re: Need help with 5 channel AMP

NO I did not read it wrong as it says clear as day BUS, but I am also aware that BUS spells SUB backwards so thanks for clarifying that for me projectpny or not. I've switched my RCA cables 2-4 times now from BUS to the 5th channel RCA input which is what the JENSEN manual states to do, and I've also tried using the rear RCA to the 5th channel input and still nothing. I'm going to recheck my subwoofer speaker wire today. It is a 2x4 Ohm audiopipe TSRV10 10 inch sub.
__________________

2002 True Blue V6 to GT Vert
16.1@86 as an auto 3.8
2.15 60', 9.3@77, 14.4@96 as a 5spd SOHC 4.6
runvsofthisbull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2011, 11:44 AM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
Project Pony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Aiken
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 3,274
Re: Need help with 5 channel AMP

Quote:
Originally Posted by Las0mbra View Post
All the headunits I've seen say use the rear output, then you change a setting saying it leads to a sub
But there are a lot that have front, rear, and sub. I've seen some cheapies that just have one low level output.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Project Pony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2011, 12:01 PM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
Project Pony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Aiken
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 3,274
Re: Need help with 5 channel AMP

Quote:
Originally Posted by runvsofthisbull View Post
NO I did not read it wrong as it says clear as day BUS, but I am also aware that BUS spells SUB backwards so thanks for clarifying that for me projectpny or not. I've switched my RCA cables 2-4 times now from BUS to the 5th channel RCA input which is what the JENSEN manual states to do, and I've also tried using the rear RCA to the 5th channel input and still nothing. I'm going to recheck my subwoofer speaker wire today. It is a 2x4 Ohm audiopipe TSRV10 10 inch sub.
Didn't mean to get you all worked up guy. Just having a good laugh, but back to business. What impedence do you have your sub wired to, and what is the rated impedence for that amp? If it's a dual 4ohm, wired in series will yield 8ohm, and parrallel will drop you to 2 ohms. Post the model number of the amp and I'll look into it.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Project Pony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2011, 12:11 PM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
Project Pony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Aiken
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 3,274
Re: Need help with 5 channel AMP

Just checked on the sub and it looks like is has a nominal rating of 250watts. That amp is just plain not going to give you enough juice for that sub. Are you planning on using the other channels for your door speakers? If not, a 2-channel or monoblock will work much better for powering a subwoofer. As for your remote wire, the blue with white stipe from the head unit is the one you want to use.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Project Pony is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > Mustang Audio & Video

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Turn on speed channel in 5 mins Topless04GT General Mustang Discussion 5 03-13-2011 01:30 PM
600w Pioneer 4 Channel Amp and Planet Audio 6x8's w00t Brent The Bar 7 08-24-2006 12:59 AM
same gauge wire for mono amp as multi-channel? tedness Mustang Audio & Video 5 05-05-2005 06:21 PM
something on discovery channel bout mustangs Bane- The Bar 13 09-29-2004 11:39 AM
Test Drive: GTO on speed channel 01mineralgrey6 The Bar 8 05-07-2004 11:14 PM

» Like Us On Facebook



06:37 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.