Putting in wiring for amp - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > Mustang Audio & Video



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 02-26-2012, 10:43 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
2003SonicBlue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Maryland
Posts: 210
Putting in wiring for amp

Can anybody give me a quick walk thru of running wire for an amp.
Amp being in the back of the car, running all speakers to amp and two subwoofers. What do I need to do with my speaker wires and head unit wires exc.
Appreciate the help!
2003SonicBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-26-2012, 10:44 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
vinnygt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Region: California
Posts: 666
Do u have your stock system?

---------- Post added at 11:44 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:44 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by vinnygt
Do u have your stock system?
Or do u have after market head unit and speakers?
vinnygt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 11:01 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
87blackonblack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Ohio
Posts: 308
Run your power wire from your battery to your amp suggest atleast 4 gage wire. Find a good spot in the truck to run your ground (usually clear or a yellowish color) , a spot witb bare metal something you can secure it to and it will hold. You will also need this to be at least 4gage as well the bigger the better for both. From the head unit to the amp u will also need to run a set of good quality RCA cords red and white to your amp as well as a blue remote wire from your head unit to your amp. Then just run your speaker wire from your speakers to.your amp. This is the just the basics and it will get u up and running but I would suggest that u run a fuse on your power wire (red)some where close to your battery about a foot or less. Also if your going to run a really big amp and speakers to maybe get a power cap to help maintaine your volts and a bigger alternator so you dont dim your lights or damage your alternator or battery. if your running an amp to your factory car speakers and using the factory stereo this gets a little more complicated but just let me know and ill try to walk u through that. Hope this helps. Good luck
87blackonblack is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-27-2012, 12:01 AM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
2003SonicBlue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Maryland
Posts: 210
Quote:
Originally Posted by 87blackonblack
Run your power wire from your battery to your amp suggest atleast 4 gage wire. Find a good spot in the truck to run your ground (usually clear or a yellowish color) , a spot witb bare metal something you can secure it to and it will hold. You will also need this to be at least 4gage as well the bigger the better for both. From the head unit to the amp u will also need to run a set of good quality RCA cords red and white to your amp as well as a blue remote wire from your head unit to your amp. Then just run your speaker wire from your speakers to.your amp. This is the just the basics and it will get u up and running but I would suggest that u run a fuse on your power wire (red)some where close to your battery about a foot or less. Also if your going to run a really big amp and speakers to maybe get a power cap to help maintaine your volts and a bigger alternator so you dont dim your lights or damage your alternator or battery. if your running an amp to your factory car speakers and using the factory stereo this gets a little more complicated but just let me know and ill try to walk u through that. Hope this helps. Good luck
Thank you! And I'm helping a friend do it in his VW... Mine was done before I got the car. I put in new speakers and added a second amp conversion and subs also wired my head unit...but just n
Wanted to know more about the wiring process!
2003SonicBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 06:55 AM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
87blackonblack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Ohio
Posts: 308
No problem its support simple of you need more help just ask
87blackonblack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 10:30 PM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
OmegaRedGT 2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Region: Alabama
Posts: 175
Make sure you run your power wire on one side and the speaker and RCAs on the other side of the car ,this will prevent distortion..if possible solder all the wire connections you make.
OmegaRedGT 2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > Mustang Audio & Video

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
F/s real carbon fiber case for 3g/3gs Las0mbra FYI Ads | Recently Listed 5 03-09-2012 03:27 PM
Dual Exhaust Conversion & Smog Soccerluvr4 2005-2010 V6 Mustang 2 02-29-2012 11:11 PM
98 3.8 in need of power.. cam? trixinahat Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 33 02-26-2012 09:40 PM
black carbon in throttle body? oil smell? Mweigt07 2011-2014 Mustang GT 15 02-25-2012 11:06 PM

» Like Us On Facebook



03:24 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.