Audio Noob Needs Help - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > Mustang Audio & Video



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 09-30-2011, 12:59 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
PonyBoyV6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago Area
Region: Illinois
Posts: 1,079
Audio Noob Needs Help

2000 V6 mustang. Stock Head Unit. Stock Speakers. Heres my deal. I have absolutely no idea how to find a head unit that fits. If someone could help me out on that, i would appreciate it. Im getting sick of staring at my factory radio and want to find a reasonable head unit to stick in there.
PonyBoyV6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-30-2011, 01:11 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
96civic87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 65
U can buy any aftermarket deck it will fit witha dash deck kit made for ur car. U can get em at walmart for about 20 bucks and while ur there get the wire harness for ur car so u wont have to splice ur cars harness. The harness u buy splices in to the deck wires and plugs straight to the plug for ur car
96civic87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2011, 02:26 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
PonyBoyV6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago Area
Region: Illinois
Posts: 1,079
Quote:
Originally Posted by 96civic87
U can buy any aftermarket deck it will fit witha dash deck kit made for ur car. U can get em at walmart for about 20 bucks and while ur there get the wire harness for ur car so u wont have to splice ur cars harness. The harness u buy splices in to the deck wires and plugs straight to the plug for ur car
So any radio/cd player will fit? my cd player and Radio are two different entities, so do i rip that out along with the radio too? And then theres a big open space there or does the dask deck delete that?
PonyBoyV6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-30-2011, 02:39 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
96civic87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 65
Show me a poc of ur dash
96civic87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2011, 03:00 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
00STANG00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Gonzales
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 801
Send a message via AIM to 00STANG00 Send a message via Yahoo to 00STANG00
Quote:
Originally Posted by 96civic87
U can buy any aftermarket deck it will fit witha dash deck kit made for ur car. U can get em at walmart for about 20 bucks and while ur there get the wire harness for ur car so u wont have to splice ur cars harness. The harness u buy splices in to the deck wires and plugs straight to the plug for ur car
is it the mach 460 where radio in middle and the cd player at the bottom ill put a pic to show what talking bout later. ne regular cd player will fit need a harness and the din tools to take them off.
__________________
SUCK MY DUST
00STANG00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2011, 03:20 PM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
PonyBoyV6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago Area
Region: Illinois
Posts: 1,079
I'm on ipod so i cant post a pic onto the thread(ordont know how) but i'll put one into my album so you can take a look.
PonyBoyV6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2011, 03:27 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
96civic87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 65
Ok so u go to walmar get the din pins to remove the deck or u can simply use a metal coat hanger and push all hole in at the same time to pop out the deck the get a dash kit and wire kit for ir car them hook it up. I dont have the cd player like that do its a double din deck so i got the kit with a single din and a cd slot. Ill post a pic of mone brb
96civic87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2011, 03:29 PM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
Las0mbra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Region: Oklahoma
Posts: 2,104
Oh, hey, btw.. I have a mach460/1000 radio harness if anyone wants it, free: you just pay shipping.
Las0mbra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2011, 03:47 PM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
00STANG00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Gonzales
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 801
Send a message via AIM to 00STANG00 Send a message via Yahoo to 00STANG00
Quote:
Originally Posted by 96civic87
Ok so u go to walmar get the din pins to remove the deck or u can simply use a metal coat hanger and push all hole in at the same time to pop out the deck the get a dash kit and wire kit for ir car them hook it up. I dont have the cd player like that do its a double din deck so i got the kit with a single din and a cd slot. Ill post a pic of mone brb
coat hanger wont work tryed it. pish the din tool till u hear it click, wont be loud so have to listen for itpiul opposite deriction like < > and pull the stereo out while you pull toward opposite direction.

---------- Post added at 03:47 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:46 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by PonyBoyV6
I'm on ipod so i cant post a pic onto the thread(ordont know how) but i'll put one into my album so you can take a look.
if theres a sub ypu have the 1000
__________________
SUCK MY DUST
00STANG00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2011, 03:57 PM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
PonyBoyV6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago Area
Region: Illinois
Posts: 1,079
Are the only systems the 460/1000? Because i dont have a sub. And have no idea which i have lol. Im going to check out those dash kits though
PonyBoyV6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2011, 04:03 PM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
00STANG00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Gonzales
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 801
Send a message via AIM to 00STANG00 Send a message via Yahoo to 00STANG00
Quote:
Originally Posted by PonyBoyV6
Are the only systems the 460/1000? Because i dont have a sub. And have no idea which i have lol. Im going to check out those dash kits though
you have 460
__________________
SUCK MY DUST
00STANG00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2011, 04:37 PM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
96civic87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 65
Thats my setup
96civic87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2011, 04:40 PM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
96civic87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 65
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2739148798.png
Views:	138
Size:	968.5 KB
ID:	32268



Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2919308583.png
Views:	127
Size:	966.9 KB
ID:	32269
96civic87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2011, 04:43 PM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
00STANG00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Gonzales
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 801
Send a message via AIM to 00STANG00 Send a message via Yahoo to 00STANG00
mines different go to walmart and get the kit
__________________
SUCK MY DUST
00STANG00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2011, 04:58 PM   #15
It's not me, it's you.
Regular
Supporter
 
primer2tone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Corpus Christi
Region: Texas
Posts: 6,752
Does anyone know if you can add an amp and subs to the stock deck? I've got a '11 and I don't care for aftermarket decks but can't afford to upgrade to the touchscreen deck that the premium model comes with. I want a little more bump in my truck! Lol
primer2tone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2011, 05:32 PM   #16
Registered Member
Regular
 
00STANG00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Gonzales
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 801
Send a message via AIM to 00STANG00 Send a message via Yahoo to 00STANG00
this is mine
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-15575665.png
Views:	78
Size:	764.4 KB
ID:	32270  
__________________
SUCK MY DUST
00STANG00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2011, 05:36 PM   #17
Registered Member
Regular
 
PonyBoyV6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago Area
Region: Illinois
Posts: 1,079
Quote:
Originally Posted by 00STANG00
this is mine
So for the CD player on bottom, you just take it out? Or does that kit come with something that makes it look a bit prettier like that. Yours doesn't look like you just yanked out the CD player, which is why im asking. Both of your guys' setups look real nice, im jealous lol
PonyBoyV6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2011, 05:45 PM   #18
Registered Member
Regular
 
96civic87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 65
U can do it for about 30 bucks for everything
96civic87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2011, 05:49 PM   #19
Registered Member
Regular
 
00STANG00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Gonzales
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 801
Send a message via AIM to 00STANG00 Send a message via Yahoo to 00STANG00
Quote:
Originally Posted by PonyBoyV6

So for the CD player on bottom, you just take it out? Or does that kit come with something that makes it look a bit prettier like that. Yours doesn't look like you just yanked out the CD player, which is why im asking. Both of your guys' setups look real nice, im jealous lol
use the din tools for both there shaped like a U

---------- Post added at 05:49 PM ---------- Previous post was at 05:47 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by 00STANG00

use the din tools for both there shaped like a U
or you can go to a junk yard and get the bezel like i did
__________________
SUCK MY DUST
00STANG00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2011, 06:11 PM   #20
Registered Member
Regular
 
96civic87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 65
The bezel like i have
96civic87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2011, 06:44 PM   #21
Registered Member
Regular
 
goherd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 79
Here go to crutchfield.com. You will find exactly what you need.
goherd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2011, 06:55 PM   #22
Registered Member
Regular
 
94 Mustang GT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Region: Minnesota
Posts: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by PonyBoyV6

So any radio/cd player will fit? my cd player and Radio are two different entities, so do i rip that out along with the radio too? And then theres a big open space there or does the dask deck delete that?
Leave the cd player alone! I have an aftermarket deck in mine and I just left the cd player alone.

---------- Post added at 06:55 PM ---------- Previous post was at 06:53 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by 96civic87
<img src="http://www.mustangevolution.com/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=32268"/>

<img src="http://www.mustangevolution.com/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=32269"/>
Looks like your cd player is part of the radio!
__________________
1994 Mustang GT
Bought for $2200,Had 97K miles,New fuel tank,New driver front hub,New pass ball joint,New alt, New battery,New fog lights,New plastic bezel shifter,Fixed check engine light,New tires,Coolant flush,Magnaflow exhaust. Its starting to come together towards stock THEN I will make it go FAST!
94 Mustang GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2011, 07:19 PM   #23
Registered Member
Regular
 
blackhawk 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Region: California
Posts: 472
Re: Audio Noob Needs Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by 00STANG00 View Post
this is mine
I like yours
blackhawk 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2011, 09:58 PM   #24
Registered Member
Regular
 
00STANG00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Gonzales
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 801
Send a message via AIM to 00STANG00 Send a message via Yahoo to 00STANG00
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackhawk 1

I like yours
thanks took a over a year to find the peices
__________________
SUCK MY DUST
00STANG00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2011, 12:06 AM   #25
Registered Member
Regular
 
PonyBoyV6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago Area
Region: Illinois
Posts: 1,079
Also. Do you guys know anything about subs and amps? I have no idea about either of them, and bought a pair of reasonable subs off amazon. But i have no clue how to pick an amp out for it. I dont need something booming, but something with a bit of punch, At a lower price.

Pyramid BNPS102
4 Ohm
2" voice Coil
2 500 watt subs

Theres like, mono-and 2 channel and 4 channel amps or some crap, and i have no clue what to pair those subs up with? They're 2 subs in a box. I'd call Geeksquad, but im pretty sure they might charge me for their "expertise."
PonyBoyV6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2011, 12:17 AM   #26
Registered Member
Regular
 
00STANG00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Gonzales
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 801
Send a message via AIM to 00STANG00 Send a message via Yahoo to 00STANG00
u have all u need just need tbe amp kit
__________________
SUCK MY DUST
00STANG00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2011, 12:38 AM   #27
Registered Member
Regular
 
PonyBoyV6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago Area
Region: Illinois
Posts: 1,079
Quote:
Originally Posted by 00STANG00
u have all u need just need tbe amp kit
I dont really know what kind of amp i need to buy. Or what wattage i know i need wiring and that too, just dont know about the amp i should get
PonyBoyV6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2011, 12:52 AM   #28
Registered Member
Regular
 
00STANG00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Gonzales
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 801
Send a message via AIM to 00STANG00 Send a message via Yahoo to 00STANG00
anywhere from 200 to 450 watts and 2 channel 4 ohms look at crutchfield. com
__________________
SUCK MY DUST
00STANG00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2011, 05:47 AM   #29
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Region: Florida
Posts: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by primer2tone
Does anyone know if you can add an amp and subs to the stock deck? I've got a '11 and I don't care for aftermarket decks but can't afford to upgrade to the touchscreen deck that the premium model comes with. I want a little more bump in my truck! Lol
Yes you can. You will need a line level adapter to convert the high level speaker output of the radio to RCA low level to feed the amp. You can get one with the amp turn on in it so you won't need to pull the radio out of the dash you can take the signal off of the back speakers.
Mustangsandiron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 07:13 PM   #30
Registered Member
Regular
 
PonyBoyV6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago Area
Region: Illinois
Posts: 1,079
Hopefully this thread isnt dead just yet. Some of these amps say you are "Bridgeable" i have 2 10" subs in a box. Do i need these to be bridged?

This one says 2 x 400 W @ 4ohms. Is that what im looking to get?
PonyBoyV6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 07:54 PM   #31
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Region: Florida
Posts: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by PonyBoyV6
Hopefully this thread isnt dead just yet. Some of these amps say you are "Bridgeable" i have 2 10" subs in a box. Do i need these to be bridged?

This one says 2 x 400 W @ 4ohms. Is that what im looking to get?
What ohms are the 10s? Does the amp say that it is bridgeable?
Mustangsandiron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 07:57 PM   #32
Registered Member
Regular
 
goherd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 79
You can hook up the subs series parallel to drop the ohms. What you are wanting to look for is the ohms of the subs and the amp to make sure they match.
goherd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 08:13 PM   #33
Registered Member
Regular
 
PonyBoyV6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago Area
Region: Illinois
Posts: 1,079
Pyramid BNPS102 <--- the subs
4 Ohm
2" voice Coil

This amp im looking at is discribed as 800 watt 2 channel amp
400w x 2 output at 4 ohms
800w x 1 bridged output at 2 ohms

No idea what this means.
PonyBoyV6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 08:22 PM   #34
Registered Member
Regular
 
goherd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 79
Ok basically what you will do is hook up the speakers up stereo mode. The amp will have left and right and that is how you will hook them up. IE left to left speaker.
Now if the speakers will go down to 2 ohms you can hook the subs up differently to get a harder deeper bass sound.
goherd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 08:28 PM   #35
Registered Member
Regular
 
PonyBoyV6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago Area
Region: Illinois
Posts: 1,079
Quote:
Originally Posted by goherd
Ok basically what you will do is hook up the speakers up stereo mode. The amp will have left and right and that is how you will hook them up. IE left to left speaker.
Now if the speakers will go down to 2 ohms you can hook the subs up differently to get a harder deeper bass sound.
Im actually just going to take my stuff to best buy and have them do the install, they do it pretty cheap, and i have no clue about audio/electronics. I just needed to know if that amp would work for both my subs? All of this is like math to me haha, in one ear out the other. I dont get a thing about this stuff.
PonyBoyV6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > Mustang Audio & Video

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Noob here! Body Thief New Member Introductions & Greetings 6 09-22-2011 03:28 PM
NOOB GoodTimes General Mustang Discussion 39 08-30-2011 02:57 AM
Help with Mach460 Audio joestang406 Mustang Audio & Video 13 07-30-2011 12:15 PM
audio system problem DTRJ04 Mustang Audio & Video 2 07-01-2011 03:09 PM

» Members Mustangs

NQS003

John@NQS

Bee

jkeaton
Add your Mustang
» Like Us On Facebook



03:59 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.