Amp back feed noise through speakers - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > Mustang Audio & Video



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 02-29-2012, 12:52 PM   #1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Virginia
Posts: 380
Amp back feed noise through speakers

I've got a 04 Cobra that recently started making this god awful noise through my speakers which sounds like a amp back feed issue. It doesn't like every 3rd time I'm in the car. Not sure if it's bad wiring or the amp going out. It has the Mach sound system. Any ideas or thoughts??
SNK3BTE04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-29-2012, 10:25 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
2003SonicBlue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Maryland
Posts: 210
Time for a new car.

---------- Post added at 11:25 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:25 PM ----------

Nah I'm just kidding. Check all of your wiring before you replace something, also check amp gain, ext.
2003SonicBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2012, 09:52 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
dmax8709's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Alabama
Posts: 413
Quote:
Originally Posted by SNK3BTE04
I've got a 04 Cobra that recently started making this god awful noise through my speakers which sounds like a amp back feed issue. It doesn't like every 3rd time I'm in the car. Not sure if it's bad wiring or the amp going out. It has the Mach sound system. Any ideas or thoughts??
Do u have a line converter on ur rca? Check maybe ur rca wires r to close to the power wire for the amp kit? Or is everything factory or aftermarket ?
dmax8709 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-02-2012, 06:06 PM   #4
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Virginia
Posts: 380
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmax8709

Do u have a line converter on ur rca? Check maybe ur rca wires r to close to the power wire for the amp kit? Or is everything factory or aftermarket ?
Everything is factory. I haven't looked closely to it as of yet but will. It sounds like its feeding backwards through RCA or something.
SNK3BTE04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 06:17 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
dmax8709's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Alabama
Posts: 413
Quote:
Originally Posted by SNK3BTE04

Everything is factory. I haven't looked closely to it as of yet but will. It sounds like its feeding backwards through RCA or something.
So everything is factory no system or subs ?When ur alternator starts goin bad u can hear a lil feedback. I've had that happen. Check all ur wires to see if any r cut.
dmax8709 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 09:17 PM   #6
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Virginia
Posts: 380
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmax8709

So everything is factory no system or subs ?When ur alternator starts goin bad u can hear a lil feedback. I've had that happen. Check all ur wires to see if any r cut.
Yeah no subs. All factory Mach 460 components. I'm not sure about the alternator but it's a possiable though. It def sounds like a wiring issue with the amp cause it does it on occasion. When the radio first comes on theres a delay for the amp to kick in which is when the noise comes on.
SNK3BTE04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 09:27 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
dmax8709's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Alabama
Posts: 413
Quote:
Originally Posted by SNK3BTE04

Yeah no subs. All factory Mach 460 components. I'm not sure about the alternator but it's a possiable though. It def sounds like a wiring issue with the amp cause it does it on occasion. When the radio first comes on theres a delay for the amp to kick in which is when the noise comes on.
Yea sounds like the factory amps r goin bad unless ya wiring is. But more than likely the amps. Sorry for the bad news.
dmax8709 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 09:29 PM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
vinnygt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Region: California
Posts: 666
Yeah I'm pretty sure it's your amps. Since it only does it sometimes. If it was a cut wire or something it would do it all the time. But look at the plus side. Now u got a reason to upgrade your sound system on that beast
vinnygt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 09:32 PM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
dmax8709's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Alabama
Posts: 413
Quote:
Originally Posted by vinnygt
Yeah I'm pretty sure it's your amps. Since it only does it sometimes. If it was a cut wire or something it would do it all the time. But look at the plus side. Now u got a reason to upgrade your sound system on that beast
Yea only way id be wiring if it only did it when it touched another wire. I upgraded mine. I just ripped all my 460 out. All amps and everything. Replaced it all with Kenwood and Kenwood head unit
dmax8709 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 11:20 PM   #10
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Virginia
Posts: 380
I'm guessing a upgrade is the answer I see. The Mach system is pretty good considering the age I it. Thanks for the imput people.
SNK3BTE04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 11:55 PM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
dmax8709's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Alabama
Posts: 413
Quote:
Originally Posted by SNK3BTE04
I'm guessing a upgrade is the answer I see. The Mach system is pretty good considering the age I it. Thanks for the imput people.
No prob. Got any ideas on what u will upgrade to? U can just go to a junkyard and find a mach 460 car and getting the amps out of it
dmax8709 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 10:55 AM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
vinnygt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Region: California
Posts: 666
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmax8709

Yea only way id be wiring if it only did it when it touched another wire. I upgraded mine. I just ripped all my 460 out. All amps and everything. Replaced it all with Kenwood and Kenwood head unit
That's what I did when my amps when out. I got a Kenwood head Unit too. Love it. And much easier to install then trying to fix my 460 system that would probably end up breaking again lol
vinnygt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 11:08 AM   #13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Virginia
Posts: 380
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmax8709

No prob. Got any ideas on what u will upgrade to? U can just go to a junkyard and find a mach 460 car and getting the amps out of it
No ideas yet but the Kenwood series are always great systems for sure. I may go with a touch screen deck and find replacement amps. The speakers are still hitting good so need to change those ...... Yet.

---------- Post added at 12:08 PM ---------- Previous post was at 12:07 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by vinnygt

That's what I did when my amps when out. I got a Kenwood head Unit too. Love it. And much easier to install then trying to fix my 460 system that would probably end up breaking again lol
Lol yeah true.
SNK3BTE04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 09:39 PM   #14
Registered User
Newbie
 
Rot Manik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Region: Illinois
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by SNK3BTE04
I've got a 04 Cobra that recently started making this god awful noise through my speakers which sounds like a amp back feed issue. It doesn't like every 3rd time I'm in the car. Not sure if it's bad wiring or the amp going out. It has the Mach sound system. Any ideas or thoughts??
I had the same problem before, it was the coil wire believe it or not! I had to take it to a local stereo shop to find out what the prob. was.. Save the 280.$ I spent and give it a shot
Rot Manik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 12:13 AM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
dmax8709's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Alabama
Posts: 413
And if u dont wanna redo anything go to junkyard and rob one of just the amps. To swap them out will take 15min. And the junkyard shouldn't want much for them
dmax8709 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 12:41 PM   #16
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Virginia
Posts: 380
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rot Manik

I had the same problem before, it was the coil wire believe it or not! I had to take it to a local stereo shop to find out what the prob. was.. Save the 280.$ I spent and give it a shot
Gonna check that out. Thanks
SNK3BTE04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2012, 08:49 AM   #17
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Region: California
Posts: 330
if everything is stock yeah is your amps, or atlease you had add any mods like gauges or something near left kick panel wiring
robertoortiz85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > Mustang Audio & Video

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trickflow Heads & Cams FORDGT14 1996-2004 Mustang GT 29 04-18-2012 11:37 AM
Mods+broken back=sad me Silversky545 2005-2010 Mustang GT 9 03-03-2012 12:55 AM
B&M shifter StackeStang 1996-2004 Mustang GT 13 03-02-2012 01:04 AM
SLP axle back without muffler Runninpony 2011-2014 Mustang GT 1 02-29-2012 09:17 AM
Tech question about exhaust? Axle back bolt to Cat back? 2012Coyote 2011-2014 Mustang GT 3 02-28-2012 05:56 PM

» Like Us On Facebook



06:35 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.