Installing new head unit in 96 svt with mach 460 - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > Mustang Audio & Video



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 03-27-2012, 08:43 AM   #1
Registered User
Newbie
 
Moose8878's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Region: Maryland
Posts: 10
Installing new head unit in 96 svt with mach 460

Hey guys Im trying to install an alpine head unit in my 1996 svt mystic cobra. I wired everything up with the wire kit they gave me at autozone. I installed two subs and two sub amps and was trying to leave the Mach 460 speakers the way they are. I have power at the headunit, it comes on and is playing. The subs work fine but I have no sound coming out of the 460 system. Anybody got any suggestions? O yea the wiring kit I got came with a flat gray plug and square black plug
__________________
[MOOSE]
Moose8878 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-27-2012, 10:46 AM   #2
Titus Wadicus
Regular
 
svtlx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Region: Ohio
Posts: 2,103
Send a message via Yahoo to svtlx
Re: Installing new head unit in 96 svt with mach 460

Quote:
Originally Posted by Moose8878 View Post
Hey guys Im trying to install an alpine head unit in my 1996 svt mystic cobra. I wired everything up with the wire kit they gave me at autozone. I installed two subs and two sub amps and was trying to leave the Mach 460 speakers the way they are. I have power at the headunit, it comes on and is playing. The subs work fine but I have no sound coming out of the 460 system. Anybody got any suggestions? O yea the wiring kit I got came with a flat gray plug and square black plug
there is a blue wire on the "car side" of the harness.. looks like a power remote wire. make sure it is wired to power remote on the stereo or at least getn 12 volts on ignition. i ran into this a couple days ago doin mine. im pretty sure it powers the cars amp or something.

hope this helps and good luck
__________________

bbk ssi, 70ml t.b., bbk adj.reg., bd11-a 11psi, e-cam,
racing aod, 2700 stall, 3.42 gears, ported e7, 308ci, 1.7rr, comp .560valve springs, gear drive, high dwell module, msd 6a & coil, bbk off road xpipe, mac cat back, 30lbs inj, pro-m 90mm, welded subframe connectors, boxed upper & lower trailing arms, spherical axle bushings, 255/50/16 tires, 255lph pump, 456hp
svtlx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2012, 08:29 AM   #3
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Region: California
Posts: 330
yeah the blue wire in the harness you got from autozone is the remote control turns on the amps of the car just remember on your alpine has two wires blue and a blue/white strive wire use the blue white that's the amp turn on wire the other one blue turns on power antenas went cd/aux/ipot is selected anyways mustangs don't have power antenas
robertoortiz85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-28-2012, 10:56 AM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
Bamman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Region: Kansas
Posts: 304
Re: Installing new head unit in 96 svt with mach 460

i think ur problem might be just the harness.. if you go to walmart you can buy a premium aftermarket harness, its only $9 dollars at walmart then just do the usual matching the color wires. i just put a 12" JL in my car with a JVC(Jvc is real friendly with mach systems) and it spliced it perfectly with the already mach system and ran off the amp to the sub, and the 2 amps you have to power your tweets and all 4 6x8 door speakers.
Bamman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2012, 12:35 PM   #5
Registered User
Newbie
 
Moose8878's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Region: Maryland
Posts: 10
Thxs guys u were right on money. I've never had a fancy car so I've never needed the wire except for sub amps. So Thxs a billion
__________________
[MOOSE]
Moose8878 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2012, 02:16 PM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
Bamman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Region: Kansas
Posts: 304
Re: Installing new head unit in 96 svt with mach 460

no problem.
Bamman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2012, 03:29 PM   #7
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Region: California
Posts: 330
you welcome, in my threads in my profile I have the diagram to delete the mach system if you swap the original head unit or if system amps are not working any more
robertoortiz85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2012, 04:11 PM   #8
Registered User
Newbie
 
Moose8878's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Region: Maryland
Posts: 10
Thxs dude but everything works great rlly pleased with it
__________________
[MOOSE]
Moose8878 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2012, 01:36 AM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
Spiney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 320
Just for future reference when you put in the new head did you leave the Mach 460 CD and Cassette player in the dash? I have a 96 SVT Cobra with the Mach 460. Right now I'm happy with the system except for not having an input for iPhone. But someday I may want to upgrade. Thanks, Spiney
Spiney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2012, 07:39 AM   #10
Registered User
Newbie
 
Moose8878's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Region: Maryland
Posts: 10
No I removed the cd player in favor for a place to keep my phone and iPods. That sucks bro my alpine only cost 160 and it links with my iPhone and I touch
__________________
[MOOSE]
Moose8878 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2012, 10:24 PM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
Spiney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 320
Re: Installing new head unit in 96 svt with mach 460

What was the total cost with harnesses etc. would it be easy to put old components back in? Did you use the Mach 460 amps?

I want to be able to return car to stock if a collector ever bought it. Mine is low miles and was a garage queen when I bought it. It has some upgrades but I have all of the original parts in like new condition. Thanks, Spiney-Dave
Spiney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 06:30 AM   #12
Registered User
Newbie
 
Moose8878's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Region: Maryland
Posts: 10
Idk the plastic install kit was like $30 at autozone. The wire harness came from autozone as well and was only $25. If u read towards the beginning of this thread you'll see were someone told me how to use the 460 amps with an aftermarket system. Returning the stock equipment is easy cause the autozone harness hard wires into aftermarket headunit but plugs into the stock car harness and is just as easy to remove. The only thing I can say I dislike about my whole system is the 460 speakers put out way to much treble, I turned my treble to -5 lol
__________________
[MOOSE]
Moose8878 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 08:36 AM   #13
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Region: California
Posts: 330
that's alittle to much what you pay, ussualy the kit cost 12.99 and harness same or even 8.99,

---------- Post added at 07:36 AM ---------- Previous post was at 07:31 AM ----------

is because like I mention the stock system works tru all four tweeters runed tru the headunits high output and the four 5x7 tru low pass outputs off the stock amps and went you change the headunit the highs are louder and lows sometimes really low and sound really bad so that's why the bypass is done to get that nice aftermarket sound
robertoortiz85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > Mustang Audio & Video

Tags
svt

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
You guys with tuners Kingmidas87 Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 48 04-08-2012 05:32 PM
Anyone rolling with 20inch on a lowered Pony? avengnd 2011-2014 Mustang GT 21 03-27-2012 10:52 PM
Finding tire width for new rims... DaYanks4Ev Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 9 03-26-2012 11:00 PM
New Stuff jjsg09 1996-2004 Mustang GT 7 03-26-2012 10:20 PM
Mach 1000 system. Head unit and subs an amps 1995boss Mustang Parts for Sale and Wanted 8 03-26-2012 08:23 PM

» Like Us On Facebook



05:40 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.