Ah! Please Help! - Page 3 - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > Mustang Audio & Video



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 03-02-2012, 01:19 PM   #71
Registered Member
Regular
 
dmax8709's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Alabama
Posts: 413
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greeny27

Oh man thats rough! And im not sure, ive planed out what i want to do this summer and 4.10's and tlok and a windstar intake is on the list right now. Hmmm should i get that cool looking b&m shifter for auto mustangs? Does that help at all besides looks?
Not if u have tuner with shift points. If not get a shift kit and the tuner so u can have total control over the gears. What's a tlok ? U wanting drag or road course out of the car? It gonna stay na? Or u gonna super or turbo charge it?
dmax8709 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-02-2012, 05:11 PM   #72
Registered Member
Regular
 
dmax8709's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Alabama
Posts: 413
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmax8709

Not if u have tuner with shift points. If not get a shift kit and the tuner so u can have total control over the gears. What's a tlok ? U wanting drag or road course out of the car? It gonna stay na? Or u gonna super or turbo charge it?
I mean get a shift kit and the shifter not tuner**
dmax8709 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 11:11 PM   #73
Registered Member
Regular
 
2Greeny7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Connecticut
Posts: 776
Send a message via Skype™ to 2Greeny7
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmax8709

I mean get a shift kit and the shifter not tuner**
Its staying NA for now anyway, and i have a tuner currently. And ahhh i see that shift kit is like $230, is jt that big of a difference!?
__________________
2001 V6
CAI, SF3/X3 Tuner, 4.10 Gears, Auburn lim-slip
GT4 Rims (Summer), Stock Rims (Winter)
2 Subs, New speakers all around
1 Great Car 1 Happy Kid
July '12 Mustang of the Month
2Greeny7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-02-2012, 11:53 PM   #74
Registered Member
Regular
 
dmax8709's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Alabama
Posts: 413
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greeny27

Its staying NA for now anyway, and i have a tuner currently. And ahhh i see that shift kit is like $230, is jt that big of a difference!?
I got a kit for around 100 bucks. Keep looking. If u have it n drive it'll shift like it suppose to but when u r n second or whatever gear it can go to 8k rpm and never shift. But if u have a tuner u can set the shift points on it. So a shifter and kit wouldn't be worth the money performance wise but on the fun meter it'll be nice to have lol. And the shifter urs looking at is useless without a kit. It'd be just for looks
dmax8709 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 09:27 AM   #75
Registered Member
Regular
 
2Greeny7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Connecticut
Posts: 776
Send a message via Skype™ to 2Greeny7
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmax8709

I got a kit for around 100 bucks. Keep looking. If u have it n drive it'll shift like it suppose to but when u r n second or whatever gear it can go to 8k rpm and never shift. But if u have a tuner u can set the shift points on it. So a shifter and kit wouldn't be worth the money performance wise but on the fun meter it'll be nice to have lol. And the shifter urs looking at is useless without a kit. It'd be just for looks
Im confused, I could manually shift my auto?
__________________
2001 V6
CAI, SF3/X3 Tuner, 4.10 Gears, Auburn lim-slip
GT4 Rims (Summer), Stock Rims (Winter)
2 Subs, New speakers all around
1 Great Car 1 Happy Kid
July '12 Mustang of the Month
2Greeny7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 11:35 AM   #76
Registered Member
Regular
 
dmax8709's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Alabama
Posts: 413
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greeny27

Im confused, I could manually shift my auto?
Yea with the shift kit. Just no clutch. But if u have the tuner with shift points there really isn't much need except just to play with
dmax8709 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 01:43 PM   #77
Registered Member
Regular
 
2Greeny7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Connecticut
Posts: 776
Send a message via Skype™ to 2Greeny7
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmax8709

Yea with the shift kit. Just no clutch. But if u have the tuner with shift points there really isn't much need except just to play with
Im confused with that idea hahaha do i shift the car or does the computer that i tuned do it? Im trying to find videos on this to help hahaha
__________________
2001 V6
CAI, SF3/X3 Tuner, 4.10 Gears, Auburn lim-slip
GT4 Rims (Summer), Stock Rims (Winter)
2 Subs, New speakers all around
1 Great Car 1 Happy Kid
July '12 Mustang of the Month
2Greeny7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 02:27 PM   #78
Registered Member
Regular
 
dmax8709's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Alabama
Posts: 413
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greeny27

Im confused with that idea hahaha do i shift the car or does the computer that i tuned do it? Im trying to find videos on this to help hahaha
if u have a shift kit, when its n drive it'll shift automatically but if u downshift or upshift it'll respond to u when u do it manually.
dmax8709 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 06:02 PM   #79
Registered Member
Regular
 
2Greeny7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Connecticut
Posts: 776
Send a message via Skype™ to 2Greeny7
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmax8709

if u have a shift kit, when its n drive it'll shift automatically but if u downshift or upshift it'll respond to u when u do it manually.
Ahhhh ok i see. Thats sweet!
__________________
2001 V6
CAI, SF3/X3 Tuner, 4.10 Gears, Auburn lim-slip
GT4 Rims (Summer), Stock Rims (Winter)
2 Subs, New speakers all around
1 Great Car 1 Happy Kid
July '12 Mustang of the Month
2Greeny7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 08:07 PM   #80
Registered Member
Regular
 
dmax8709's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Alabama
Posts: 413
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greeny27

Ahhhh ok i see. Thats sweet!
Yea its fun to play with
dmax8709 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 09:12 PM   #81
Registered Member
Regular
 
2Greeny7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Connecticut
Posts: 776
Send a message via Skype™ to 2Greeny7
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmax8709

Yea its fun to play with
Have you ever used one? Will this damage my automatic transmission?
__________________
2001 V6
CAI, SF3/X3 Tuner, 4.10 Gears, Auburn lim-slip
GT4 Rims (Summer), Stock Rims (Winter)
2 Subs, New speakers all around
1 Great Car 1 Happy Kid
July '12 Mustang of the Month
2Greeny7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 09:17 PM   #82
Registered Member
Regular
 
dmax8709's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Alabama
Posts: 413
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greeny27

Have you ever used one? Will this damage my automatic transmission?
Yea i got one. And yea u can damage the tranny easy. Just gotta know when and what rpm to shift and what gear to downshift to. Just like a 5speed with no clutch. Its fun to play with if u know what urs doing. But for actual racing id stick with the tuner shift point settings cause those will never change and u swapping gears u can miss ya shift by a few hundred rpm and that can hurt u racing
dmax8709 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 10:43 PM   #83
Registered Member
Regular
 
2Greeny7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Connecticut
Posts: 776
Send a message via Skype™ to 2Greeny7
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmax8709

Yea i got one. And yea u can damage the tranny easy. Just gotta know when and what rpm to shift and what gear to downshift to. Just like a 5speed with no clutch. Its fun to play with if u know what urs doing. But for actual racing id stick with the tuner shift point settings cause those will never change and u swapping gears u can miss ya shift by a few hundred rpm and that can hurt u racing
Hmmmm ok i see, i might just get it for looks then
__________________
2001 V6
CAI, SF3/X3 Tuner, 4.10 Gears, Auburn lim-slip
GT4 Rims (Summer), Stock Rims (Winter)
2 Subs, New speakers all around
1 Great Car 1 Happy Kid
July '12 Mustang of the Month
2Greeny7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 01:22 PM   #84
Registered Member
Regular
 
2Greeny7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Connecticut
Posts: 776
Send a message via Skype™ to 2Greeny7
For everyone whose helped me! Heres the end product!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20120307_142052.png
Views:	50
Size:	424.0 KB
ID:	42846  
__________________
2001 V6
CAI, SF3/X3 Tuner, 4.10 Gears, Auburn lim-slip
GT4 Rims (Summer), Stock Rims (Winter)
2 Subs, New speakers all around
1 Great Car 1 Happy Kid
July '12 Mustang of the Month
2Greeny7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 02:17 PM   #85
Registered Member
Regular
 
dmax8709's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Alabama
Posts: 413
I had that same box for a while. I had 2 12 alpine type r n then
dmax8709 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 02:19 PM   #86
Registered Member
Regular
 
2Greeny7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Connecticut
Posts: 776
Send a message via Skype™ to 2Greeny7
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmax8709
I had that same box for a while. I had 2 12 alpine type r n then
I like the box it fits really well
__________________
2001 V6
CAI, SF3/X3 Tuner, 4.10 Gears, Auburn lim-slip
GT4 Rims (Summer), Stock Rims (Winter)
2 Subs, New speakers all around
1 Great Car 1 Happy Kid
July '12 Mustang of the Month
2Greeny7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 02:20 PM   #87
Registered Member
Regular
 
dmax8709's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Alabama
Posts: 413
Yea it fit perfect. I just went a diff route. I was pleased with it
dmax8709 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 06:24 PM   #88
Registered Member
Regular
 
2Greeny7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Connecticut
Posts: 776
Send a message via Skype™ to 2Greeny7
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmax8709
Yea it fit perfect. I just went a diff route. I was pleased with it
The subs sound amazing, however still one problem -_- sometimes the subs just turn off, and will only restart if i turn my car off and back on... im tired of these problems
__________________
2001 V6
CAI, SF3/X3 Tuner, 4.10 Gears, Auburn lim-slip
GT4 Rims (Summer), Stock Rims (Winter)
2 Subs, New speakers all around
1 Great Car 1 Happy Kid
July '12 Mustang of the Month
2Greeny7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 06:33 PM   #89
Registered Member
Regular
 
dmax8709's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Alabama
Posts: 413
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greeny27

The subs sound amazing, however still one problem -_- sometimes the subs just turn off, and will only restart if i turn my car off and back on... im tired of these problems
Check ur voltage going into the amp. Is ur amp turning off or the subs just stop playing? Does it make a noise when it cuts off?
dmax8709 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 08:31 PM   #90
Registered Member
Regular
 
2Greeny7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Connecticut
Posts: 776
Send a message via Skype™ to 2Greeny7
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmax8709

Check ur voltage going into the amp. Is ur amp turning off or the subs just stop playing? Does it make a noise when it cuts off?
I'll have to check and I believe amp. And no noise, I noticed it only happens when the music gets loud or turned up past half way. Thanks again!
__________________
2001 V6
CAI, SF3/X3 Tuner, 4.10 Gears, Auburn lim-slip
GT4 Rims (Summer), Stock Rims (Winter)
2 Subs, New speakers all around
1 Great Car 1 Happy Kid
July '12 Mustang of the Month
2Greeny7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 11:22 PM   #91
Registered Member
Regular
 
Justasix98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Norman, Oklahoma
Region: Oklahoma
Posts: 370
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greeny27

I'll have to check and I believe amp. And no noise, I noticed it only happens when the music gets loud or turned up past half way. Thanks again!
It's prolly the amp for sure, what subs and amp are you running? Looks really good, box fits perfect and looks clean as well
__________________
Just A Sixxer!
Proud member of WickedStangs Okc Chapter!
Justasix98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 07:07 AM   #92
Registered Member
Regular
 
2Greeny7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Connecticut
Posts: 776
Send a message via Skype™ to 2Greeny7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Justasix98

It's prolly the amp for sure, what subs and amp are you running? Looks really good, box fits perfect and looks clean as well
Boss audio and idk if its the amp
__________________
2001 V6
CAI, SF3/X3 Tuner, 4.10 Gears, Auburn lim-slip
GT4 Rims (Summer), Stock Rims (Winter)
2 Subs, New speakers all around
1 Great Car 1 Happy Kid
July '12 Mustang of the Month
2Greeny7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 08:09 AM   #93
Registered Member
Regular
 
Justasix98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Norman, Oklahoma
Region: Oklahoma
Posts: 370
Same thing happens with my friends Charger, amp isn't big enough to push his subs, overheats and shuts off. I'd recommend a Kicker ZX 750/1 or 1000/1 amp w/ a bass knob. Boss isn't that great but there decent.
__________________
Just A Sixxer!
Proud member of WickedStangs Okc Chapter!
Justasix98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 08:50 AM   #94
Registered Member
Regular
 
2Greeny7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Connecticut
Posts: 776
Send a message via Skype™ to 2Greeny7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Justasix98
Same thing happens with my friends Charger, amp isn't big enough to push his subs, overheats and shuts off. I'd recommend a Kicker ZX 750/1 or 1000/1 amp w/ a bass knob. Boss isn't that great but there decent.
So its an over heating problem? Thats interesting, its only pushing 500w at 2ohm. For both subs that have a 1400w max peak so yeah and its only sometimes that it does that.
__________________
2001 V6
CAI, SF3/X3 Tuner, 4.10 Gears, Auburn lim-slip
GT4 Rims (Summer), Stock Rims (Winter)
2 Subs, New speakers all around
1 Great Car 1 Happy Kid
July '12 Mustang of the Month
2Greeny7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 12:14 PM   #95
Registered Member
Regular
 
dmax8709's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Alabama
Posts: 413
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greeny27

So its an over heating problem? Thats interesting, its only pushing 500w at 2ohm. For both subs that have a 1400w max peak so yeah and its only sometimes that it does that.
R the subs wired at 2 ohm? If its a voltage problem when u turn it up u don't have enough power to push it and the amp shuts off. Need to make sure the subs r wired at 2 ohm and check ur voltage. What voice coils do the subs have?
dmax8709 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 01:14 PM   #96
Registered Member
Regular
 
2Greeny7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Connecticut
Posts: 776
Send a message via Skype™ to 2Greeny7
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmax8709

R the subs wired at 2 ohm? If its a voltage problem when u turn it up u don't have enough power to push it and the amp shuts off. Need to make sure the subs r wired at 2 ohm and check ur voltage. What voice coils do the subs have?
I have the subs wired at 4ohms via crunchfield diagram. So 2ohm leaving the sub and 4ohm at each sub. And driving home 20 min ago i turned (rather sharply and kinda hard) my CD turns off then when it turns back on (all by its self 10seconds later) the subs arent playing
__________________
2001 V6
CAI, SF3/X3 Tuner, 4.10 Gears, Auburn lim-slip
GT4 Rims (Summer), Stock Rims (Winter)
2 Subs, New speakers all around
1 Great Car 1 Happy Kid
July '12 Mustang of the Month
2Greeny7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 01:53 PM   #97
Registered Member
Regular
 
dmax8709's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Alabama
Posts: 413
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greeny27

I have the subs wired at 4ohms via crunchfield diagram. So 2ohm leaving the sub and 4ohm at each sub. And driving home 20 min ago i turned (rather sharply and kinda hard) my CD turns off then when it turns back on (all by its self 10seconds later) the subs arent playing
R the subs dual 4 ohm a piece? The amp a mono block? But it sounds like u got some wiring messed up somewhere for ur cd player to do that.
dmax8709 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 02:12 PM   #98
Registered Member
Regular
 
2Greeny7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Connecticut
Posts: 776
Send a message via Skype™ to 2Greeny7
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmax8709

R the subs dual 4 ohm a piece? The amp a mono block? But it sounds like u got some wiring messed up somewhere for ur cd player to do that.
Yes 4ohm each and thats how its all wired up, and no it isnt a mono amp, its bridgeable ab amp.
__________________
2001 V6
CAI, SF3/X3 Tuner, 4.10 Gears, Auburn lim-slip
GT4 Rims (Summer), Stock Rims (Winter)
2 Subs, New speakers all around
1 Great Car 1 Happy Kid
July '12 Mustang of the Month
2Greeny7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 02:41 PM   #99
Registered Member
Regular
 
Justasix98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Norman, Oklahoma
Region: Oklahoma
Posts: 370
Un bridge it, your amp is working to hard to keep up with the subs. Also check your ground wires, make sure there good and tight, you can also upgrade your terminals (I'll post pics)
__________________
Just A Sixxer!
Proud member of WickedStangs Okc Chapter!
Justasix98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 02:42 PM   #100
Registered Member
Regular
 
Justasix98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Norman, Oklahoma
Region: Oklahoma
Posts: 370
Your subs should be wired like this-
4 ohm dual voice coil
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-444749517.jpg
Views:	46
Size:	132.7 KB
ID:	42969  
__________________
Just A Sixxer!
Proud member of WickedStangs Okc Chapter!
Justasix98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 02:47 PM   #101
Registered Member
Regular
 
2Greeny7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Connecticut
Posts: 776
Send a message via Skype™ to 2Greeny7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Justasix98
Your subs should be wired like this-
4 ohm dual voice coil
I have my subs wired like this http://a248.e.akamai.net/pix.crutchf...ch-low-imp.jpg
__________________
2001 V6
CAI, SF3/X3 Tuner, 4.10 Gears, Auburn lim-slip
GT4 Rims (Summer), Stock Rims (Winter)
2 Subs, New speakers all around
1 Great Car 1 Happy Kid
July '12 Mustang of the Month
2Greeny7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 03:24 PM   #102
Registered Member
Regular
 
Justasix98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Norman, Oklahoma
Region: Oklahoma
Posts: 370
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greeny27
That's good, you should def upgrade your amp tho
__________________
Just A Sixxer!
Proud member of WickedStangs Okc Chapter!
Justasix98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 03:43 PM   #103
Registered Member
Regular
 
dmax8709's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Alabama
Posts: 413
More than likely unbridge it. Most multi ch amp r suppose to be bridged @ 4 ohm so 2 ohm is to big of a load for it and shutting it off. And sounds like u got a wire loose behind the radio

---------- Post added at 03:43 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:42 PM ----------

Also still check ya voltage to make sure its good
dmax8709 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 07:37 PM   #104
Registered Member
Regular
 
2Greeny7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Connecticut
Posts: 776
Send a message via Skype™ to 2Greeny7
If i unbridge it how should i wire it? And also the subs didnt even turn on today. I looked back and my box moved, so it pulled the wires.... which in turn, turned off my amp
__________________
2001 V6
CAI, SF3/X3 Tuner, 4.10 Gears, Auburn lim-slip
GT4 Rims (Summer), Stock Rims (Winter)
2 Subs, New speakers all around
1 Great Car 1 Happy Kid
July '12 Mustang of the Month
2Greeny7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 08:09 PM   #105
Registered Member
Regular
 
dmax8709's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Alabama
Posts: 413
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greeny27
If i unbridge it how should i wire it? And also the subs didnt even turn on today. I looked back and my box moved, so it pulled the wires.... which in turn, turned off my amp
Put each sub on a separate ch. Or put both on one ch. It'll be the same amount of power going to the subs. U need to have everything mounted down so it won't move when ur driving.
dmax8709 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > Mustang Audio & Video

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



06:33 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.